[FIXED] NoScript causing need to refresh pages in Firefox

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
pbelleisle
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 6:55 pm

[FIXED] NoScript causing need to refresh pages in Firefox

Post by pbelleisle » Thu Jul 26, 2018 7:03 pm

Hi,

For the last week or so, I have been running into an issue with Firefox (v61.0.1 64-bit) where pages are not loading correctly on initial navigation to them. Pages like Gmail and Facebook have been loading partially or appearing to load but not functioning.

To address, I did the following:
1. Ensured Firefox is up to date
2. Ensured all add-ons are up to date

That didn't solve the problem so I:
1. Disabled all add-ons
2. Restarted Firefox
3. Activated one add-on and checked performance
4. If the issue did not appear, I removed that add-on and repeated steps 2 and 3 with a different add-on

Using this method, the problem appears strongly to be linked to NoScript. When it is enabled, even as the only add-on, pages are not loading properly.

Any thoughts on how to correct? Is this a known issue that will be addressed with a future release?

Thanks!
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8697
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: NoScript causing need to refresh pages in Firefox

Post by Giorgio Maone » Thu Jul 26, 2018 7:58 pm

Does this problem persist with latest development build 10.1.8.9rc8?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

mag
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 10:51 am

Re: NoScript causing need to refresh pages in Firefox

Post by mag » Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:44 pm

I started experiencing such issues after the NoScript was updated to 10.1.8.9. Often even subsequent attempts to reload websites didn't help and I had to retry many times.
After rolling back to NoScript 10.1.8.8 the problem disappeared.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

sage11

Re: NoScript causing need to refresh pages in Firefox

Post by sage11 » Sat Jul 28, 2018 12:22 am

Can confirm this DOES happen on the development build 10.1.8.9rc8. Google.com loads a "blank" page after many seconds, but will then fully load with F5 refresh.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

Brush

Re: NoScript causing need to refresh pages in Firefox

Post by Brush » Sat Jul 28, 2018 2:31 am

I have started getting this issue today, not to say it didn't exist before today though.

I've pinpointed it down to only happening after leaving Twitter. I can navigate to/from any page, except for Twitter. The initial load from any other site to twitter works fine, but navigating to any page away from Twitter, even simply reloading the site, will stall on loading until I try a second time or refresh again.

Also works fine with Noscript disabled.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8697
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: NoScript causing need to refresh pages in Firefox

Post by Giorgio Maone » Sat Jul 28, 2018 7:27 am

Brush wrote:I've pinpointed it down to only happening after leaving Twitter. I can navigate to/from any page, except for Twitter. The initial load from any other site to twitter works fine, but navigating to any page away from Twitter, even simply reloading the site, will stall on loading until I try a second time or refresh again.
Not sure whether it's the same issue, but this should be fixed in latest development build and stable:
v 10.1.8.14
=============================================================
x Fixed regression in NOSCRIPT elements emulation
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

AlexL

Re: NoScript causing need to refresh pages in Firefox

Post by AlexL » Sat Jul 28, 2018 10:54 am

Having the same issue the past 2 days with 10.1.8.14 on FireFox 61.0.1. 90% of pages try loading for a minute and then stop on a blank page and have to reload 3-4 times to get the page to load completely. Been using NoScript for the past couple of months with no issues at all untill the past 2 days. Havnt changed or added anything i can think of. tried resetting it and then uninstalling and reinstalling but no difference.

NoScript on Chrome seems to work fine and (i think) i have the same settings there too.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8697
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: NoScript causing need to refresh pages in Firefox

Post by Giorgio Maone » Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:08 am

AlexL wrote:Having the same issue the past 2 days with 10.1.8.14
10.1.8.14 has been released just this morning (and 10.1.8.15 some minutes ago) ;)
Please upgrade and check if it persists. If it does, please also provide
  1. the URL some specific page where this happen
  2. your NoScript Options>Export file
AlexL wrote:NoScript on Chrome seems to work fine and (i think) i have the same settings there too.
"NoScript for Chrome" does not exist yet.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

sage11

Re: NoScript causing need to refresh pages in Firefox

Post by sage11 » Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:15 am

Brush has it spot on.... Twitter is the culprit somehow. Go from Twitter to Google and it doesn't load. Any other tab appears to be fine thus far.

