Unable to access "Quantum" NoScript 11.0.33rc1 development build

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
garyf

Unable to access "Quantum" NoScript 11.0.33rc1 development build

Post by garyf » Thu Jul 09, 2020 11:30 pm

Hello,
I am trying to access the link to obtain a Development Build version 11.0.33rc1; however, a "We can’t connect to the server at secure.informaction.com" pop-up was shown instead. I am always a user tester for any new Development Builds for a long time, but this one were some of the encounters that needs to be straightened out.

- Thanks.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; rv:78.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/78.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7641
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Unable to access "Quantum" NoScript 11.0.33rc1 development build

Post by therube » Fri Jul 10, 2020 12:12 am

(I just downloaded it, so from what I can see, working now.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.0 SeaMonkey/2.53.4

garyf

Re: (Solved by auto install of Final version) Unable to access "Quantum" NoScript 11.0.33rc1 development build

Post by garyf » Fri Jul 10, 2020 1:25 am

Never mind. My version was automatically updated to the new FINAL VERSION 11.0.33.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; rv:78.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/78.0

garyf

Re: Unable to access "Quantum" NoScript 11.0.34rc1 development build

Post by garyf » Fri Jul 10, 2020 7:01 pm

The development build link is still NOT WORKING. There is a new Development version 11.034rc1, but also having the same problem. I am using Firefox 78.0.2 on Windows 10 Pro, and with other extensions that I disabled such as current HTTPS Everywhere and uBlock Origin version 1.28.1b7:

"Hmm. We’re having trouble finding that site.

We can’t connect to the server at secure.informaction.com.

If that address is correct, here are three other things you can try:

Try again later.
Check your network connection.
If you are connected but behind a firewall, check that Firefox has permission to access the Web
."
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; rv:78.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/78.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7641
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Unable to access "Quantum" NoScript 11.0.33rc1 development build

Post by therube » Fri Jul 10, 2020 8:16 pm

(I just downloaded it, so from what I can see, working ;-).)

As I say, downloaded, as in, right-click the link, Save Link Target As (actually FlashGot Link)...


You're attempting to get the #dev version, how, & it is what, FF which is giving you those messages?
Are you using FF's DoH? Maybe try disabling that? Who is your ISP?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.49.5

garyf

Re: Unable to access "Quantum" NoScript 11.0.33rc1 development build

Post by garyf » Sat Jul 11, 2020 1:27 am

To therube:

I seldom see this problem before. Usually, I just clicked the link on the Development Version and automatically installed it from there. I don't copy the link by itself ... that's another keystroke. Just clicked on the link, and boom it is done.

Any way, the extension was again automatically updated from FINAL version 11.0.33 to a newer FINAL version 11.0.34. I hope the future Development version will be back to a normal link.

Thanks.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; rv:78.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/78.0

garyf

Re: Unable to access "Quantum" NoScript 11.0.33rc1 development build

Post by garyf » Sat Jul 11, 2020 7:09 pm

To therube:

Please see my original post which shows I am using Firefox 78.0.2 which was automatically defaulted to DNS-over-HTTPS. I don't have problems before prior to version 78.0.2 which were already defaulted to DNS-over-HTTPS per Release Notes on those corresponding prior releases of Firefox. I just noticed again that even the link for the new NoScript FINAL version 11.0.34 is also not working for me. If the fault is using DoH as designed by the new versions of Firefox, could we do something about it to make it working? The reason why I was able to install new FINAL version 11.0.34 is by using the link on AMO. However, as much as I am curious or say want testing a development version, I want to access such version. Remember that AMO that doesn't include development builds on their site.

- Thanks
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; rv:78.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/78.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7641
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Unable to access "Quantum" NoScript 11.0.33rc1 development build

Post by therube » Sun Jul 12, 2020 12:35 pm

Do you have the same issue if you attempt with IE/Edge...?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.0 SeaMonkey/2.53.4

garyf

Re: Unable to access "Quantum" NoScript 11.0.33rc1 development build

Post by garyf » Sun Jul 12, 2020 9:22 pm

Not even on the current version of Microsoft Edge (version 83.0.478.61 (Official build) 64-bit). I tried accessing those links on NoScript (Final and Development version). This is the message I got:

"Hmmm… can't reach this page

secure.informaction.com’s server IP address could not be found.

