Reset Noscript back to default?

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
kaelsidhe

Reset Noscript back to default?

Post by kaelsidhe » Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:50 pm

I've just installed noscript for the first time and I think I like it but I'm trying to learn how to use it.

My first and largest issue is how to reset noscript back to default configuration. FAQ entry 2.4 says it addresses this question but then it does not actually address it. I've been mucking about trying different things and I'm pretty sure I screwed something (or several somethings) and I just want to revert all Noscript settings back to default. I tried uninstall and reinstalling the addon but that still retained all customizations.

Second, what is the best way to whitelist something? I'm visiting a trusted site and it doesn't work. I hit up Noscript and it lists like 7 different addresses or variations of addresses. I just want to allow everything from this site permanently. If I bring up options then it appears I can manually add all 7 addresses or variations of addresses but surely that cannot be the best way to do it! When I first hit up Noscript I can click the Trusted icon for each entry and that appears to work but it's only temporary. Is there really not a button somewhere to just allow this site permanently? What am I missing?

Thanks in advance for any assistance rendered!
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

User avatar
juozas
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 8:44 am
Location: Lithuania
Contact:

Re: Reset Noscript back to default?

Post by juozas » Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:20 pm

So far as I know, easiest way to reset NoScript configuration is deleting storage-sync.sqlite from your profile folder as long as firefox isn't running.
Сделано в СССР
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Ubuntu; Linux x86_64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

Pansa
Senior Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:30 pm

Re: Reset Noscript back to default?

Post by Pansa » Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:42 pm

kaelsidhe wrote: Second, what is the best way to whitelist something? I'm visiting a trusted site and it doesn't work. I hit up Noscript and it lists like 7 different addresses or variations of addresses. I just want to allow everything from this site permanently. If I bring up options then it appears I can manually add all 7 addresses or variations of addresses but surely that cannot be the best way to do it! When I first hit up Noscript I can click the Trusted icon for each entry and that appears to work but it's only temporary. Is there really not a button somewhere to just allow this site permanently? What am I missing?

Thanks in advance for any assistance rendered!
the ...domain rules include sublevel domains. so allowing ...page.com includes www.page.com and forums.page.com

As for temp rules: there is a clock symbol. If it's solid, you create a temp rule. if it is not, they are permanent.

THe interface on first visiting basically gives you choises.
if you want to JUST allow https://www.google.com you choose that one. If you want to generally allow google, you use ...google.com.

The normal use of Noscript is less about making rules about the page you are on. It is about creating rules where code comes from.
Many sides embed code from other pages, and No script makes rules for those separately.

reading the guide is a good starting point.
Last edited by barbaz on Sat Dec 02, 2017 5:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: kill board-generated links
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7687
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Reset Noscript back to default?

Post by therube » Sat Dec 02, 2017 8:35 pm

Just hit the Reset button.
What, you declare, there is no longer a Reset button?
easiest way to reset NoScript configuration is deleting storage-sync.sqlite from your profile folder
AFAIK, storage-sync.sqlite is not exclusive to NoScript, so by deleting that file, you would also loose any settings any other extensions may have set up in there. (Why there wouldn't, eh, no sense in even asking.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0 SeaMonkey/2.49.2

Pansa
Senior Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:30 pm

Re: Reset Noscript back to default?

Post by Pansa » Sat Dec 02, 2017 8:58 pm

therube wrote: (Why there wouldn't, eh, no sense in even asking.)
The answer would probably be "Because I was busy getting the more important things done and they kept breaking anyway, and then I had to fix that".

As for the storage-sync.sqlite:
A user here was interested in what else would save there, and after loading top (10 iirc) addons as ranked by Mozilla, the tenth one did save something there.

If someone is really running a lot of addons they might want to check into that file with a freeware DB browser for SQlite to make sure.
It's not a complicated file, there is like one table in it, and each tupplet is the whole settings for each addon.

Another method to get rid of a lot of settings is editing the debug log window in the options menu. (But that helps more with getting rid of large chunks of white/blacklist at a time)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

Guest

Re: Reset Noscript back to default?

Post by Guest » Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:39 pm

Using DB Browser for SQLite works very well to reset NoScript settings:
- install or use portable version of DB Browser for SQLite;
- follow Mozilla tutorial on how to locate Firefox profile then close Firefox;
- open storage-symc.sqlite located in the profile root folder with DB Browser for SQLite;
- switch to Browse database tab;
- you may close the right panes so you can make room to adjust table columns size for best visibility;
- find the record that is very similar to what appears in NoScript debug area;
- hit Delete record then save on exit.

Hint: NoScript collection name is default/{73a6fe31-595d-460b-a920-fcc0f8843232} on my system.
This seams to be hardcoded to each extension and probably never changes.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0

Post Reply