Weird Issue

General discussion about the NoScript extension for Firefox
Post Reply
mandrewwhiteman
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 2:25 am

Weird Issue

Post by mandrewwhiteman » Sun Apr 03, 2016 2:46 am

I use http://www.Goodsearch.com After entering a search, the search results are blank except there is a slightly grey square where the search results should be which to me indicates a possible Java or flash issue. Goodsearch states they do not use flash and are unable to replicate my issue. I don't see any NO Script indication of a NO Script block. I even tried white listing Goodsearch. I then removed 2 Firefox plug ins that I suspected. After removing NO Script, I was able to complete a Goodsearch with no issue. I uninstalled and reinstalled NO Script but the issue returned. I don't understand why NO Script is blocking a site with no indication of blockage. How do I overcome this issue?
Thanks,
Andy Whiteman
Last edited by barbaz on Sun Apr 03, 2016 2:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: De-capitalize topic title; no need to "shout" it.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:45.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/45.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7432
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: WEIRD ISSUE

Post by therube » Sun Apr 03, 2016 1:47 pm

I did catch this:

Code: Select all

[NoScript HTTPS] Redirected Channel https://us.yhs4.search.yahoo.com/yhs/search?p=ncmain.exe&fr=goodsearch-yhsif&b=1

Possible an http: -> https: bugaboo?

Yet another instance where setting, noscript.httpsDefWhitelist;false, allows it to work.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:43.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/43.0 SeaMonkey/2.40

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9230
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: WEIRD ISSUE

Post by barbaz » Sun Apr 03, 2016 2:08 pm

And this is the second instance of yahoo.com subdomains not supporting https - viewtopic.php?f=7&t=21772
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

mandrewwhiteman
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 2:25 am

Re: Weird Issue

Post by mandrewwhiteman » Mon Apr 04, 2016 3:20 am

Thanks, but I am an amateur. Your posts are way above my level of understanding except maybe forced HTTPS. This whole issue seemed to start when Capitolone360.com updated their site which caused Firefox and my ISP to redirect to a search page of suggested sites while IE stated Certificate was invalid.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:45.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/45.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9230
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Weird Issue

Post by barbaz » Mon Apr 04, 2016 10:54 am

NoScript Options > Advanced > HTTPS > Behavior
add the following line to "Never force secure ..."

Code: Select all

.search.yahoo.com
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

mandrewwhiteman
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 2:25 am

Re: Weird Issue

Post by mandrewwhiteman » Sat Apr 09, 2016 2:32 am

Sorry if the Capitol letters offended anyone. I always thought titles should be in caps. Caps as a subject are easier for me to read.

I am disabled and need verbal tech support. This chat is above my level of understanding. Is there a phone number to call for live tech support? :oops:
Last edited by mandrewwhiteman on Tue May 24, 2016 4:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:45.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/45.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9230
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Weird Issue

Post by barbaz » Sat Apr 09, 2016 1:27 pm

mandrewwhiteman wrote:Sorry if the Capitol letters offended anyone.

Apology accepted but no one was offended, it just hurt my eyes.

mandrewwhiteman wrote:I am disabled and need verbal tech support. Tise chat is above my level of understanding. Is there a phone number to call for live tech support?

Sorry to hear you're disabled :( This forum is the only way to get support for NoScript; we don't offer phone tech support. We're all unpaid volunteers doing this in our spare time.

Should we assume that showing you screenshots won't help?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

mandrewwhiteman
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 2:25 am

Re: Weird Issue

Post by mandrewwhiteman » Tue May 24, 2016 4:18 am

Screenshots are difficult for me to handle. This was an intermittent issue with the CaptiolOne website which cleared, then came back, then resolved itself again. CapitolOne support was very useless and stated that they don't offer tech support for customers.
Thanks anyway
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:46.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/46.0

Post Reply