0.0.0.0 being treated as LOCAL

Bug reports and enhancement requests
Post Reply
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

0.0.0.0 being treated as LOCAL

Post by barbaz »

Firefox 52.4.0 and SeaMonkey 2.49.1
NoScript 5.1.5rc2
new profile

On https://noscript.net/getit, or any other site that's not LOCAL, open Web Console and run this code -

Code: Select all

let i = document.createElement('iframe');i.setAttribute('src','https://0.0.0.0');document.body.appendChild(i);
Expected results: get an iframe that says "The connection was refused..."

Actual results: ABE blocks the iframe load -

Code: Select all

[ABE] < LOCAL> Deny on {GET https://0.0.0.0/ <<< https://0.0.0.0/, https://noscript.net/getit - 7}
SYSTEM rule:
Site LOCAL
Accept from LOCAL
Deny
I'm almost positive ABE didn't used to treat 0.0.0.0 as LOCAL. Is this change a bug?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-
User avatar
GµårÐïåñ
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 3365
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:19 am
Location: PST - USA
Contact:

Re: 0.0.0.0 being treated as LOCAL

Post by GµårÐïåñ »

In networking 0.0.0.0 is often treated as the ultimate path, meaning in practice it reflects your actual path to the internet, so it can often trigger any LOCAL designation, although I am not sure how specifically it triggers ABE's implementation but thought I share that.

This is one way to look at it: 0.0.0.0 Is Not a Normal IP Address
Here is another way: Default route
~.:[ Lï£ê ï§ å Lêmðñ åñÐ Ì Wåñ† M¥ Mðñê¥ ßå¢k ]:.~
________________ .: [ Major Mike's ] :. ________________
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:56.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/56.0
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: 0.0.0.0 being treated as LOCAL

Post by barbaz »

GµårÐïåñ wrote:This is one way to look at it:
That link requires login and I don't have one. Can you please quote the relevant part?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-
User avatar
GµårÐïåñ
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 3365
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:19 am
Location: PST - USA
Contact:

Re: 0.0.0.0 being treated as LOCAL

Post by GµårÐïåñ »

barbaz wrote:
GµårÐïåñ wrote:This is one way to look at it:
That link requires login and I don't have one. Can you please quote the relevant part?
My sincerest apologies, I was working on a mock up with the Mozilla team, I put the link to that instead of the article, I have corrected it. Damn you copy paste and not looking at the clipboard monitor :)
~.:[ Lï£ê ï§ å Lêmðñ åñÐ Ì Wåñ† M¥ Mðñê¥ ßå¢k ]:.~
________________ .: [ Major Mike's ] :. ________________
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:56.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/56.0
Post Reply