[RESOLVED] Have to click scroll bar a second time to move it

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
Galvin
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:29 pm

[RESOLVED] Have to click scroll bar a second time to move it

Post by Galvin » Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:49 pm

Original post.
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3011129&p=14643389#p14643389

To reproduce this all I do is switch to a few other tabs, then go back to the original tab. Try to drag the scrollbar up or down. The first time I try to click the scroller nothing happens. Then I click it a second time and I'm able to drag it up or down.

If I disable noscript the problem goes away. Tested this back and forth quite a few times.

Using firefox 47
Windows 8.1
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.3; Win64; x64; rv:47.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/47.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9305
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Have to click scroll bar a second time to move it

Post by barbaz » Sat Jul 02, 2016 10:05 pm

Thanks for the heads up. I've replied in the mozillaZine thread.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7494
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Have to click scroll bar a second time to move it

Post by therube » Sun Jul 03, 2016 11:18 am

You never stated what other extensions you have.
Do you have "colorful tabs" or something like that?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:43.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/43.0 SeaMonkey/2.40

Galvin
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:29 pm

Re: Have to click scroll bar a second time to move it

Post by Galvin » Sun Jul 03, 2016 10:08 pm

Created a new profile. Installed noscript. Issue didn't happen. Then exported the settings out of noscript from my old profile. Into noscript on the new profile.
Problem still didn't happen.

List of addons
http://prntscr.com/boegsn
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.3; Win64; x64; rv:47.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/47.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9305
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Have to click scroll bar a second time to move it

Post by barbaz » Sun Jul 03, 2016 10:48 pm

OK then this is a extension conflict between NoScript and at least one of your other add-ons. Here's one way to troubleshoot it:

In the new profile, try adding back your extensions, one at a time, until you find the one that causes the issue.
Then remove all the others, pairing only the suspected one with NoScript, to confirm that the remaining one is the issue.
If the problem is solved even with all add-ons reinstalled, then the previous profile was probably corrupt. Problem solved.

If you think you've found the culprit add-on, double-check it by uninstalling it in your main profile, restart Firefox, and see if the issue goes away.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Galvin
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:29 pm

Re: Have to click scroll bar a second time to move it

Post by Galvin » Wed Jul 06, 2016 6:17 am

With a new profile installed all the addons one by one. Problem didn't happen. Probably corrupt profile. Going to have to redo the profile.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.3; Win64; x64; rv:47.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/47.0

Galvin
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:29 pm

Re: Have to click scroll bar a second time to move it

Post by Galvin » Fri Jul 08, 2016 5:37 am

So far I haven't seen the issue since I redid my profile. Lost all my history. And almost all my bookmarks, but had a backup.
Weird how firefox profiles just go bad after X amount of time.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.3; Win64; x64; rv:47.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/47.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9305
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Have to click scroll bar a second time to move it

Post by barbaz » Fri Jul 08, 2016 3:43 pm

If you didn't delete your old Firefox profile yet, it is very likely you can just drop the history & bookmarks into the new profile without the issue returning.
Backup what you have so far, then see http://kb.mozillazine.org/Transferring_data_to_a_new_profile_-_Firefox for how to copy places.sqlite file(s) to the new profile
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Galvin
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:29 pm

Re: Have to click scroll bar a second time to move it

Post by Galvin » Fri Jul 08, 2016 9:24 pm

Too late now. Thanks for the info
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.3; Win64; x64; rv:47.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/47.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9305
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Have to click scroll bar a second time to move it

Post by barbaz » Fri Jul 08, 2016 11:03 pm

You're welcome.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Post Reply