Page 1 of 1

[CLOSED] NS in Fx shows incomplete list of script requests

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 2:17 am
by Brains_Ironically
Howdy!

Running NS 11.0.30 in Fx 77.0.1 (64bit) and occasionally run in to a situation where the list of sites in NS is incomplete and prevents a page from loading correctly or similar errors (can't login, can't launch chat, etc,)

I only know there are more sites requesting access if I launch Chrome, go to the page, and check the NS list and see the sites there.

For example:

In Fx, I go to site XYZ.com, NS shows xyz.com, google.com, googletagmanager.com

I go to the same site in Chrome and *also* see: example.com and chutzpah.com

I can whitelist the sites in Fx and sometimes this allows the page to load, sometimes not. Seems like an inelegant solution to the problem though.

So what did I screw up?

Thanks!

Re: NS in Fx shows incomplete list of script requests

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 2:57 am
by barbaz
Do you have the presets Default/Trusted/Untrusted configured differently in Firefox vs Chrome? and/or different permissions for the sites involved?
Do you use the same content-blocking addons in both browsers? configured the same?
What version of Chrome are you using?
Does your Chrome also have NoScript version 11.0.30?

Re: NS in Fx shows incomplete list of script requests

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 10:57 am
by Brains_Ironically
Same version of NS in Chrome
Chrome Version: 83.0.4103.97 (64bit)
NS settings in both browsers are however it came, I made no changes.

As far as the permissions for the sites, I have allowed *all* on both sites that are showing in the NS list, but the Fx list is incomplete, and that's where the trouble lies, I can't allow a site that isn't showing in the list.

Thank you for your reply!

Re: NS in Fx shows incomplete list of script requests

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 10:17 pm
by barbaz
Do you have an example link where you consistently see this discrepancy, that doesn't require login to see it?
If so, can you copy+paste the list of sites NoScript shows you in Chrome (that's not missing entries)? - viewtopic.php?p=101778#p101778

Re: NS in Fx shows incomplete list of script requests

Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 12:36 am
by Brains_Ironically
directv.com, xhamsterlive.com (adult, sorry, it was one of the sites that popped into my head.)

I made a jpg of the different lists, too, if that would be helpful.

Re: NS in Fx shows incomplete list of script requests

Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 1:04 am
by barbaz
Brains_Ironically wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 12:36 am
I made a jpg of the different lists, too, if that would be helpful.
It would.

I tried visiting https://www.directv.com/ in Firefox 77. Initially saw only directv.com and att.com listed. Setting those to Temp. TRUSTED added go-mpulse.net to the list. Setting that to Temp. TRUSTED as well resulted in att.com removed from the list, but reloading the page in a new tab it showed up again.
(go-mpulse might have been blocked by another addon here; I'm not sure if my setting it to Temp. TRUSTED in NoScript was a no-op?)

How does that compare to what you're seeing?

Re: NS in Fx shows incomplete list of script requests

Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:22 am
by Brains_Ironically
https://photos.app.goo.gl/FvpHnNZ4XoGbeXcf8

On the left is directv.com, on the right is xhamster.com

For directv.com, goimpulse is blocked in Fx, but demdex doesn't even show up.
For xhamster.com, tsyndicate.com doesn't show up in Fx.

Re: NS in Fx shows incomplete list of script requests

Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 2:01 pm
by barbaz
That's a LOT more script sites than I see :shock: I tried going to directv with other blocking addons disabled, but now it's just giving me "Access denied" when I set directv + att to Temp. TRUSTED, so I can't investigate that further directly :(

Are you sure directv (or some ad on the page) isn't serving you slightly different pages in the two different browsers?
barbaz wrote:
Fri Jun 05, 2020 2:57 am
Do you use the same content-blocking addons in both browsers? configured the same?
Seems this question got overlooked. Could you please answer it?

