Settings: noscript checkbox

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
harryray22
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 24, 2023 10:26 am

Settings: noscript checkbox

Post by harryray22 »

I was looking through the settings and I just noticed that in the default, trusted and untrusted section there is a checkbox for 'noscript'. What does that refer too? I'm a bit confused by it.

Thanks.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:88.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/88.0
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10860
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Settings: noscript checkbox

Post by barbaz »

See the sticky - viewtopic.php?t=26285
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:124.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/124.0
harryray22
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 24, 2023 10:26 am

Re: Settings: noscript checkbox

Post by harryray22 »

Thanks, to be honest I didn't really totally understand it.
In general, is allowing this OK and is it better to allow it , or does allowing it present a security risk of any kind?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:88.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/88.0
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10860
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Settings: noscript checkbox

Post by barbaz »

It's generally better to allow it since it helps sites degrade gracefully when scripts are disabled. The security risk would involve a <meta> refresh inside a <noscript> element redirecting you somewhere bad, but Firefox can intercept those: about:config > set accessibility.blockautorefresh to true.

NoScript defaults to allowing this in Default and Trusted presets, and disallowing it in Untrusted preset.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:124.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/124.0
harryray22
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 24, 2023 10:26 am

Re: Settings: noscript checkbox

Post by harryray22 »

Thanks, the other thing I don't quite get is the "any site" option in the custom section. I usually set it in the drop down box to the site I'm on.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:88.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/88.0
User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7938
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Settings: noscript checkbox

Post by therube »

"any site"
Good question.
Looks like it's going to be this, viewtopic.php?p=106306#p106306.

Knowing that, I'm going to use it, actually.
Like at dslreports.com, I'll keep dslreports.com itself at Default, but Always allow dsl.net, but only on dslreports.com.
Likewise, newegg.com, I'll keep newegg.com itself at Default, but Always allow neweggimages.com, but only on newegg.com.

That way, dsl.net & neweggimages.com will never have an effect - anywhere, except on the respective sites, & only if I allow the respective site. (In this case, most likely those two domains only appear only on the respective sites.)


(https://www.newegg.com/, today, in SeaMonkey is throwing up bogus,
"You don't have permission to access "http://www.newegg.com/black-acer..." on this server.",
messages.
Idiots.


useragent change got it working, but still. morons.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:91.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/91.0 SeaMonkey/2.53.19
Post Reply