Allow all scripts for current domain?

General discussion about the NoScript extension for Firefox
Post Reply
smilinggoat
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:43 pm

Allow all scripts for current domain?

Post by smilinggoat » Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:00 pm

ArsTechnica recently created a kerfuffle by blocking site content from users who block ads. I don't run adblocking software but I do run NoScript as a blacklist. I do not allow doubleclick.net to run javascript. Most sites gracefully degrade to serving JPEG or GIF images, however, ArsTechnica did not. ArsTechnica was whitelisted but doubleclick was not. I had the choice of either globally allowing doubleclick or not viewing ArsTechnica.

Is it possible to allow all scripts from all domains given a particular viewing domain? For instance, when I'm on on arstechnica.com, doubleclick.net would be allowed to run scripts, but other sites I'm viewing would not be able to load doubleclick.net?
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X 10.5; en-US; rv:1.9.2) Gecko/20100115 Firefox/3.6

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8954
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: Allow all scripts for current domain?

Post by Giorgio Maone » Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:09 pm

Open NoScript Options|Advanced|ABE, and edit the USER ruleset adding the following rule:

Code: Select all

Site .doubleclick.net
Allow from .arstechnica.com
Deny


Now you can allow doubleclick.net in NoScript: ABE will prevent its resources from loading unless the origin is arstechnica.com or a subdomain.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.2; en-US; rv:1.9.2) Gecko/20100115 Firefox/3.6

smilinggoat
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: Allow all scripts for current domain?

Post by smilinggoat » Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:26 pm

Thank you Giorgio for your prompt reply! It works great!
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X 10.5; en-US; rv:1.9.2) Gecko/20100115 Firefox/3.6

Post Reply