I notice that in your xhamster screenshots, Firefox shows "kaspersky-labs.com" while Chrome does not. Do you have any Kaspersky extension in Firefox that you don't have in Chrome?
barbaz wrote:
Fri Jun 05, 2020 2:57 am
Do you have the presets Default/Trusted/Untrusted configured differently in Firefox vs Chrome? and/or different permissions for the sites involved?
Could you please share what you actually have checked under Default, Trusted, and Untrusted tabs in NoScript Options > General in both browsers?
For directv, what do you see if you set all the sites in your NoScript popup in Firefox to the same permission as you have them in Chrome, including state of the green/red locks, and then force-reload the page (Ctrl-Shift-R)?

Re: NS in Fx shows incomplete list of script requests

Posted: Sun Jun 07, 2020 2:33 pm
by Brains_Ironically
Presets are the same on both browsers for the sites.

The only difference between addons is I run Tampermonkey on FF for blocking facebook ads, and adblocker ultimate for the same reason. I have tried disabling both addons, restarting FF, and then attempting to hit the sites again with the same results.

Again, thanks for you help! Much appreciated.

Re: NS in Fx shows incomplete list of script requests

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 3:29 pm
by therube
I notice that in your xhamster screenshots, Firefox shows "kaspersky-labs.com" while Chrome does not. Do you have any Kaspersky extension in Firefox that you don't have in Chrome?
directv.com, att.com (& kaspersky-labs.com) is showing in red (a red unlock).
Does that mean http: rather then https: ?

Re: NS in Fx shows incomplete list of script requests

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 3:42 pm
by therube
If you disable NoScript, what do you get?
(Suppose you'd have to use some other method to display the domains that are loading?)

("Cookies" [including "Offline Website Data"], even [seemingly] "unrelated" cookies may also be playing into this as I can generate "access denied" messages at directv, depending on what I do, how I go about things.)


What I get (in NoScript 5.x, SeaMonkey, after repeatedly 'Allow all this page'):

+google.com
+google-analytics.com
+att.com
+crazyegg.com
+omtrdc.net
+facebook.net
+go-mpulse.net
+inq.com
+quantummetric.com
+doubleclick.net
+directv.com


Different browsers may be served different content.
(Different [browser] User Agents may be served different content.)


xhamster, I see:

+googletagmanager.com
+google-analytics.com
+xhcdn.com
+tsyndicate.com
+xhamster.com

Re: NS in Fx shows incomplete list of script requests

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 10:19 pm
by Brains_Ironically
therube wrote:
Mon Jun 08, 2020 3:29 pm
I notice that in your xhamster screenshots, Firefox shows "kaspersky-labs.com" while Chrome does not. Do you have any Kaspersky extension in Firefox that you don't have in Chrome?
directv.com, att.com (& kaspersky-labs.com) is showing in red (a red unlock).
Does that mean http: rather then https: ?
You are correct, I do not have the Kaspersky plugin in Chrome (I rarely use it except when a site in FF fails to load.)

If I understand NS, then yes, the red unlock means it will show both http and https items, whereas the green lock is just https.
I set everything to red hoping to get into att.com

If I disable NS, adblock, and tampermonkey, I still can't access the site.

Let me try FF in "Safe" mode, and see how that works out.

Re: NS in Fx shows incomplete list of script requests

Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 7:55 pm
by Brains_Ironically
Yeah, I gave up trying to figure it out, too. lol

But I appreciate you folks helping!
Much appreciated.

Re: NS in Fx shows incomplete list of script requests

Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2020 12:06 am
by barbaz
Brains_Ironically wrote:
Sat Jun 13, 2020 7:55 pm
Yeah, I gave up trying to figure it out,
Ok, thanks for letting us know. Marking as Closed.

Not locking, so that you can still post in this thread if you change your mind.
Brains_Ironically wrote:
Sat Jun 13, 2020 7:55 pm
But I appreciate you folks helping!
Much appreciated.
You're welcome.