[RESOLVED] Objects are Duplicated

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
TSC

[RESOLVED] Objects are Duplicated

Post by TSC » Sat Apr 04, 2009 1:45 am

This is kind of a weird problem.

When I click on an object to temporarily allow it, a duplicate of the object is created immediately below it; this behaviour is repeatable and consistent. Going to Pandora, for example, results in the display of two functioning objects for the Pandora player. This behaviour started recently, and no changes have been made to my browser besides automatic updates.

What exactly is going on and how do I prevent the duplication of objects?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.0.8) Gecko/2009032609 Firefox/3.0.8

User avatar
GµårÐïåñ
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 3339
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:19 am
Location: PST - USA
Contact:

Re: Objects are Duplicated

Post by GµårÐïåñ » Sat Apr 04, 2009 1:59 am

I went to pandora.com and put quantserve.com on the untrusted list with google-analytics.com which was already there and gave pandora.com temporary access and it loaded and no duplicates.

Image
generated after a single temporary allow to pandora.com

I believe the issue with yours is that you are allowing individual subdomains which appears to duplicate. Meaning, the site has reference to autocomplete.pandora.com, www.pandora.com and simply pandora.com. Now if you give permission to pandora.com, then everything else automatically gets permitted as they are secondary to that, if you allow http://www.pandora.com, then it will still list pandora.com and autocomplete.pandora.com on the list as it needs it based on the site's code. So either give pandora.com the permission so it automatically allows the rest or give them individually which ultimately gets consolidated to the same thing anyway.

I don't know how detailed you have your menu list which might need to be adjusted under Options|Appearance but mine is set to this configuration which gives me a wider range of control as to what level to block:

Image
current context menu configuration under Options|Appearance
~.:[ Lï£ê ï§ å Lêmðñ åñÐ Ì Wåñ† M¥ Mðñê¥ ßå¢k ]:.~
________________ .: [ Major Mike's ] :. ________________
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.0.8) Gecko/2009032609 Firefox/3.0.8 FirePHP/0.2.4

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8699
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: Objects are Duplicated

Post by Giorgio Maone » Sat Apr 04, 2009 9:35 am

I've seen a similar behavior on Fx 2, fixed in latest development build.
Could you check it?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.2; en-US; rv:1.9.0.8) Gecko/2009032609 Firefox/3.0.8 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)

meji
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:28 pm

Re: Objects are Duplicated

Post by meji » Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:41 pm

**UPDATE** Yes the v 1.9.1.7 fixes this issue.

I am having the same trouble. I would imagine that you mean v 1.9.1.7 is the latest development build.
I'll give that a try and report back if it worked.
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.20) Gecko/20081217 Firefox/2.0.0.20

iugf

Re: Objects are Duplicated

Post by iugf » Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:23 am

where is the v 1.9.1.7 version at?
i can only find 1.9.1.6 as the latest.

could someone post the link to the new version please?
thanx.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.20) Gecko/20081217 Firefox/2.0.0.20

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7421
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Objects are Duplicated

Post by therube » Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:35 am

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1b4pre) Gecko/20090328 SeaMonkey/2.0b1pre

iugf

Re: Objects are Duplicated

Post by iugf » Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:49 am

thank you!
it works- problem is fixed.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.20) Gecko/20081217 Firefox/2.0.0.20

Elliot

Re: [RESOLVED] Objects are Duplicated

Post by Elliot » Wed Apr 08, 2009 3:20 pm

I've been dealing with the same problem... using FF2 and having objects duplicated indefinitely... am now using the development build and the problem is fixed - THANK YOU
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US; rv:1.8.1.20) Gecko/20081217 Firefox/2.0.0.20 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)

Post Reply