Having noscript remember trusted sites

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
Israel_Marmol
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 8:06 am

Having noscript remember trusted sites

Post by Israel_Marmol » Tue Apr 07, 2020 5:32 am

Hi,

I just reinstalled my whole Mac running Catalina 10.15.4 and got Firefox 74.0.1 with noscript.

I find that Noscript does not remember trusted sites, I have to disable it every time I go into sites I have already marked as trusted, such as these forums . Is there any way to mark a site as trusted forever so I don´t have to do it every time? I remember it used to be possible.

Thanks
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.15; rv:74.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/74.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9466
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Having noscript remember trusted sites

Post by barbaz » Tue Apr 07, 2020 2:31 pm

Do other addons settings save?
Do other NoScript settings changes save?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Israel_Marmol
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 8:06 am

Re: Having noscript remember trusted sites

Post by Israel_Marmol » Tue Apr 07, 2020 2:42 pm

Yes, they are saved. I have, for example, forget me not and those sites I white list so cookies are saved are remembered from one sesion to another,

but no Noscript settings are saved, I have to click on set to trusted in nosrcipt every time I visit a site, such as this one or any other I trust
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.15; rv:74.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/74.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9466
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Having noscript remember trusted sites

Post by barbaz » Tue Apr 07, 2020 4:02 pm

Israel_Marmol wrote:
Tue Apr 07, 2020 2:42 pm
but no Noscript settings are saved, I have to click on set to trusted in nosrcipt every time I visit a site, such as this one or any other I trust
Sorry, I should have been more clear - if you, for example, change a setting in NoScript Options > Appearance, does that change stick?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Israel_Marmol
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 8:06 am

Re: Having noscript remember trusted sites

Post by Israel_Marmol » Wed Apr 08, 2020 3:14 am

My bad, apologies. Yes, they do. I changed the appearance, rebooted the computer, and the changes remained.
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.15; rv:74.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/74.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9466
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Having noscript remember trusted sites

Post by barbaz » Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:27 pm

Do you use Firefox Sync?
If so, does this issue also happen in a new, separate Firefox profile that is not set up with your Firefox Sync?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Israel_Marmol
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 8:06 am

Re: Having noscript remember trusted sites

Post by Israel_Marmol » Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:46 pm

I do use firefox Sync and I just tried noscript with a new profile, with Sync turned off, and it seems to save the preferences, to have scripts allowed after I close the tabs and open them again.

It seems firefox sync is the problem. Any way around this?

Thanks a lot
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.15; rv:75.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/75.0

Avesendo

Re: Having noscript remember trusted sites

Post by Avesendo » Sat May 23, 2020 4:30 am

Bumping this up as I have exactly the same problem. Settings remain when using a non-syncing profile but regularly disappear (many, but for some reason not all sites) on a syncing profile. Other add-on settings do persist.

Any support would be appreciated.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:76.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/76.0

Mad_Man_Moon
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:02 pm

Re: Having noscript remember trusted sites

Post by Mad_Man_Moon » Sun May 24, 2020 12:57 am

I feel like I have something that might be related.

Am using Nightly, and latest ns, and logged in just now (actually 5 hours ago ... it's been a night) and ... ... everything has gone.

Hundreds of sites have left my approved/blocked list ... (I can literally see the evidence at the top of the list ... this is my main PC ...

Will open normie firefox in a second ... but will try to find a way to ensure that it doesn't sync to ensure that i can maybe get some semblence of a full list back.

(none of this is a hateful rant ... just me realising a bunch of stuff!! :-) ...)

EDIT
OK, opened up normie FF and can see stuff that looks about right (possibly out of date since I've been nightly for a couple of weeks) in the noscript.untrusted entry in about:config. That entry is non-existent in nightly's config flags.

There's literally zero noscript data in the nightly flags. Have just updated.

Nightly reports it's on 76.0.1 ... how am I two versions behind on an open dev build of FF? Oh, shit, I just realised I didn't MSI ... triple face palm.

EDIT 2
OK, that MSI thing wasn't the issue (although I'm now - painfully transferring my nightly to the MSI nightly) but I've just noted that this is now happening in normie Firefox which has had zero change from the previous day.

Normie *still* has the requisite items in the flags, but noscript has stopped seeing them.

EDIT 3

Going to check FF on my laptop (hp x360) and tablet (Galaxy S4) and see what the skinny is there, too.
I wondered if a bad profile somewhere was somehow transferring the information from a noscript setup which I hadn't put a copy of my latest set of approvals, but all of them (I think) were based off the same ns options (including some old abe stuff).

If I were to guess at something it looks like it's only got very recent changes in the file ... but those that are there have been maybe synced? Has a sync component been introduced?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:76.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/76.0

Mad_Man_Moon
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:02 pm

Re: Having noscript remember trusted sites

Post by Mad_Man_Moon » Thu May 28, 2020 11:18 pm

Reporting back. 8-)
------------------------- All images are in a pixhost gallery than can be downloaded as a zip if needs be.