Try:

* Checking the connection
* Checking the proxy, firewall, and DNS settings.

ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED

Refresh
"
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; rv:78.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/78.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7641
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Unable to access "Quantum" NoScript 11.0.33rc1 development build

Post by therube » Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:06 pm

If you change your DNS server, does that make any difference?

(Probably "safer", easier, to test in a new FF Profile as that will only affect the particular Profile, not the one currently in use, & not anything system-wide.)
(I know nothing about them... https://www.allconnect.com/blog/best-free-dns-servers.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.0 SeaMonkey/2.53.4

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7641
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Unable to access "Quantum" NoScript 11.0.33rc1 development build

Post by therube » Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:13 pm

Do you have nightlies "https only" feature enabled?
Maybe ... oh, never mind, your issue is not browser (FF) specific.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.0 SeaMonkey/2.53.4

garyf

Re: Unable to access "Quantum" NoScript 11.0.33rc1 development build

Post by garyf » Sat Jul 18, 2020 5:10 am

To: GIORGIO MAONE,

Why secure.informaction.com’s server IP address could not be found using Firefox 78.0.2 with defaulted DNS-over-HTTPS, and also using Microsoft Edge version 84.0.522.40 Official Build 64-bit?

Also noticed that on Google Chrome Store, the Final version is still 11.0.32? What happened to supposed to be Final version 11.0.34?

- Thanks
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; rv:78.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/78.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9584
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Unable to access "Quantum" NoScript 11.0.33rc1 development build

Post by barbaz » Sat Jul 18, 2020 1:47 pm

garyf, if you want help, please answer the questions posed to you -
therube wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 8:16 pm
FF's DoH? Maybe try disabling that?
therube wrote:
Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:06 pm
If you change your DNS server, does that make any difference?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

garyf

Re: Unable to access "Quantum" NoScript 11.0.33rc1 development build

Post by garyf » Tue Jul 21, 2020 2:38 am

To: barbaz:

The answers to those questions were all NO. Disabling DNS-over-HTTPS still doesn't work. Changing DNS doesn't work. Remember that I also indicated using Microsoft Edge version 84.0.522.40 Official build 64-bit, but that doesn't work either.

In as much as I don't want to change the way Mozilla Firefox Developers' intention to default their browser having DNS-over-HTTPS platform for some reason, is it possible to have an Extension make an adjustment themselves to conform on what the browser was made of? It is not the other way around that Extensions are/were the ones dictating to make changes on what Mozilla Firefox Platform was made of. That is why they called it Extensions ... to enhanced the capability on what the browser was made of. But of course, by submitting and getting approval from "Add-ons.Mozilla.org," upon review and testing by Mozilla, they may have some changes to make that would need maybe, some consultations with the corresponding Extension Developer.

Don't get me wrong, but "NoScript" is one of the best extension for Mozilla Firefox and chromium-based Microsoft Edge.

- Thanks.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; rv:78.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/78.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9584
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Unable to access "Quantum" NoScript 11.0.33rc1 development build

Post by barbaz » Tue Jul 21, 2020 1:25 pm

Can you please open Command Prompt, run this command, and post the output here? -

Code: Select all

nslookup secure.informaction.com
Here's my DNS lookup results -

Code: Select all

$ dig secure.informaction.com

; <<>> DiG 9.16.1-Ubuntu <<>> secure.informaction.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 46223
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 5, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 4096
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;secure.informaction.com.       IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
secure.informaction.com. 76766  IN      A       69.195.158.194
secure.informaction.com. 76766  IN      A       69.195.158.197
secure.informaction.com. 76766  IN      A       69.195.158.196
secure.informaction.com. 76766  IN      A       69.195.158.195
secure.informaction.com. 76766  IN      A       69.195.158.198

As a test, can you access secure.informaction.com if you manually add it to your HOSTS file with one of those IP addresses?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Post Reply