blank script ?

Bug reports and enhancement requests
User avatar
Prestkop
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2018 2:49 pm
Location: Macaronesia

blank script ?

Post by Prestkop » Fri Jul 27, 2018 3:12 pm

Hello!
First thank you for your work with this great Firefox Extension.

Then I want to announce a bug that has been appearing since several previous versions.

Image
On some websites this type of script appears, a blank, invisible, nameless script.

It appears mostly in the Login section, and that is worrying. Is it a spy script? Is it a tracker?
In any case, NoScript cannot block it most of the time, because when I block and refresh the webpage, it returns to its Default State, as if NoScript was unable to interact with it.
:shock: :?
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.11; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7432
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: blank script ?

Post by therube » Fri Jul 27, 2018 7:41 pm

What version of NoScript?
What is the URL that you are on?

Are you able to duplicate the issue in a new, clean Profile with only NoScript installed?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.49.4

User avatar
Prestkop
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2018 2:49 pm
Location: Macaronesia

Re: blank script ?

Post by Prestkop » Sat Jul 28, 2018 2:18 pm

therube wrote:What version of NoScript?
What is the URL that you are on?

Are you able to duplicate the issue in a new, clean Profile with only NoScript installed?
NoScript v 10.1.8.9 on Firefox 61.0.1
The URL in screenshot is twitter.com at Login page, but happens in twitter TimeLine too.
And it happens on several other websites (Government website, blogs, tumblr, ...)

I don't know how to create a new Profile with only NoScript.
Will my current Profile be deleted? I have a lot of Bookmarks and Settings that I don't want to lose. :?
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.11; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9232
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: blank script ?

Post by barbaz » Sat Jul 28, 2018 4:11 pm

Prestkop wrote:I don't know how to create a new Profile with only NoScript.
Will my current Profile be deleted? I have a lot of Bookmarks and Settings that I don't want to lose. :?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows

The only difference for Mac is that instead of going Start > Run and typing firefox.exe etc, you just open Terminal and run this command -

Code: Select all

/Applications/Firefox.app/Contents/MacOS/firefox -profilemanager
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

User avatar
Prestkop
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2018 2:49 pm
Location: Macaronesia

Re: blank script ?

Post by Prestkop » Tue Jul 31, 2018 1:43 pm

barbaz wrote:
Prestkop wrote:I don't know how to create a new Profile with only NoScript.
Will my current Profile be deleted? I have a lot of Bookmarks and Settings that I don't want to lose. :?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows

The only difference for Mac is that instead of going Start > Run and typing firefox.exe etc, you just open Terminal and run this command -

Code: Select all

/Applications/Firefox.app/Contents/MacOS/firefox -profilemanager
There is no archive or folder with these characteristics.
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.11; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9232
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: blank script ?

Post by barbaz » Tue Jul 31, 2018 4:21 pm

Prestkop wrote:There is no archive or folder with these characteristics.
what characteristics?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

User avatar
Prestkop
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2018 2:49 pm
Location: Macaronesia

Re: blank script ?

Post by Prestkop » Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:40 pm

barbaz wrote:
Prestkop wrote:There is no archive or folder with these characteristics.
what characteristics?
I mean, there's no file or folder in that directory named -profilemanager or firefox -profilemanager
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.11; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7432
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: blank script ?

Post by therube » Wed Aug 01, 2018 3:04 pm

There is no file or folder named "-profilemanager".

-profilemanager is a command-line switch (parameter).
It should cause FF's Profile Manager to open, allowing you to create a new Profile.

I ... think ... the (default) FF instance should have Profile related features - perhaps in about:support (?), that might allow you to create a new Profile from there?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.49.4

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8716
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: blank script ?

Post by Giorgio Maone » Wed Aug 01, 2018 3:53 pm

A look at your NoScript Options>Export file might also help.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

musonius
Senior Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: blank script ?

Post by musonius » Thu Aug 02, 2018 11:28 am

If you cannot call the profile manager for some reason, you may try about:profiles.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7432
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: blank script ?

Post by therube » Thu Aug 02, 2018 2:56 pm

about:profiles
(Ah, I'm sure that's what I should have posted above, rather then about:support. Thanks.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.49.4

User avatar
Prestkop
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2018 2:49 pm
Location: Macaronesia

Re: blank script ?

Post by Prestkop » Fri Aug 03, 2018 2:10 pm

musonius wrote:If you cannot call the profile manager for some reason, you may try about:profiles.
therube wrote:
about:profiles
(Ah, I'm sure that's what I should have posted above, rather then about:support. Thanks.)
Yes, the easy way is about:profiles
I created a new profile only with Noscript installed and the strange blank script also appears

Giorgio Maone wrote:A look at your NoScript Options>Export file might also help.
How can I send you the .txt file of the exported NoScript options?
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.11; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7432
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: blank script ?

Post by therube » Fri Aug 03, 2018 3:01 pm

Just post it here in

Code: Select all

 blocks.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.49.4

User avatar
Prestkop
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2018 2:49 pm
Location: Macaronesia

Re: blank script ?

Post by Prestkop » Sat Aug 04, 2018 12:34 pm

therube wrote:Just post it here in

Code: Select all

 blocks.[/quote]
The forum won't let me post the code, this message comes out:

[i]Ooops, something in your posting triggered my antispam filter...
Please use the "Back" button to modify your content and retry.[/i]

I think it's too much text for a message and pops up the spam filter...  :?
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.11; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9232
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: blank script ?

Post by barbaz » Sat Aug 04, 2018 4:01 pm

Prestkop wrote:The forum won't let me post the code, this message comes out:

Ooops, something in your posting triggered my antispam filter...
Please use the "Back" button to modify your content and retry.
Try sending it in PM to an active Mod (me, GµårÐïåñ, skriptimaahinen, therube, or Thrawn) and we'll try to post it for you. PMs to forum staff are not spam-filtered, and the spam filter is more lenient on us.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Post Reply