Drop down menu issues 2.9.5.1

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
Tree
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 8:18 pm

Drop down menu issues 2.9.5.1

Post by Tree » Wed Nov 23, 2016 11:48 pm

I am having issues with drop down menus functioning as expected that started after Noscript updated to 2.9.5.1. Same issue on multiple sites for me personally.

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/query.cgi

For example, the first drop down menu 'Status' works fine, for me, because the drop down menu box appears above where the mouse clicks but the second drop down menu 'Product' automatically registers a click on the drop down menu as also selecting whatever happens to appear when the menu opens. Which in my case is "Android Background Services". I can click on the drop down menu and hold the click, rather than a typical click and immediate release, which then allows me to move the mouse to the up/down slider so I can make my selection. But just clicking the menu drop down arrow automatically opens the menu and immediately registers a click on whatever the menu opens to.

Actually, just using the 'Text Size' drop down menu when typing this post does the same thing (for me). Attempting to click on the arrow to the right of "Normal" both opens the drop down menu and immediately selects either "Large" or "Huge" depending on the position of the mouse when I click the drop down menu arrow.

Same issue doesn't occur with 2.9.0.14 for me personally.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:50.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/50.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9343
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Drop down menu issues 2.9.5.1

Post by barbaz » Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:28 am

I'm not seeing that issue on 2.9.5.1rc1. Does disabling NoScript (Tools > Add-ons Manager > NoScript > Disable > Yes, remove ALL protections) get it working for you?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Tree
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 8:18 pm

Re: Drop down menu issues 2.9.5.1

Post by Tree » Thu Nov 24, 2016 1:02 am

barbaz wrote:Does disabling NoScript (Tools > Add-ons Manager > NoScript > Disable > Yes, remove ALL protections) get it working for you?


Disabling does get it working again. Enabling brings the issue back again.

Since it works for you, any ideas on some other preference or setting that may interact with Noscript that may impact that? Maybe some about:config preference that 2.9.5.1 interacts with that previous versions didn't?

As always barbaz, and other NS volunteers, thank you.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:50.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/50.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9343
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Drop down menu issues 2.9.5.1

Post by barbaz » Thu Nov 24, 2016 1:08 am

Please create a clean profile from scratch. Install only NoScript latest development build, leaving all the defaults.
Does the problem still exist?
If not, what if you then import your NS settings into the clean profile using the Import and Export buttons *on the very bottom* of NS Options?
If that still doesn't reproduce the problem, NoScript is not the culprit... try Standard Diagnostic (leaving NS enabled) to isolate and correct the real cause.

Let us know, thanks.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Tree
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 8:18 pm

Re: Drop down menu issues 2.9.5.1

Post by Tree » Sat Nov 26, 2016 11:45 pm

I think the following might be the cause (unrelated to Noscript).

Apparently when Noscript updated to 2.9.5.1 it enabled the Firefox e10 or multi-process whatever (this is obviously way above my knowledge level) and an about:config preference that never caused an issue previously breaks drop down menus from working now.

Sorry for the false report but thanks for your help.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:50.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/50.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9343
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Drop down menu issues 2.9.5.1

Post by barbaz » Sat Nov 26, 2016 11:50 pm

You're welcome.

Which about:config preference?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Tree
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 8:18 pm

Re: Drop down menu issues 2.9.5.1

Post by Tree » Sun Nov 27, 2016 12:33 am

privacy.resistFingerprinting;true
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:50.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/50.0

Post Reply