NoScript Breaks CAPTCHA and Other Issues

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
jadgate

NoScript Breaks CAPTCHA and Other Issues

Post by jadgate »

First, let me say that I've been using NoScript and a fan for many years. Thanks for all the hard work that has gone into maintaining it over that time.

This notice is to let you know that I am going to stop using it for the following reasons:

1. It breaks (renders non-functional) CAPTCHA on many sites (including this forum registration) REQUIRED for registration. As a near and dear example, you cannot register on to use this site if NoScript is enabled. I find that quite ironic. Please do not tell me to whitelist this site. Whitelisting is only practical if use is limited. If I have to add each site I go to, why do I need NoScript anyway? You are making me work way harder than I should have to. This seems to be a prime example of self defeating security that is so tight it renders the browser useless AND also hampers OTHER NECESSARY security functionality

2. It breaks functionality of many other plugins, most importantly for me, the LastPass plugin I use to manage my credentials in Firefox. Lastpass has many other issues (it is really flakey in syncing across multiple devices) but if I can't copy and paste credentials because of NoScript, it kind of defeats the purpose of having a password manager.

If I were you, I'd strongly suggest addressing these issues - they impact many people beyond me.

Best,

Jim A.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:54.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/54.0
barbaz

Re: NoScript Breaks CAPTCHA and Other Issues

Post by barbaz »

jadgate wrote:This notice is to let you know that I am going to stop using it
Thank you for letting us know.
jadgate wrote:If I were you, I'd strongly suggest addressing these issues
You already solved the issues (your chosen solution being removing NoScript). As such, there is nothing for us to address here.