NSA breaks latest Firefox (48.*)

Android-specific support, bug reports and feature requests.
Post Reply
tkzv
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 8:47 am

NSA breaks latest Firefox (48.*)

Post by tkzv » Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:03 am

I've just updated Firefox Beta 48 (48.0b1, June 22, 2016). When I try to open websites, I get blank pages. Disabling NoScript allows to see them.

Files on the local disk display fine.

If it matters, I'm using Android 4 on Samsung Galaxy.

Update: same for 48.0b2 from June 24, 2016.

Update: same for 48.0b3 from June 26(?), 2016.
Last edited by barbaz on Wed Aug 03, 2016 2:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: edit topic title per request, Firefox 48 has been released
Mozilla/5.0 (Android 4.4.2; Tablet; rv:48.0) Gecko/48.0 Firefox/48.0

js_blocker
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:14 pm

Re: NSA breaks latest Firefox beta (48.0b*)

Post by js_blocker » Sun Jun 26, 2016 2:13 pm

Thanks for the info. I discarded any updates from 47b10 to 48b for the time being. Hope this will be sorted out and fixed - if confirmed - before FF 48 will be released.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:36.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/36.0

lpthomas
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 12:32 am

NSA installs but won't show any sites

Post by lpthomas » Fri Jul 01, 2016 12:47 am

I installed NoScript Anywhere 3.5 on my Galaxy Tab E. It wouldn't show any sites, always a blank screen for any site. Choosing NoScript from the menu, it showed Whitelisted Sites popup but nothing in the list, so I couldnt whitelist anything. So I had to uninstall it. Should it work? Other add-ons like AdBlock Plus work fine.

Firefox Beta 48.0b3
(Different app than Firefox but still Mozilla)
Android 5.1.1
Samsung Galaxy Tab E

More info available on request, incl any debug output if you let me know what to grab.

On my Galaxy S4 phone, NSA works fine, with Firefox 46.0 (not the Beta app) on Android 5.0.1.
Mozilla/5.0 (Android 5.1.1; Tablet; rv:48.0) Gecko/48.0 Firefox/48.0

js_blocker
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:14 pm

Re: NSA breaks latest Firefox beta (48.0b*)

Post by js_blocker » Fri Jul 01, 2016 5:26 pm

It should work but it doesn't - as far as some of us experienced. All <= 47b10 and 47.0 release will work with 3.5a13. All <= 48bx (x<=3) (Firefox Beta) won't. So in case you won't browse without nsa stay with 47 release.

Lekensteyn is missing :shock: he committed code to nsa and fixed things for us android firefox users in the past.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:50.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/50.0

pege
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2016 9:34 pm

Re: NSA breaks latest Firefox beta (48.0b*)

Post by pege » Thu Jul 28, 2016 9:38 pm

Same issue here. Seem to be related to the XSS protection. Everything work fine as long as "Enable XSS Filter" is unchecked.
Mozilla/5.0 (Android 6.0.1; Mobile; rv:48.0) Gecko/48.0 Firefox/48.0

jawz101
Senior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 11:13 pm

Re: NSA breaks latest Firefox beta (48.0b*)

Post by jawz101 » Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:36 am

This, and adding option to temporarily enable top level site would make NoScript NSA would basically match my desktop usage. It would resolve the reader mode issue if it temporarily allowed the primary site temporarily. Plus, I wouldn't have to whitelist every site I want to briefly read in reader mode
Mozilla/5.0 (Android 6.0.1; Mobile; rv:47.0) Gecko/47.0 Firefox/47.0

Sentinel
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:32 pm

Re: NSA breaks latest Firefox beta (48.0b*)

Post by Sentinel » Wed Aug 03, 2016 12:51 pm

pege wrote:Same issue here. Seem to be related to the XSS protection. Everything work fine as long as "Enable XSS Filter" is unchecked.

Thank you for this. It appears as though this is a gound temporary workaround.
The name of this topic should be changed because I never use beta versions but now the full 48 version is out and it has this same problem. So I think a lot more users will be coming here looking for a solution ... like me ;)
Or start a new topic I guess.

Looking forward to a permanent fix so XSS can be re-enabled.
Thank you
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:48.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/48.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9092
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: NSA breaks latest Firefox beta (48.0b*)

Post by barbaz » Wed Aug 03, 2016 2:54 pm

Sentinel wrote:The name of this topic should be changed because I never use beta versions but now the full 48 version is out and it has this same problem.

Better?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

jawz101
Senior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 11:13 pm

Re: NSA breaks latest Firefox (48.*)

Post by jawz101 » Thu Aug 04, 2016 3:11 am

What a pleasant surprise. Thanks @barbaz. Seems to be working for me
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:47.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/47.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9092
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: NSA breaks latest Firefox (48.*)

Post by barbaz » Thu Aug 04, 2016 3:36 am

jawz101 wrote:What a pleasant surprise. Thanks @barbaz. Seems to be working for me

You're welcome, but I just edit the topic title, I can't fix any bugs here :?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Sentinel
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:32 pm

Re: NSA breaks latest Firefox beta (48.0b*)

Post by Sentinel » Fri Aug 05, 2016 11:11 pm

barbaz wrote:
Sentinel wrote:The name of this topic should be changed because I never use beta versions but now the full 48 version is out and it has this same problem.

Better?

Yes, thank you :D
Oddly enough, it is also working for me :| I have XSS enabled and it seems to be working for some reason.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:48.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/48.0

bitstreamout
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 8:53 pm

Re: NSA breaks latest Firefox (48.*)

Post by bitstreamout » Sun Aug 21, 2016 5:48 pm

I still have a problem with NSA and firefox 48 with https with an other port than standard https for a host in the LAN not WAN. OK its self signed but disabling NSA let it work. But with enabled NSA 3.5a14 the page does not load at all, that is that nothing happens.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:48.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/48.0

Post Reply