Ctrl-Shift-S shortcut clashes with built-in "Take a Screenshot" shortcut

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
ralfbergs

Ctrl-Shift-S shortcut clashes with built-in "Take a Screenshot" shortcut

Post by ralfbergs » Wed Jun 19, 2019 1:55 pm

Hi,

the Ctrl-Shift-S shortcut for NoScript clashes with built-in "Take a Screenshot" shortcut in Firefox.

As the FF one probably has "priority," can you change the one for NoScript?

Kr,

Ralf
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:67.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/67.0

skriptimaahinen
Senior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:37 am

Re: Ctrl-Shift-S shortcut clashes with built-in "Take a Screenshot" shortcut

Post by skriptimaahinen » Wed Jun 19, 2019 5:00 pm

Yes you can! Go to about:addons -> Click the gear icon -> Select "Manage Extension Shortcuts" -> Find NoScript from the list.

Though it looks like NoScript does not currently use Ctrl-Shift-S for anything...
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:60.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.0

ralfbergs

Re: Ctrl-Shift-S shortcut clashes with built-in "Take a Screenshot" shortcut

Post by ralfbergs » Wed Jun 19, 2019 5:14 pm

Ok, then there must be an error in the FAQ... ;-)

Under 5.5 on https://noscript.net/faq it says:
using the ctrl+shift+S keyboard shortcut
Your hint about defining the shortcuts was helpful, thank you. In the end I don't care what it is -- main thing is it works at all. :-)

And Alt-Shift-N does work. :-)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:67.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/67.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9096
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Ctrl-Shift-S shortcut clashes with built-in "Take a Screenshot" shortcut

Post by barbaz » Wed Jun 19, 2019 5:31 pm

ralfbergs wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 5:14 pm
Ok, then there must be an error in the FAQ... ;-)
That FAQ was written for NoScript Classic, not NoScript 10.x.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

ralfbergs

Re: Ctrl-Shift-S shortcut clashes with built-in "Take a Screenshot" shortcut

Post by ralfbergs » Wed Jun 19, 2019 5:41 pm

Ah, I didn't know. Thanks for letting me know.

Maybe the FAQ should be updated to at least reflect that fact? :-)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:67.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/67.0

Post Reply