Blocking data uri

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
RobertJ
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 8:37 pm

Blocking data uri

Post by RobertJ » Tue Jul 03, 2012 9:23 pm

If you go here

http://flagfox.wordpress.com/2012/07/03/an-etropy-based-password-strength-checker-in-a-data-uri/

and scroll down the page halfway, there is a link to a data uri labeled

Load my entropy based password checker (data URI)

If fails to work unless I disable NoScript. What particular part of NS is blocking it and how to I allow it. I thought it might be noscript.allowURLBarJS but that is not it.

Thank you
Last edited by therube on Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: adjust link placed in URL tags

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7236
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Blocking data uri

Post by therube » Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:16 pm

> If fails to work

>> Fails in what way?
>> Page doesn't load, or?

The page loads, but does not return any results when you type in a "password".
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7236
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Blocking data uri

Post by therube » Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:27 pm

You need to allow file://

So either load a local html page, allowing file:// or add file:// to your whitelist.
(Maybe there should be a way to add a URI temporarily to the whitelist?)

Never mind, that is not it.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7236
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Blocking data uri

Post by therube » Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:36 pm

Maybe the only way to get it to work is to Allow Global?

(Or maybe it is a bug?
Messing with; noscript.allowURLBarImports, noscript.allowURLBarJS, & noscript.forbidXBL didn't seem to accomplish anything?)


Note: May need a manual page refresh after Allow Global.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus

RobertJ
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 8:37 pm

Re: Blocking data uri

Post by RobertJ » Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:19 pm

.
Sorry I've been MIA; apparently I am not receiving emails about replies for some reason.

Allowing globally works after manually reloading of the page; however, that is using a sledgehammer. I would like to do a more precise action. I have played with numerous options in NS and cannot find the "Magic" to make this work.

.

Post Reply