Just quickly, I have a feeling that this whole issue might actually be affecting others, but they're either describing it differently, or noticing different symptoms of the same incident, or not noticing it at all ... yet. Maybe I'm just unlucky! :lol: ( :roll: -- at myself )

It should also be noted that of course I'm not angry or anything, and hopefully none of this reads this way, I'm just trying to provide as much information as I possibly can to assist with any ongoing issues ... if there are any.

I do not feel entitled to anyone's time, nor do I expect any response. That said, if this looks like there could be a small bug somewhere, it might help to just let folks know, so we can ensure that we don't change anything important in trying to fix it ourselves and make things even worst. :lol:

Or just tell me I'm screwed or stupid ... I can handle it ! :lol:

EDIT:
Have been updating, and I'm thinking that Android is basically ok, but will get with ft beta since I think sync might not work on ff standard ... works in old nightly on Android, will update later.

Basically, I think I need to test with the laptop to do anything worthwhile. 😩

-----------

Forethought
So, I had a bunch of thoughts where this might have been coming from which all got thrown in the air by the Android FF client. It's admittedly outdated, but it's working fine. With no Sync.

Previously I thought it was looking like it wasn't related to that ... now I've forgotten my own name ... cats and dogs are living together ... mass hysteria!

If stuff definitively points to a Firefox issue, I'll look in to raising it with them, but I really wouldn't know where to start. However at least I'll have gathered the data.

Before I go on, the only thing that I've changed that *could* be a contributing factor might be the xpinstall flags. I will test with that turned back to "true" on all builds, but I doubt it's the cause. I will attempt to change that back, and come back with the first edit to this post to report.


-----------

References

First up, all the versions of FF get NS immediately, and very soon after I import a NS data file from my base install (full fat, not just the sites). As a future test, I'll attempt to overwrite this, and/or try it on a fresh build.

All versions currently have XPI flags at false.

OK, I'll reference some different versions/builds of FF during this, so I guess I should map those out, my Windows and Android are not bleeding edge latest versions, but they're latest enough to be getting the annoying crap that has come with those in the past couple of years ;).
  • WDSB - Win10 Desktop Standard Base - Firefox 76.0.1 64-bit - NS 11.0.26
    Sync and a single standard profile. This is my longstanding FF install, my home if you will, the one that all others came from. I'd prefer to be using Nightly (for ... reasons) but won't use either until I know what's going on with this.
  • WDN - Win10 Desktop Nightly - FFN 76.0.1 64-bit - NS 11.0.26
    Sync and a single standard profile. This is the stand-alone download of nightly that I've been running up until this point. I didn't use the MSI, and should have, I've installed the MSI ready for migration, but haven't opened yet. This is a version or two behind.
  • AFS - Android FF Standard - FF 68.5.0 (latest is 68.8.1) - NS 11.0.26
    No sync, single standard profile installed. This is the standard Firefox on Android.
  • AFN - Android FF Nightly - FFN 200514 (Build #2015740211) - NS 11.0.26
    This has sync turned on, and the one profile. I've only just started using this, so it's very much stock.
I have a W10 laptop, too, but I've not turned that on to test as yet, will bring it in if I can.

-----------

Details

I've put a basic CSV of this information on shrib here, remove the spaces:
https : / / shrib . com / # noscript Csv Stuff
But now that URL is up there I guess anyone can edit it! :oops:

Win10 Desktop Standard Base
Looking at WDSB there are the capability.policy.maonoscript.sites and noscript.untrusted config flags, this is the only build that still has those. I think it's clear, though, that it's completely ignoring the untrusted list ... or so it seems. ;)

Here's an image of the Per-site Permissions (PsP), which are drastically short for close to 15 years of building:
  • NOPE NS SPAM GUARD STRIKES AGAIN :lol:

That whole list is about 130 which is roughly 10% of the untrusted list alone, let alone the trusted sites.

It is clearly not showing anything from the noscript.untrusted list, of which I'll put the first 7 here to match the PsP amount shown:

Code: Select all

will be edited in, I think it was causing the spam filter to spasm
Those should be the first 7 entries on that list.

I had a side note about whether this was related to the yellow site label issue, but that appears to be resolved in the upcoming release candidate. Deleted a paragraph here, ignore subsequent mentions of the yellow issue. I thought it maybe all tied together I'm silly!

Anyway ... I will not be attempting to click or whitelist anything on this build, because I don't want to lose any of that, to be honest. I guess I can try some stuff, but only if asked by bigwigs ;). Basically I'm expensive.

This version also has a noscript.filterXExceptions flag, amongst other stuff (like my old ABE rules :D ) the details are at the end of this (long) post.

