context has no submenu and UI not accessible with NVDA

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
Guest

context has no submenu and UI not accessible with NVDA

Post by Guest » Thu Sep 06, 2018 7:48 am

I'm using Firefox 62 (after the pre-quantum ESR updated). The new NoScript still has a menu item on the context menu, but it doesn't open into a submenu with options to change permissions. If I choose that menu item, my screen reader just goes back to the website and I can't make any permission changes. At this time I can't use the NoScript UI at all with NVDA.

The simplest fix (but I don't know if it's possible) would be having submenu items like before on the context menu. No idea what else could be done. Please help.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.3; Win64; x64; rv:62.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/62.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7409
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: context has no submenu and UI not accessible with NVDA

Post by therube » Thu Sep 06, 2018 2:47 pm

(I'll just note that all the context menu does in NoScript 10 is to open & focus on the NoScript icon dropdown.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.49.5

alkymist

Re: context has no submenu and UI not accessible with NVDA

Post by alkymist » Thu Sep 06, 2018 11:30 pm

I just had a similar experience. Firefox updated to version 62.0 and not only does the NoScript icon not popup the contextual menu, but all my site-specific settings were ignored as though I'd selected "allow all". Reverting to Firefox 61.0.2 fixed everything without any other changes.

Any ideas?
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.13; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7409
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: context has no submenu and UI not accessible with NVDA

Post by therube » Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:25 am

(And from the Linux end... readers & Mozilla, in general...)
Xogium heh… Thing is I'm on linux so
Xogium nvda is for windows only
Xogium I can confirm it doesn't. Noscript and co are totally unusable
Xogium heh. I don't think it is his fault, it's that new mozilla crap
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0 SeaMonkey/2.49.5

Gregor

Re: context has no submenu and UI not accessible with NVDA

Post by Gregor » Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:03 pm

I faced the same problem, after many tries and errors it come out, that maximising the browser window solved the problem, and after clicking "Noscript" from context menu, the page settings window appeared.

Gregor

Re: context has no submenu and UI not accessible with NVDA

Post by Gregor » Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:44 pm

After experimenting with my sighted colleague it come out, that if the window is small, there is no Noscript icon visible, and try to launch the addon using right mouse click somewhere on the page, and then clicking "Noscript" item doesn't work even when NVDA is completely disabled.
Dedicated keyboard shortcut for launching Noscript page settings window, would be some solution, for users who would know this shortcut, and up to now a shortest path to open the Noscript window seems to be as follows:
- Press F11 to switch temporarily to full scren mode.
- Press context menu key, and Choose Noscript.
- Finally press F11 again to disable full-screen (alt will not open FF menu when full-screen is enabled).
Tested on FF 64.0.2.

Post Reply