Cannot access a specific url

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
Guest

Cannot access a specific url

Post by Guest » Sun Mar 27, 2016 8:49 pm

I cannot access one specific url unless I completely remove the NoScript extension from Firefox. Disabling NoScript is not enough. Any ideas of what could be causing this?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:39.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/39.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9230
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Cannot access a specific url

Post by barbaz » Sun Mar 27, 2016 8:51 pm

Can't help you there without knowing the URL...
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Guest

Re: Cannot access a specific url

Post by Guest » Sun Mar 27, 2016 10:32 pm

barbaz wrote:Can't help you there without knowing the URL...

The url is http://store.yahoo.com
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:45.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/45.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9230
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Cannot access a specific url

Post by barbaz » Sun Mar 27, 2016 10:50 pm

For me it redirects to https://www.aabacosmallbusiness.com/ecommerce which loads fine...
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Guest

Re: Cannot access a specific url

Post by Guest » Sun Mar 27, 2016 11:06 pm

barbaz wrote:For me it redirects to https://www.aabacosmallbusiness.com/ecommerce which loads fine...

Yes, that's what it should do, but unless I totally remove NoScript from the browser it just times out. I need NoScript to not block http://store.yahoo.com.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:45.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/45.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9230
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Cannot access a specific url

Post by barbaz » Sun Mar 27, 2016 11:07 pm

When this issue occurs, do you see anything related in the Browser Console? (Ctrl-Shift-J)
(if you don't know what's related, turn off CSS warnings and post everything else you see)
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Guest

Re: Cannot access a specific url

Post by Guest » Mon Mar 28, 2016 12:38 am

barbaz wrote:When this issue occurs, do you see anything related in the Browser Console? (Ctrl-Shift-J)
(if you don't know what's related, turn off CSS warnings and post everything else you see)

Got it! The browser console displayed the below.

[NoScript HTTPS] Redirected Channel https://store.yahoo.com/
GET
https://store.yahoo.com/

It looked like NoScript was adding an S to HTTP so I went into options where it says "Never force secure (HTI'PS) connections for the following sites:" and entered store.yahoo.com into the box and now everything is fine.

Thank you very much for your help.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:45.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/45.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9230
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Cannot access a specific url

Post by barbaz » Mon Mar 28, 2016 11:19 am

You're welcome! Image
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7431
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Cannot access a specific url

Post by therube » Mon Mar 28, 2016 11:10 pm

And that sounds like what we went through with (https://) msn.com & NoScript 2.9.0.9 ?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:43.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/43.0 SeaMonkey/2.40

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9230
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Cannot access a specific url

Post by barbaz » Tue Mar 29, 2016 12:03 am

therube wrote:And that sounds like what we went through with (https://) msn.com & NoScript 2.9.0.9 ?

Indeed, yahoo is on the default whitelist & I have noscript.httpsDefWhitelist;false which would explain why I didn't notice any problem. :oops:

'Guest' has come up with IMO the best solution for this specific case, now it's question of whether Giorgio decides changes default settings likewise (or whether for just a redirect page, not worth the potential risk of MITM).
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Post Reply