The xpinstall.signatures.required and xpinstall.whitelist.required flags are set to "false" on this build, but it was pointless and I couldn't add the XPI I wanted to, so my first test will be to turn that back on.

Add-ons:
  • Facebook Container 2.1.1
  • Firefox Multi-Account Containers 6.2.5 (yes on top of the nightly version, there was functionality missing)
  • Greasemonkey 4.9
  • HTTPS Everywhere 2020.5.20 (but currently turned off)
  • Startpage.com 1.3.0
  • uBlock Origin 1.27.6

... and disconnect is disabled.

NoScript flags available:
  • will enter later for spam


Win10 Desktop Nightly
So on to Nightly, and this was where I first started to notice it. Actually it was initially when I was "pronning", that I realised that I'd definitely had to whitelist these sites before. Pronning is a serious business, people.

There were no NS flags at all here, and it's certainly not showing anything that I'd previously put in the list, plus the yellow thing is happening here, too.

This build is pretty bare. But it does have the same Add-Ons as the main one:
  • Facebook Container 2.1.1
  • Firefox Multi-Account Containers 6.2.5 (yes on top of the nightly version, there was functionality missing)
  • Greasemonkey 4.9
  • HTTPS Everywhere 2020.3.16
  • Startpage.com 1.3.0
  • uBlock Origin 1.27.0

... and disconnect is disabled.

There are NoScript config flags available.


Android FF Standard
This is the only unsynced version of FF that I have ... and it ... ... it *might* be OK? So maybe it is the sync ... or something I'm syncing ... oh for chrissakes.

Yep, it is working, but it's also the only version of FF that isn't generally up to date. Sure the silly WDN is mentally off version wise, but this is 3 versions old now of the main release.

Have updated, will test again in a second. but I think I tested it either side of an update and it worked. The problem is that I can't get sync to work at all on this version ... it could be because sync is disabled in this version. Will install beta and see if sync works there.

Anyway, it's fine I think ... tested on that hub ... yes that one. I'll add testing post update of this to the list.

Add-ons:
  • Activate Reader View 0.1.2
  • Default (theme) 1.00
  • HTTPS Everywhere 2020.5.20
  • Startpage.com 1.1.4
  • uBlock Origin 1.27.6


There are NoScript config flags available.


Android FF Nightly
It seems to save settings with sync turned on. Only HTTPS otherwise.

Android sync only does passwords/logins, bookmarks, and history, though.

Nightly Version

Code: Select all

Nightly 200514 06:00 (Build #2015740211)
42.0.20200513162226, 956bc5f9b
GV: 78.0a1-20200513094918
AS: 0.58.2
Add-ons:
  • HTTPS Everywhere 2020.5.20
There are NoScript config flags available.[/color]

-----------

Future tests
Hopefully I'll test the following, but I'm not doing this to any schedule, or even professionally, just adhoc, really, when I pick the device up.
  1. Test the affect of the xpinstall flags back to true.
    (probably nil)
  2. Update AFF and test.
  3. Test sync to see if it syncs the NS data.
    (i didn't think it would, but i'll check that a recent update hasn't changed that)
  4. Test importing the NS data file fresh on each.
  5. Test uBlock Origin interference, it is a new addition to my daily usage to get some ABE like functionality.
    (probably nil)
  6. Test Greasemonkey interference on WDSB only.
  7. Laptop - Standard Firefox - Sync & Multi Profile
  8. Laptop - Firefox Nightly - Sync & Standard Profile
  9. Nvidia Shield Tablet K1 - Standard Firefox - No Sync/Profile
  10. Maybe test the 2017 Amazon Fire HD8 fresh, it's got no FF, but it's a frickin' Fire tablet it'll probably just die :lol:
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:76.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/76.0

Mad_Man_Moon
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:02 pm

Re: Having noscript remember trusted sites

Post by Mad_Man_Moon » Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:21 pm

So mobile (droid) looks to be working OK in sync nightly (old) and unsync'd normie ff (current) ... but in checking that I noted that the export files have changed how they look/are made up.

I'm aware that both look like valid (what is that, json?) code ... more just the difference in the entities within.

old snippet:

Code: Select all

{"prefs":{
"clearClick.plugins":true,
"autoReload.embedders":1,
"surrogate.enabled":true,
new snippet:

Code: Select all

{
  "policy": {
    "DEFAULT": {
      "capabilities": [],
      "temp": false
When did that change happen, and (unlikely) has it any bearing on this?

I'm guessing I'm just looking at an ancient file, it's dated from 2018 ...

Am going to attempt 29rc1 later tonight to see if it resolves the issues here.

...

EDIT ...

OK, I've updated to 29 standard on both ff and nightly desktop and it's remembering the sites that i set ... however it's still forgotten everything that's in the old untrusted list ... which I would assume means that it's forgotten that for trusted, too.

