Hide "Always-Blocked" Domains in Expandable Menu

Bug reports and enhancement requests
Post Reply
jimw
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:52 pm

Hide "Always-Blocked" Domains in Expandable Menu

Post by jimw » Mon Dec 10, 2018 10:00 pm

Feature Enhancement Request

There are some domains that I never allow. It would be valuable to offer users the ability to hide "always-blocked" domains from the blocked list. These domain get in the way and clutter up the list. These domains could be hidden in an expandable menu below the blocked list. If the user needed to allow all, the collapsed menu would expand before the user was allowed to enable all. The structure could look something like this:

Image

Thanks for your consideration.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9230
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Hide "Always-Blocked" Domains in Expandable Menu

Post by barbaz » Mon Dec 10, 2018 10:37 pm

Hmm, that seems overly complicated. How about just providing the option to hide Untrusted entries in such an expandable menu? NoScript Classic does similar by default, and "always-block" is the main point of the Untrusted state anyway.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

jimw
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:52 pm

Re: Hide "Always-Blocked" Domains in Expandable Menu

Post by jimw » Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:51 am

If I understand your post correctly, hiding untrusted entries would hide everything that was no explicitly trusted. And the list of domain might vary by page visited. By selecting the entries that would never be trusted, the user would be making an active choice to hide them, simplifying the menu and removing noise. Always-block differs from untrusted because the user is saying "Don't show me these anymore".
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9230
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Hide "Always-Blocked" Domains in Expandable Menu

Post by barbaz » Tue Dec 11, 2018 1:50 am

jimw wrote:If I understand your post correctly, hiding untrusted entries would hide everything that was no explicitly trusted.
No, I mean hiding the entries that are EXPLICITLY set as Untrusted.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

NSisGood
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 12:53 pm

Re: Hide "Always-Blocked" Domains in Expandable Menu

Post by NSisGood » Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:46 am

+1. Hiding the entries that are EXPLICITLY set as Untrusted is exactly what I was to propose. I would also suggest to hide them from the counter on NS icon on FF toolbar.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:65.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/65.0

Compuitguy
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 7:50 pm

Re: Hide "Always-Blocked" Domains in Expandable Menu

Post by Compuitguy » Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:19 am

+1
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:66.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/66.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9230
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Hide "Always-Blocked" Domains in Expandable Menu

Post by barbaz » Sat Jun 08, 2019 1:58 am

barbaz wrote:
Mon Dec 10, 2018 10:37 pm
How about just providing the option to hide Untrusted entries in such an expandable menu?
Bump.

I would also like to request this feature for NoScript Options > Per-site Permissions. I just now tried NoScript 10 with my daily-use profile, and there are so many Untrusted entries that it's near-impossible for me to use that interface to manage my whitelist. Grouping and collapsing the Untrusted entries would completely fix this significant usability problem.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Post Reply