NS "Export" Option

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
Skeezix
Senior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 1:23 am

NS "Export" Option

Post by Skeezix » Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:50 pm

Using NS version 11.0.1.

I want to backup my NS files. So I click the NS Tools > Options icon and see an "Import" and an "Export" word. When I click on the "Export" word I get a dialog that asks me if I want to open or save the Noscript.data file. When I click the "Import" word I get a "File Upload" dialog.

I expected to see something like "Export to <filename>". What's happening here?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:71.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/71.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9305
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: NS "Export" Option

Post by barbaz » Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:40 pm

Because WebExtensions can only use HTML for UI and that's how the needed HTML elements work.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Skeezix
Senior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 1:23 am

Re: NS "Export" Option

Post by Skeezix » Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:16 pm

thanks for your reply, but I'm not sure I understand it. It seems to say "that's how it is...".

How do I save or export my NS files? Just continue with the "File Upload" prompts? Won't that upload whatever file I select to NS?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:71.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/71.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9305
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: NS "Export" Option

Post by barbaz » Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:51 pm

Skeezix wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:16 pm
How do I save or export my NS files?
Click "Export" and when prompted, select to save the file.
Skeezix wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:16 pm
Just continue with the "File Upload" prompts? Won't that upload whatever file I select to NS?
No, it's not going to upload your settings over the Internet. You're just selecting a file for NoScript to read LOCALLY, in your browser.

Again, that "File Upload" wording is just part of how HTML <input type="file"> element works, and it's the same wording for every <input type="file"> regardless of what's actually done with the selected files.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Skeezix
Senior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 1:23 am

Re: NS "Export" Option

Post by Skeezix » Fri Jan 17, 2020 3:46 pm

Okay, I tried it again following your advice. After I clicked the Export button, I enabled "Open with" to open "noscript_data.txt" (with Notepad) and then clicked OK. "noscript_data.txt opened in its own window i.e. not in the browser. So I sat there and looked at it and wondered "what do I do with that?"
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:71.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/71.0

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8767
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: NS "Export" Option

Post by Giorgio Maone » Fri Jan 17, 2020 4:51 pm

Skeezix wrote:
Fri Jan 17, 2020 3:46 pm
"what do I do with that?"
You use the "Import" button to revert to those settings on this or other browsers / devices, if and when you need so. Wasn't a backup you mentioned in your original post?
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Ubuntu; Linux x86_64; rv:73.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/73.0

Skeezix
Senior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 1:23 am

Re: NS "Export" Option

Post by Skeezix » Sun Jan 19, 2020 4:12 pm

Yes, I would like to make a backup of NS so in the future, should something go wrong, I could import that backup and use it. But when I click Export, all I get is a text file. :?

I'm thinking that the Export button should produce a file that contains the most recent NS settings, not open a file that I can edit.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:71.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/71.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9305
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: NS "Export" Option

Post by barbaz » Sun Jan 19, 2020 4:59 pm

Skeezix wrote:
Sun Jan 19, 2020 4:12 pm
I'm thinking that the Export button should produce a file that contains the most recent NS settings,
It does. You chose to open that file directly instead of following instructions -
barbaz wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:51 pm
Click "Export" and when prompted, select to save the file.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Skeezix
Senior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 1:23 am

Re: NS "Export" Option

Post by Skeezix » Mon Jan 20, 2020 2:06 pm

Okay, I clicked the Save button after clicking the Export button. As far as I know, all that did was save what it opened without making any changes.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:71.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/71.0

Post Reply