This particular part of the issue is cross device.

Should I just find the old lists and reconfigure them into the new style noscript_data file? Or is there something simpler?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:76.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/76.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9466
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Having noscript remember trusted sites

Post by barbaz » Fri Jun 05, 2020 12:13 am

@Gtako Your issue is different from the OP of this thread. This thread issue is specific to the use of Firefox Sync. I split your post to viewtopic.php?f=7&t=25990 so that both issues can get proper attention without being conflated.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Mad_Man_Moon
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:02 pm

Re: Having noscript remember trusted sites

Post by Mad_Man_Moon » Fri Jun 05, 2020 2:51 pm

Ugh, Firefox standard has lost the entire set of trusted/untrusted sites...

Win10 Desktop Standard Base
Updated to latest FF (77.0.1) and stable NS (11.0.30) on the WDSB and all the sites are gone again.

It *is* remembering new additions, though, as previously mentioned.

The flags are still present, and anything in those is not reflected in the NS options.

The xpinstall flags make no difference.

Have tried with the previously mentioned Add-ons both enabled and on and with them disabled.

NoScript flags are still available on this build. Again, I think that might be legacy, but have no way of telling.


Win10 Desktop Nightly
TBC


Is there a way we can be sure of keeping our untrusted/trusted list? In standard (non-tor) browsing I'd say that losing the entirety of potentially years long investment in a list can be considered a pretty big security hole, especially if someone's not aware that it's happened.

I'm aware that the Default rules should protect folks, but some will have blocked some of the per-site permissions that NS rocks along with as standard, right?

None of this is being said aggressively, but I am also looking to be sure that if I import a more full list (likely years out of date now 😩) can I be sure that the new list won't disappear at some point, too?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:77.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/77.0

musonius
Senior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Having noscript remember trusted sites

Post by musonius » Fri Jun 05, 2020 3:56 pm

Mad_Man_Moon wrote:
Fri Jun 05, 2020 2:51 pm
None of this is being said aggressively, but I am also looking to be sure that if I import a more full list (likely years out of date now 😩) can I be sure that the new list won't disappear at some point, too?
I don't want to play down your problem, but not backing up important data regularly (and a complex NoScript configuration certainly belongs in this category) is a problem in itself. You don't even have to do this manually, because there is backup software for all operating systems. Just add your browser profile folder to the list of folders to be backed up, and you can easily switch to the last working configuration.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:77.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/77.0

Mad_Man_Moon
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:02 pm

Re: Having noscript remember trusted sites

Post by Mad_Man_Moon » Fri Jun 05, 2020 4:17 pm

TL:DR - I'm not going to backup my NS every time I start/stop the browser ... that's actual insanity. 8-) :P

Going Longer:
To start ... this isn't an issue with long term remembrance, the initial tests I did showed that it wasn't remembering sites that were added in a normal window (not private).

Sure, and I have, and do back it up (I'm working from various exports here ... the most detailed is 2018, but there are newer ones) one of the problems there is that I don't know how long this has been going on, and (as I've just tested) old imports aren't exactly perfect (I'm working on a thread to put together a merged file).

-----------
Also, just to say ... Not that it bothers me :) , but the kind of comment you made might not help folks who are posting for the first time, and/or getting used to being a more fastidious PC user. As much as you've tried to put a pillow in front of the gun, the "duh-doi" shot can still be heard. Plus my ADHD is really laughing at the "why can't you just be more proper, and organised like me" of it all. 8-)
-----------

Anyway, yes ... I wouldn't be here at all if I didn't have backups ... but the main issue with that was that I've been away from FF for so long because after ABE left the NS I found it quite difficult to carry on, and I basically couldn't browse without it. That said, I built up copious files in chrome/opera/nuEdge. Anyway ... I've recently found work-arounds for the ABE side of things, so I'm now firing on ahead with NS ... but if it's not remembering sites ... I'm not going to back up my list every bloody time I open/close firefox, mate, am i?
musonius wrote:
Fri Jun 05, 2020 3:56 pm
I don't want to play down your problem, but not backing up important data regularly (and a complex NoScript configuration certainly belongs in this category) is a problem in itself. You don't even have to do this manually, because there is backup software for all operating systems. Just add your browser profile folder to the list of folders to be backed up, and you can easily switch to the last working configuration.
Mad_Man_Moon wrote:
Fri Jun 05, 2020 2:51 pm
None of this is being said aggressively, but I am also looking to be sure that if I import a more full list (likely years out of date now 😩) can I be sure that the new list won't disappear at some point, too?
Getting back to the issue, could this section help me?

Code: Select all

  "sync": {
    "global": false,
    "xss": true,
    "cascadeRestrictions": false,
    "overrideTorBrowserPolicy": false,
    "clearclick": true,
    "storage": "sync"
  },
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:77.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/77.0

Post Reply