How to permanently allow a site

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
Billywest
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:55 pm

How to permanently allow a site

Post by Billywest » Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:13 pm

Under old noscript this was not an issue, getting tired of this temp allowed and clock situation.
Must be an simple way to do this in new version. I visit nfl .com a lot this temporary thing is too
much now each page is really annoying
Last edited by Billywest on Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

User avatar
Just_Golem
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:04 am

Re: How to permanently allow a ste

Post by Just_Golem » Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:27 pm

Look at 1rst reply in this post. Seems to apply to your needs?

Click Trusted and then click on Clock to make it go (greyed out, lighter), this will make permission be permanent

https://forums.informaction.com/viewtop ... =7&t=24232
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

Billywest
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: How to permanently allow a ste

Post by Billywest » Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:51 pm

The only clocks i see says revoke temp permissions and temp allow this page
I don't see anything that says permanent, should be a permanent button will help with the confusion
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

FranL
Senior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: How to permanently allow a ste

Post by FranL » Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:03 pm

Billywest wrote:The only clocks i see says revoke temp permissions and temp allow this page
I don't see anything that says permanent, should be a permanent button will help with the confusion
The first time you click TRUSTED for a domain, there's large clock icon that means the trust is temporary:

Image

If you click the clock, it becomes small and greyed out, which means the trust is permanent:

Image

EDIT: This need for two clicks to make trust permanent is by design, BTW. The rationale is that operations that happen more often (e.g., trusting a domain temporarily) should require fewer clicks than operations that happen less often (e.g., trusting a domain permanently).
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

Billywest
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: How to permanently allow a site

Post by Billywest » Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:40 pm

Did as you said when i go into other pages of the site it wont load unless i click temp allow.
On ebay very difficult to complete checkout unless i disable noscript. might have to do that for a while
until this issue is fix. love this add on but can't work like this for me thanks .
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

Pansa
Senior Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:30 pm

Re: How to permanently allow a site

Post by Pansa » Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:35 pm

Billywest wrote:Did as you said when i go into other pages of the site it wont load unless i click temp allow.
On ebay very difficult to complete checkout unless i disable noscript. might have to do that for a while
until this issue is fix. love this add on but can't work like this for me thanks .
1. where you say "temp allow" do you mean "temp allow all" ?
2. Do you mean other tabs you already loaded?

I just don't understand the issue.
You create the appropriate non-temp rules you need for the site, and then it works.
This isn't really different from how NS classic worked.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

FranL
Senior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: How to permanently allow a site

Post by FranL » Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:27 pm

Pansa wrote:Do you mean other tabs you already loaded?
Should this matter? NoScript Classic would re-load already-open pages when any trust change affects those pages. Doesn't NoScript 10.x do the same?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

Pansa
Senior Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:30 pm

Re: How to permanently allow a site

Post by Pansa » Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:32 pm

FranL wrote:
Pansa wrote:Do you mean other tabs you already loaded?
Should this matter? NoScript Classic would re-load already-open pages when any trust change affects those pages. Doesn't NoScript 10.x do the same?
I know this will sound snide, but..

Why do you ask this instead of just trying it out for yourself?
But to answer : No, currently it only reloads the page that you open the drop down menu from; all other tabs are only affected after a manual reload.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

FranL
Senior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: How to permanently allow a site

Post by FranL » Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:33 pm

Pansa wrote:
FranL wrote:
Pansa wrote:Do you mean other tabs you already loaded?
Should this matter? NoScript Classic would re-load already-open pages when any trust change affects those pages. Doesn't NoScript 10.x do the same?
Why do you ask this instead of just trying it out for yourself?
I should have. My apologies.

The current behavior of 10.x seems like security risk. It can lead to untrusted scripts remaining loaded after the user marks their source domain as UNTRUSTED. Are there plans to make 10.x behave like 5.x in this regard?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

Pansa
Senior Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:30 pm

Re: How to permanently allow a site

Post by Pansa » Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:54 pm

FranL wrote: The current behavior of 10.x seems like security risk. It can lead to untrusted scripts remaining loaded after the user marks their source domain as UNTRUSTED.
Mh. In most past the "I didn't realise" factor...
It would require an "opt out" approach by the user to begin with, which seems like a barn-door of a risk in comparison with the crack that is the "keeping it running in other open tabs, when they have been loaded in the first place".

