Can't login to chase.com anymore

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post

Can't login to chase.com anymore

Postby lindend » Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:08 am

I'm on Waterfox (aka 64-bit Firefox) 47.0. I've been using Noscript for many years on chase.com without a problem. Within the last few months, whenever I go to chase.com, I get an error message page rather than a login page. chase.com (and all its variants are whitelisted). If I enable scripts globally, I'm able to see the login page. But there are no additional sites to whitelist. If I disable the global enable, the error message page is instantly displayed. Any suggestions on what I can enable to fix this?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:47.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/47.0 Waterfox/47.0
lindend
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:02 am

Re: Can't login to chase.com anymore

Postby barbaz » Wed Jun 22, 2016 5:04 am

Waterfox is not a supported browser, nor is it simply 64-bit Firefox. Does the problem occur on official 64-bit Firefox?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Board search is currently partially broken: https://forums.informaction.com/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=21752
Workaround: use your favorite search engine, add site:forums.informaction.com to your query
-
barbaz
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7775
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Can't login to chase.com anymore

Postby therube » Wed Jun 22, 2016 10:07 am

I get an error message page

?
chase.com (and all its variants are whitelisted).

Which are?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:43.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/43.0 SeaMonkey/2.40
User avatar
therube
Ambassador
 
Posts: 6769
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Can't login to chase.com anymore

Postby lindend » Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:05 pm

The error page says the chase web site is currently unavailable. Call an 800 # etc if you need to speak with someone immediately.

The two chase sites in the whitelist are

chase.com
chasebonus.com
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:47.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/47.0 Waterfox/47.0
lindend
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:02 am

Re: Can't login to chase.com anymore

Postby lindend » Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:09 pm

I just tried it on another machine. The problem only seems to happen once you login once.

The error page is titled "Outage Chase"

We'll be back shortly. Then a whole series of 800 #s if immediate help is required.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:47.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/47.0 Waterfox/47.0
lindend
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:02 am

Re: Can't login to chase.com anymore

Postby lindend » Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:19 pm

barbaz wrote:Waterfox is not a supported browser, nor is it simply 64-bit Firefox. Does the problem occur on official 64-bit Firefox?


The behavior is identical with the official 64-bit Firefox. I get the outage page once I login a single time.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:47.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/47.0
lindend
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:02 am

Re: Can't login to chase.com anymore

Postby gmccollam » Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:26 pm

I have the same problem, it happened when Chase updated their website. I do get the login page, but when loading the website it switches to the outage page. If I allow scripts globally it works, but I don't want to do that.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:47.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/47.0
gmccollam
 

Re: Can't login to chase.com anymore

Postby gmccollam » Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:53 pm

I clicked on the No Script icon, where you can allow globally, and saw the recently blocked sites. Included was chasecdn.com. I clicked allow and now the site works! :D By the way, when I type in a site to whitelist manually, the allow box stays grayed out, whay am I doing wrong?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:47.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/47.0
gmccollam
 

Re: Can't login to chase.com anymore

Postby therube » Wed Jun 22, 2016 3:12 pm

the allow box stays grayed out

Presumably the domain you want to allow (or some variation of it) is already whitelisted.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:43.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.40
User avatar
therube
Ambassador
 
Posts: 6769
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Can't login to chase.com anymore

Postby barbaz » Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:11 pm

gmccollam wrote:I clicked on the No Script icon, where you can allow globally, and saw the recently blocked sites. Included was chasecdn.com. I clicked allow and now the site works! :D

Hmm in that case try NoRedirect configured to block all redirects (Regex: .*, check only "Source") maybe you'll see this extra site in NoScript somewhere along the line?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Board search is currently partially broken: https://forums.informaction.com/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=21752
Workaround: use your favorite search engine, add site:forums.informaction.com to your query
-
barbaz
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7775
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Can't login to chase.com anymore

Postby lindend » Thu Jun 23, 2016 2:52 am

gmccollam wrote:I clicked on the No Script icon, where you can allow globally, and saw the recently blocked sites. Included was chasecdn.com. I clicked allow and now the site works! :D By the way, when I type in a site to whitelist manually, the allow box stays grayed out, whay am I doing wrong?


Adding chasecdn.com worked. Thanks. I didn't think to check on the recently blocked site list. Had assumed it would show on the list of active sites that needed to be enabled.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:47.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/47.0 Waterfox/47.0
lindend
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:02 am

Re: Can't login to chase.com anymore

Postby Straspey » Tue Jul 12, 2016 5:22 pm

I tried logging in to Chase this morning via Firefox 47.01

My first login attempt was looped back to the original login page. After logging in again, I received a page which told me I needed to activate javascript in order to access the website, which I found odd because I uninstalled java years ago and have been getting along quite well without it.

However, I decided to run a test, so I made sure my version of FF and Flash were current, and then downloaded and installed a fresh copy of the latest version of Java for my system. Rebooted and all that - and then tried again to login to Chase.com.

Still no joy.

After speaking with Chase tech support and being told it wasn't their problem, but it was on my end, I remembered that I have NoScript, so I made sure the site was whitelisted - which it was.

I finally went into the Firefox add-ons menu and disabled NoScript -- (later starting FF in safe mode) and that worked and I was able to login to Chase normally.

Then - I ran a Google search for this issue and discovered this thread, and am happy to report that when I added chasecdn.com to the whitelist it solved the problem and I am now able to login. Hopefully this will be of some help to other users who experience this problem.

Many thanks for sharing that solution -- and no thanks to Chase for doing a major update of their website without informing their customers and making us all spend our time figuring it out on our own.

PS - I went back and uninstalled java from my system, and it still works this way.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:47.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/47.0
Straspey
 

Re: Can't login to chase.com anymore

Postby therube » Tue Jul 12, 2016 6:03 pm

I went back and uninstalled java from my system

A smart thing to do.
PS: JavaScript is not Java.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:43.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.40
User avatar
therube
Ambassador
 
Posts: 6769
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Can't login to chase.com anymore

Postby Guest » Wed Jul 13, 2016 12:50 am

therube wrote:PS: JavaScript is not Java.


Yeah - thanks for clarifying that. I was still a bit frazzled this morning when I posted because it was right after having a web support CSR talk to me like a newbie while I was trying to explain the problem. After adding chasecdn.com to the whitelist, the website still loops back to the login page upon my initial attempt, but then accepts the second login attempt and takes me to the page.

Chase has just implemented a total and major upgrade and reconfiguration of their website - so it's not surprising to see this happen. As a smart tech guy from my ISP pointed out - as soon as enough people start calling Chase to complain about this, they'll do something to tweak it on their end.

Glad I found this place, and thanks again for the help and input.
Last edited by barbaz on Wed Jul 13, 2016 12:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: fix missing quote tag
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:47.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/47.0
Guest
 

Re: Can't login to chase.com anymore

Postby therube » Wed Jul 13, 2016 2:24 pm

as soon as enough people start calling Chase to complain about this, they'll do something to tweak it on their end

No they won't, but it sure can't hurt to complain, http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?p=14638259#p14638259.
Actually they might change. But if you don't complain, they never will.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:43.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.40
User avatar
therube
Ambassador
 
Posts: 6769
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA


Return to NoScript Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests