Blank popup

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
billarbor
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 12:05 am

Blank popup

Post by billarbor »

Sometimes instead of a real message in a popup, I get one with no real information. It just has the logo and two check boxes and "okay" and "cancel".

What causes those and how do I stop them?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:83.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/83.0
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Blank popup

Post by barbaz »

Screenshot?

What version of NoScript are you using?

Does the popup stay that way if you resize it?
If so, when this issue occurs, please leave the blank popup open while going about:debugging > This Firefox > NoScript > Inspect. Any related messages in the Console tab? What if you then click the square icon in upper right and select that window?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-
billarbor
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 12:05 am

Re: Blank popup

Post by billarbor »

Version 11.1.5

Resizing does not seem to make a difference. Still no X on screen to close it out.

This is what I get from page information: moz-extension://548bd5e5-9805-4579-9810-8ab072f62d8d/img/icon96.png

Right click, page source

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<head>
<meta charset="utf-8">
<title></title>
<meta charset="utf-8">
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="prompt.css" />
<script src="/lib/UA.js"></script>
<script src="/lib/browser-polyfill.js"></script>
<script src="/lib/include.js"></script>
<script src="/lib/log.js"></script>
<script src="/common/locale.js"></script>
<script src="/ui/resize_hack.js"></script>
</head>
<body>
<div id="header">
<h1 id="title"></h1>
</div>
<div id="main">
<div id="message">
</div>
<div id="options" class="choices">
<input type="radio">
</div>
<div id="checks" class="choices">
  <input type="checkbox">
</div>
<div id="buttons">
  <button id="button0" type="submit">OK</button><button id="button1">Cancel</button>
</div>
</div>
<script src="prompt.js"></script>
</body>
</html>
Unless I'm missing something in my limited html knowledge, it looks pretty anonymous to me.

I don't know much about debugging. Debugger: This page has no sources.

Console
[NoScript]:0 undefined log.js:13:13
[NoScript]:1 Resize hack log.js:13:13

Thank you.

Bill
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:83.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/83.0
billarbor
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 12:05 am

Re: Blank popup

Post by billarbor »

Does this mean anything?

Code: Select all

Uncaught (in promise) TypeError: data is undefined
    <anonymous> moz-extension://548bd5e5-9805-4579-9810-8ab072f62d8d/ui/prompt.js:8
    async* moz-extension://548bd5e5-9805-4579-9810-8ab072f62d8d/ui/prompt.js:112
There is also a [learn more] link that leads to
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/doc ... ected_type
Last edited by barbaz on Tue Dec 08, 2020 9:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: wrap console messages in code tags
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:83.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/83.0
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Blank popup

Post by barbaz »

@billarbor Remember to log in before posting so that you don't have to solve the CAPTCHA every time. (I've fixed your above post.)
billarbor wrote: Mon Dec 07, 2020 11:00 pm Console
[NoScript]:0 undefined log.js:13:13
billarbor wrote: Tue Dec 08, 2020 9:27 pm Does this mean anything?

Code: Select all

Uncaught (in promise) TypeError: data is undefined
    <anonymous> moz-extension://*****/ui/prompt.js:8
    async* moz-extension://*****/ui/prompt.js:112
Both quoted informations mean something, thanks. Unfortunately I personally can't quite get my head enough around the related code to say what's going on. Hopefully Giorgio or someone else can look at this soon.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-
User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 9454
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: Blank popup

Post by Giorgio Maone »

Yes, that's really useful, because it hints at a situation (a race condition?) where a prompt is opened but its configuration data is missing.
Does it happen when you actually expect a prompt to be opened, e.g. when you click a video placeholder?
While I'm investigation how this can happen, I can surely make the bug less annoying by just logging an error message in a console and closing the popup immediately.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Ubuntu; Linux x86_64; rv:84.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/84.0
User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 9454
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: Blank popup

Post by Giorgio Maone »

Please check latest development build:
v 11.1.6rc6
============================================================
x Better handling of concurrent prompts issues (thanks
billarbor for reporting)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Ubuntu; Linux x86_64; rv:84.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/84.0
billarbor
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 12:05 am

Re: Blank popup

Post by billarbor »

Sometimes it pops up after I've clicked on something, possibly a youtube video.

Then it sometimes stays with me the next time I open Firefox. Recently, instead of a couple of popups, about a dozen popped up when I opened Firefox.

I also get the legitimate popups with real information, which is fine. They can be responded to with the okay button.

It's these blank ones that I can't even knock down. There's no top right hand X to click on and a right click doesn't give me any way to exit it. I end up right clicking the Firefox button on the task bar and clicking "Close window".

Often it disappears with the Firefox session and is not there the next time I start Firefox but not always.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:83.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/83.0
Post Reply