user agent changer

Talk about internet security, computer security, personal security, your social security number...
Post Reply
morganism
Senior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 9:44 pm

user agent changer

Post by morganism » Mon Jun 16, 2014 6:29 pm

ii used a generic user agent string , but was looking for a changer.

this looks pretty good , anyone care to look it over ?

https://github.com/dillbyrne/random-agent-spoofer/
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:6.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/6.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9691
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: user agent changer

Post by barbaz » Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:07 pm

Nice tip. Looks interesting. Think I'll give it a try. :twisted:

You can test how effective it really is with http://whichbrowser.net/
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:33.0) Gecko/20140616 Firefox/33.0 SeaMonkey/2.30a1

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7682
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: user agent changer

Post by therube » Mon Jun 16, 2014 10:12 pm

about:config
(create, string) general.useragent.override
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:29.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/29.0 SeaMonkey/2.26.1

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9691
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: user agent changer

Post by barbaz » Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:25 pm

therube wrote:about:config
(create, string) general.useragent.override

That's OK for working around stupid user-agent sniffing scripts and for impersonating a different Gecko-based browser (but *not* necessarily spoofing even just your OS), but for anything much beyond that it's actually very possible to check if the user-agent is being faked. I was hoping this addon would provide extra functionality to make it basically impossible to detect whether my UA is fake - and while its blanking certain window.navigator properties certainly helps, it does not seem to do quite enough to fool crazy scripts like WhichBrowser that also check HTTP headers in detail. :(
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:33.0) Gecko/20140616 Firefox/33.0 SeaMonkey/2.30a1

User avatar
GµårÐïåñ
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 3353
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:19 am
Location: PST - USA
Contact:

Re: user agent changer

Post by GµårÐïåñ » Tue Jun 17, 2014 1:37 am

You can do it manually but I personally use a customized source built version of Random Agent Spoofer with a few extras and it works great. Its just to avoid UA based tracking and sniffing but that's about it. Privacy through obscurity.
~.:[ Lï£ê ï§ å Lêmðñ åñÐ Ì Wåñ† M¥ Mðñê¥ ßå¢k ]:.~
________________ .: [ Major Mike's ] :. ________________
Opera/9.80 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.6.8; U; en) Presto/2.9.168 Version/11.52

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9691
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: user agent changer

Post by barbaz » Tue Jun 17, 2014 2:58 am

@GµårÐïåñ: Have you had any luck getting RAS to work in SeaMonkey? I'm not familiar with the addon SDK at all, but it seems that OOB this addon is using at least one part of the addon SDK that requires Firefox, so simply changing compatibility in install.rdf won't do the job. Is there a "not-too-hard" fix to get SeaMonkey compatibility, or would I be better off using dbyrne's database with some custom addon I make from scratch?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; FreeBSD amd64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/28.0.1468.0 Safari/537.36

User avatar
GµårÐïåñ
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 3353
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:19 am
Location: PST - USA
Contact:

Re: user agent changer

Post by GµårÐïåñ » Tue Jun 17, 2014 3:33 am

I am sorry, I don't use SeaMonkey, I have never seen the point given how I have set myself up.
I know @therube uses it, maybe can advise you on that?
However that being said, I don't see anything in the code that would make it not work on SM.
~.:[ Lï£ê ï§ å Lêmðñ åñÐ Ì Wåñ† M¥ Mðñê¥ ßå¢k ]:.~
________________ .: [ Major Mike's ] :. ________________
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_8_2) AppleWebKit/537.4 (KHTML like Gecko) Chrome/22.0.1229.79 Safari/537.4

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7682
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: user agent changer

Post by therube » Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:37 am

Give the extension a spin through Firefox & Thunderbird Add-on Converter for SeaMonkey & see what it comes up with.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:29.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/29.0 SeaMonkey/2.26.1

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9691
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: user agent changer

Post by barbaz » Tue Jun 17, 2014 2:57 pm

Thanks for the suggestion, but unfortunately, that did not modify the addon to not use Firefox-specific addon SDK modules.

ETA Looks like I really will have to make my own addon to get this functionality in SeaMonkey:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?p=13566887#p13566887 wrote:Yeah, however there's a growing number of FF extensions made with an addon SDK and I can't port them to SeaMonkey and I've read they cannot be - still, I haven't investigated this any deeper. I'm not happy of FF using some proprietary technologies since I would like those extensions to be SM-portable as well!
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux 3.8-6.dmz.1-liquorix-686) KHTML/4.8.4 (like Gecko) Konqueror/4.8

Post Reply