Setting language for NoScript

General discussion about the NoScript extension for Firefox
Post Reply
elipsett
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 4:51 am
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
Contact:

Setting language for NoScript

Post by elipsett » Sat Apr 25, 2009 5:09 am

Is there any way to set the language used by the NoScript click menu? Or is this automatically set to whatever FireFox itself is using?

=====
Edward Lipsett
Fukuoka, Japan
============================
Edward Lipsett
Kurodahan Press
kurodahan.com
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; ja; rv:1.9.0.9) Gecko/2009040821 Firefox/3.0.9 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)

User avatar
GµårÐïåñ
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 3339
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:19 am
Location: PST - USA
Contact:

Re: Setting language for NoScript

Post by GµårÐïåñ » Sat Apr 25, 2009 5:17 am

If there is a localized translation available for NS, then it will inherit from the interface language to use it. Otherwise, it will default to English.
~.:[ Lï£ê ï§ å Lêmðñ åñÐ Ì Wåñ† M¥ Mðñê¥ ßå¢k ]:.~
________________ .: [ Major Mike's ] :. ________________
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.0.9) Gecko/2009040821 Firefox/3.0.9

elipsett
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 4:51 am
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
Contact:

Re: Setting language for NoScript

Post by elipsett » Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:54 am

OK, that's what I figured, judging from what happens.
Thanks for the confirmation.

No way to override it and force a different language?
============================
Edward Lipsett
Kurodahan Press
kurodahan.com
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; ja; rv:1.9.0.9) Gecko/2009040821 Firefox/3.0.9 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)

Tom T.
Field Marshal
Posts: 3620
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:58 am

Re: Setting language for NoScript

Post by Tom T. » Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:31 am

For curiosity only, I found these in the NS Extension folder inside the Fx Profile Folder:

Components\noscriptService.js, search "en-us" and found only a short way down from the top: ("content/en-US")

Components\noscript.jar, lots of matches for various languages, but this looked interesting:

Code: Select all

<stringbundle id="about-strings" src="chrome://noscript/locale/about.properties"/><stringbundle id="about-stringsFB" src="chrome://noscript/content/en-US/about.properties"/>


But I personally wouldn't mess with any of this without a green light from Giorgio!!!!! ... curiosity only. Perhaps there is a way to override.

Giorgio?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US at an expert level; rv:1.8.1.20) Gecko/20081217 Firefox/2.0.0.20 diehard

elipsett
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 4:51 am
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
Contact:

Re: Setting language for NoScript

Post by elipsett » Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:35 am

I gather you're running a US-EN system? So it is impossible to tell if this is the default, the override setting, or something That Must Not Be Touched... I'll wait for a pronouncement from above.

Thanks!
============================
Edward Lipsett
Kurodahan Press
kurodahan.com
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; ja; rv:1.9.0.9) Gecko/2009040821 Firefox/3.0.9 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)

Tom T.
Field Marshal
Posts: 3620
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:58 am

Re: Setting language for NoScript

Post by Tom T. » Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:37 am

Yes, I am. My "question" is whether this could be overwritten manually. But certainly it might be
something That Must Not Be Touched...

I'll wait for a pronouncement from above.

Excellent idea! :)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US at an expert level; rv:1.8.1.20) Gecko/20081217 Firefox/2.0.0.20 diehard

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8790
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: Setting language for NoScript

Post by Giorgio Maone » Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:06 am

You can set the general.useragent.locale about:config preference to your preferred locale, but it will change also the browser's language if available.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.0.8) Gecko/2009032609 Firefox/3.0.8 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)

elipsett
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 4:51 am
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
Contact:

Re: Setting language for NoScript

Post by elipsett » Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:12 am

Thank you, Giorgio.
Not the best solution, but a very definite answer!

=====
Edward Lipsett
Fukuoka, Japan
============================
Edward Lipsett
Kurodahan Press
kurodahan.com
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; ja; rv:1.9.0.9) Gecko/2009040821 Firefox/3.0.9 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)

User avatar
GµårÐïåñ
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 3339
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:19 am
Location: PST - USA
Contact:

Re: Setting language for NoScript

Post by GµårÐïåñ » Sun Apr 26, 2009 3:40 am

elipsett wrote:OK, that's what I figured, judging from what happens.
Thanks for the confirmation.

No way to override it and force a different language?


Well Giorgio beat me to it, so make the best of the solution and good luck.
~.:[ Lï£ê ï§ å Lêmðñ åñÐ Ì Wåñ† M¥ Mðñê¥ ßå¢k ]:.~
________________ .: [ Major Mike's ] :. ________________
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.0.9) Gecko/2009040821 Firefox/3.0.9 AdblockPlus/1.0.2 RequestPolicy/0.5.5 NoScript/1.9.2.1

Post Reply