[RESOLVED] Tab bug...

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
eliser

[RESOLVED] Tab bug...

Post by eliser » Sun May 24, 2015 5:00 am

After v 2.6.9.23rc1 update, I have a strange tab behavior when opening links from history?

Image
Last edited by barbaz on Mon Jun 01, 2015 4:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: clarify per below posts
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:38.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/38.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7468
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Tab bug...

Post by therube » Sun May 24, 2015 10:44 am

(Note that the .gif is animated, which may or may not display in the forum post? You may have to open it separately.)

Just what are we supposed to be seeing?
New Tab, Connecting, Zine?

And what are we supposed to be seeing, or I suppose not seeing?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:36.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/36.0 SeaMonkey/2.33.1

eliser

Re: Tab bug...

Post by eliser » Sun May 24, 2015 1:32 pm

therube wrote:(Note that the .gif is animated, which may or may not display in the forum post? You may have to open it separately.)

Just what are we supposed to be seeing?
New Tab, Connecting, Zine?

And what are we supposed to be seeing, or I suppose not seeing?


Every tab opening twice!
First open "New tab", then reload her self, then open provided link.

This is not Firefox behavior before NoScript update.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:38.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/38.0

Guest

Re: Tab bug...

Post by Guest » Wed May 27, 2015 2:33 am

I'm experiencing the same "bug", but much worse. Opening a link in a new tab will create a blank "New Tab" which then will repeatedly:
1. Load the web page
2. Turns the tab back into a blank New Tab
3. Loads the URL again and tries to load the web page
4. Turns back into a blank New Tab

More than once per second. Sometimes it loads the page eventually, sometimes it remains a blank New Tab and sometimes it crashes Firefox.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:38.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/38.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7468
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Tab bug...

Post by therube » Wed May 27, 2015 3:12 am

> I'm experiencing the same "bug"

That's different, & it is a bug.
(Offhand don't recall which?)
You have some obscure FF Pref set that is causing that.
Try a new, clean Profile & see if the bug persists.

Open about:config
Sort by Status
One of the bolded items is the culprit
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:36.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/36.0 SeaMonkey/2.33.1

Gill33

Re: Tab bug...

Post by Gill33 » Wed May 27, 2015 6:02 am

Same bug after last update: New blank tab > Loading > New blank tab > Loading... Repeatedly!
With NoScript disabled, bug gone!
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:38.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/38.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9280
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Tab bug...

Post by barbaz » Wed May 27, 2015 6:11 am

Please try creating a new, clean profile, and installing NoScript (leaving all defaults), and see if this issue persists there.

Also, can you please post what is the earliest NoScript rc version to exhibit this bug?
Old NoScript @
https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/noscript/versions
*or*
https://noscript.net/feed?t=a
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

eliser

Re: Tab bug...

Post by eliser » Wed May 27, 2015 7:20 am

@barbaz I wrote in the first post, after 2.6.9.23rc1 bug appear! In 2.6.9.22.1-signed and lower, everything works like a charm.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:38.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/38.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9280
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Tab bug...

Post by barbaz » Wed May 27, 2015 3:08 pm

eliser wrote:@barbaz I wrote in the first post, after 2.6.9.23rc1 bug appear!

Sorry I didn't realize that by "2.6.9.23" you meant "2.6.9.23rc1". I'll edit the OP to indicate that more clearly because "2.6.9.23" implies 2.6.9.23 release and that you haven't tried dev builds.

What are the results of the above suggested clean profile test?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8742
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: Tab bug...

Post by Giorgio Maone » Wed May 27, 2015 4:18 pm

Could you check latest development build 2.6.9.26rc1?
Thank you.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.3; WOW64; rv:38.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/38.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7468
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Tab bug...

Post by therube » Wed May 27, 2015 5:32 pm

(This is what I was thinking of, Bug 318598 - Support xul directory browsing.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:36.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.33.1

eliser

Re: Tab bug...

Post by eliser » Wed May 27, 2015 7:34 pm

2.6.9.26rc1 fix the bug :)

Thank you barbaz & Giorgio Maone.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:38.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/38.0

Sall
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:49 am

Re: Tab bug...

Post by Sall » Sat May 30, 2015 4:14 am

I had another problem but might be the same, for some pages when I click the allow page temporarily, or just click the noscript icon with the middle mouse wheel button to allow the page, it now turns up with a blank page instead of showing the actual site, then I will have to click the back arrow button in firefox to go back and then use forward button to go back to the page again, it even removes the url from the address bar when showing this blank page so I can't just reload the address, have to go back and forth, very annoying.

Do you think the 2.6.9.26rc1 will fix this for me ? If so I might try it :)
Last edited by Sall on Sat May 30, 2015 4:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:38.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/38.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9280
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Tab bug...

Post by barbaz » Sat May 30, 2015 4:17 am

Sall wrote:Do you think the 2.6.9.26rc1 will fix this for me ? If so I might try it :)

I think there is a "stable release" NoScript 2.6.9.26 available on https://noscript.net/getit so it's definitely worth a try ;)
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Sall
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:49 am

Re: Tab bug...

Post by Sall » Sat May 30, 2015 4:21 am

barbaz wrote:
Sall wrote:Do you think the 2.6.9.26rc1 will fix this for me ? If so I might try it :)

I think there is a "stable release" NoScript 2.6.9.26 available on https://noscript.net/getit so it's definitely worth a try ;)


Thx I will try that right away, I have the 2.6.9.25 version installed now so will try 26 and see if it becomes any better, I will let you know, thx again.

Cheers
Sall
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:38.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/38.0

Post Reply