No script only provides as little or as much security as the user wielding it. And it seems like this issue requires being especially lax on that front to begin with.
It'S more annoying to people allowing scripts individually and having to reload a heap of tabs afterwards (which could also be seen as a user error in some ways :/ )
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

bo elam
Senior Member
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 2:25 am

Re: How to permanently allow a site

Post by bo elam » Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:29 am

The old version had both ways available. I remember you could tick a setting under General that reloaded automatically all tabs that were affected by permission changes. I kept that setting unticked as I prefer only the current tab to reload (as it is now).

Bo
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

Billywest
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: How to permanently allow a site

Post by Billywest » Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:00 am

Pansa wrote:
Billywest wrote:Did as you said when i go into other pages of the site it wont load unless i click temp allow.
On ebay very difficult to complete checkout unless i disable noscript. might have to do that for a while
until this issue is fix. love this add on but can't work like this for me thanks .
1. where you say "temp allow" do you mean "temp allow all" ?
2. Do you mean other tabs you already loaded?

I just don't understand the issue.
You create the appropriate non-temp rules you need for the site, and then it works.
This isn't really different from how NS classic worked.
Example i go to ebay mark as trusted hit the clock it turned gray. now when
i go lets say watch list, history, etc i still need to hit temporary allow because page wont fully load.
Unless i'm doing something wrong the version before this was very simple
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

Pansa
Senior Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:30 pm

Re: How to permanently allow a site

Post by Pansa » Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:29 pm

Billywest wrote: Example i go to ebay mark as trusted hit the clock it turned gray. now when
i go lets say watch list, history, etc i still need to hit temporary allow because page wont fully load.
Unless i'm doing something wrong the version before this was very simple
You are making this a lot harder than it needs to be....

So you made a rule for ...ebay.com?
Does that rule now stay in place after closing the browser?

The next step is to allow the other script sources you need like ...ebaystatic.com or whatever needs to run to make it work.
Or you can click "temp allow all" (you keep dropping the all when you write), and when the site works just click the clocks away on the rules you think you will need.

If you have clicked "temp allow all" it will show you which temporary rules it has set, and you can make them permanent the same way that you set a permanent rule.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

Billywest
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: How to permanently allow a site

Post by Billywest » Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:25 pm

Pansa wrote:
Billywest wrote: Example i go to ebay mark as trusted hit the clock it turned gray. now when
i go lets say watch list, history, etc i still need to hit temporary allow because page wont fully load.
Unless i'm doing something wrong the version before this was very simple
You are making this a lot harder than it needs to be....

So you made a rule for ...ebay.com?
Does that rule now stay in place after closing the browser?

The next step is to allow the other script sources you need like ...ebaystatic.com or whatever needs to run to make it work.
Or you can click "temp allow all" (you keep dropping the all when you write), and when the site works just click the clocks away on the rules you think you will need.

If you have clicked "temp allow all" it will show you which temporary rules it has set, and you can make them permanent the same way that you set a permanent rule.
Nope rule does not stay in place, so you saying i need to allow all those for every site i need. ok will see what happens thanks
Some sites have lots of scripts to run depends on what page you enter. Why can't just trust a site like the version before this instead of going through all these steps
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

Pansa
Senior Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:30 pm

Re: How to permanently allow a site

Post by Pansa » Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:14 pm

Billywest wrote: Nope rule does not stay in place
So to reiterate:
You created a rule
You made that rule permanent by clicking the clock to the "off" setting
You closed the browser
And after reopening it the rule was gone despite being set to permanent?

In that case something is broken with your install.
Could you please try in a secondary Firefoy user profile?
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/pr ... x-profiles
, so you saying i need to allow all those for every site i need. ok will see what happens thanks
Some sites have lots of scripts to run depends on what page you enter. Why can't just trust a site like the version before this instead of going through all these steps
I personally never trusted whole pages, and it was never the point of No script for me.
I already had to allow specific script sources on each website, because I never wanted to run all the excessive junk they keep loading.

Yes, some sites have a lot of scripts, but you almost never need more than 4 different sources per page, the rest is mostly ads, tracking, and bullshit resource skimming. That is what No script provides. Tailoring websites to only run things you actually want/need.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

Post Reply