[UNRELATED] Flashgot weird popup using orbit

Ask for help about FlashGot, no registration needed to post
estidi

[UNRELATED] Flashgot weird popup using orbit

Post by estidi » Fri Jul 13, 2012 3:50 pm

Whenever I'm downloading a link (I'm using orbit downloader), there's always this weird pop-up coming up...
Image
Even after I turned off orbit downloader (using firefox built-in manager), the pop-up still came up...
Do I use weird settings?
Thx for help.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:13.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/13.0.1

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7576
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Flashgot weird popup using orbit

Post by therube » Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:10 pm

What version of Orbit?
What is generating that popup, FF or Windows or Orbit?
Do you have Orbit's Accelerate (Orbitnet) enabled?
Orbit | Monitoring -> Let Orbit suggestions on browser navigation error, enabled (not that I know what it does?)?

(WOW! That is an incredibly slow service. I'm getting a few hundred bytes per second. I've got about 24 hours to go before my download "completes" <heh>.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:15.0) Gecko/20120713 Firefox/15.0a2 SeaMonkey/2.12a2

Enrik

Re: Flashgot weird popup using orbit

Post by Enrik » Sat Jul 14, 2012 7:25 pm

Im having the same kind of problem after formating my pc and restoring all my favorite programs...
Wtf is this ? can anyone help ?
has soon has i click on a link to send it to orbit the popup comes up...
The transfer is still able to be performed but this "bug" is anoying has hell..
before anyone sugest it ive already uninstalled both orbit firefox and flashgot and installed it again...
Same Error apearing..
any news on this? can any one help?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:13.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/13.0.1

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8804
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: Flashgot weird popup using orbit

Post by Giorgio Maone » Sat Jul 14, 2012 9:39 pm

I strongly suspect it's an Orbit "feature".
Please double check that any built-in Orbit-Firefox integration option is off in Orbit and any Orbit-related extension (excluded FlashGot) is disabled in your Firefox Add-ons panel.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:13.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/13.0.1

yamazaki
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:19 pm

Re: Flashgot weird popup using orbit

Post by yamazaki » Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:34 pm

I am having the same problem. Here's my popup when I'm trying to download Google SketchUp. It happens with all downloads.

Image

I'm using the latest versions of Orbit and Flashgot. I've reinstalled both of them, and I still get this error. There's no Orbit Integration addon (I didn't installed it). And the popup is generated by Flashgot.exe.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:14.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/14.0.1

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7576
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Flashgot weird popup using orbit

Post by therube » Sun Jul 22, 2012 8:03 pm

> And the popup is generated by Flashgot.exe

That is the way it looks.

Yes, it is.

Guess we'll have to wait for Giorgio to explain.


I put in FlashGot 1.4.4 & it did the same.
What is in the box is effectively what is in flashgot.fgt & the cookie ...
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:16.0) Gecko/16.0 Firefox/16.0 SeaMonkey/2.13a2

User avatar
GµårÐïåñ
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 3343
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:19 am
Location: PST - USA
Contact:

Re: Flashgot weird popup using orbit

Post by GµårÐïåñ » Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:07 pm

Giorgio already responded and said it has nothing to do with us, so disable whatever else is causing it.
~.:[ Lï£ê ï§ å Lêmðñ åñÐ Ì Wåñ† M¥ Mðñê¥ ßå¢k ]:.~
________________ .: [ Major Mike's ] :. ________________
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:13.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/13.0.1

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7576
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Flashgot weird popup using orbit

Post by therube » Tue Jul 24, 2012 2:22 am

It may have nothing to do with us, but the popup is from FlashGot.exe.

Or at least you can close all else - browser & orbit, & the popup remains, the task being FlashGot.exe. Click OK & the dialog goes & so does FlashGot.exe.

Browser loads.
When you FlashGot a Link, FlashGot.exe loads (twice it looks like, I think), & remains in memory, & Orbit (orbitdm.exe) is spawned from there.

So long as the dialog remains, FlashGot.exe also remains in memory.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:16.0) Gecko/16.0 Firefox/16.0 SeaMonkey/2.13a2

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8804
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: Flashgot weird popup using orbit

Post by Giorgio Maone » Tue Jul 24, 2012 8:55 am

The process is FlashGot.exe, but the code creating the popup lives in the Orbit COM binary library (loaded by FlashGot.exe), so I cannot access the source and say for sure what it means.

Investigating in "black box" mode, anyway...
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:14.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/14.0.1

yamazaki
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:19 pm

Re: Flashgot weird popup using orbit

Post by yamazaki » Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:22 pm

Yeah, it's Orbit that is "generating" this code. This weird popup is shown since version 4.1.1.0. It doesn't happen with older versions (I've tested 4.1.0.9).

Anyway, can't you do a turnaround to this, Giorgio?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:14.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/14.0.1

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7576
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Flashgot weird popup using orbit

Post by therube » Tue Jul 24, 2012 5:30 pm

It looks to be the file "orbitmxt.dll".
If you replace orbitmxt.dll with the version from 4.1.0.9, you no longer get the popup.

Have no idea what orbitmxt.dll does or how the hack may affect orbits operation?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:16.0) Gecko/16.0 Firefox/16.0 SeaMonkey/2.13a2

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8804
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: Flashgot weird popup using orbit

Post by Giorgio Maone » Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:28 pm

Unfortunately there's nothing I can do on the FlashGot's side.
In facts, if you try using Orbit menus from IE, you get exactly the same popup, indicating FlashGot is not as fault (e.g. for the possibly incompatible way it calls the library, which is designed for IE).
Actually I'm quite surprised Orbit's developers didn't fix the breakage yet...
In the manwhile, you can safely use therube's work-around.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:14.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/14.0.1

Post Reply