I just tested this on the absolute latest version, you mentioned: 10.1.8..15. Sorry, Giorgio. Thanks for all you do!
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8697
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: NoScript causing need to refresh pages in Firefox

Post by Giorgio Maone » Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:18 am

sage11 wrote:Brush has it spot on.... Twitter is the culprit somehow. Go from Twitter to Google and it doesn't load.
Go how? Following a link or typing in the navigation bar?
Is t.co allowed to run scripts or not?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

sage11

Re: NoScript causing need to refresh pages in Firefox

Post by sage11 » Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:37 am

Giorgio Maone wrote:
sage11 wrote:Brush has it spot on.... Twitter is the culprit somehow. Go from Twitter to Google and it doesn't load.
Go how? Following a link or typing in the navigation bar?
Is t.co allowed to run scripts or not?
Sorry, in address bar. I open new tab, load twitter.com by typing, then in same tab overwrite with google.com and it loads blank page. To be thorough, I put shortcut to Google on my Bookmarks bar and clicked that from twitter page, and it still won't load properly.

I don't even see t.co as an option in the NoScript dropdown... looking for a way to manually add but not finding it. Is there?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8697
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: NoScript causing need to refresh pages in Firefox

Post by Giorgio Maone » Sat Jul 28, 2018 12:49 pm

sage11 wrote: Sorry, in address bar. I open new tab, load twitter.com by typing, then in same tab overwrite with google.com and it loads blank page. To be thorough, I put shortcut to Google on my Bookmarks bar and clicked that from twitter page, and it still won't load properly.
I think I might have nailed this, thanks. Please check latest development build,
v 10.1.8.16rc1
=============================================================
x Fixed random stallings on page transitions (thanks sage11,
Brush and pbelleisle for reporting)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

sage11

Re: NoScript causing need to refresh pages in Firefox

Post by sage11 » Sat Jul 28, 2018 1:54 pm

Giorgio Maone wrote:
sage11 wrote: Sorry, in address bar. I open new tab, load twitter.com by typing, then in same tab overwrite with google.com and it loads blank page. To be thorough, I put shortcut to Google on my Bookmarks bar and clicked that from twitter page, and it still won't load properly.
I think I might have nailed this, thanks. Please check latest development build,
v 10.1.8.16rc1
=============================================================
x Fixed random stallings on page transitions (thanks sage11,
Brush and pbelleisle for reporting)
Yes! Works now. Thanks!
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

AlexL

Re: NoScript causing need to refresh pages in Firefox

Post by AlexL » Sat Jul 28, 2018 6:16 pm

Giorgio Maone wrote:
sage11 wrote: Sorry, in address bar. I open new tab, load twitter.com by typing, then in same tab overwrite with google.com and it loads blank page. To be thorough, I put shortcut to Google on my Bookmarks bar and clicked that from twitter page, and it still won't load properly.
I think I might have nailed this, thanks. Please check latest development build,
v 10.1.8.16rc1
=============================================================
x Fixed random stallings on page transitions (thanks sage11,
Brush and pbelleisle for reporting)
Fixed here too. Thankyou.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

musonius
Senior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: NoScript causing need to refresh pages in Firefox

Post by musonius » Sat Jul 28, 2018 8:36 pm

Giorgio Maone wrote:v 10.1.8.16rc1
=============================================================
x Fixed random stallings on page transitions (thanks sage11,
Brush and pbelleisle for reporting)
I cannot find that in your commit history. Do I overlook anything?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.0

Post Reply