[RESOLVED] Gecko 42 - mediasource: not listed in NS menu

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9263
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

[RESOLVED] Gecko 42 - mediasource: not listed in NS menu

Post by barbaz » Thu Nov 12, 2015 5:06 pm

SeaMonkey 2.39, Linux x86_64

Is this due to a change in Gecko, or is it a NoScript bug?
Also can someone please check if it's the same in Firefox 42.0?

STR:
1) make sure MSE is eabled and check that with https://www.youtube.com/html5. In my case all listed features are shown as supported
2) go to some youtube video, say https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CbEpfji2P18
3) after getting the video to play, open the NoScript menu

I see no 'mediasource:' listed there, even though the youtube's own "Stats for nerds" says DASH is enabled, resolutions only available via MSE are listed as available, and ABP blockable items shows the video fetched in chunks by XHR (consistent with youtube using MSE).
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Rollo
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:59 am

Re: SM 2.39 - Why is mediasource: not listed in NS menu?

Post by Rollo » Fri Nov 13, 2015 12:44 pm

Debian Stable x86_64, FireFox 42 new clean profile, only noscript installed, default settings.

Code: Select all

http://s27.postimg.org/5yrpw7onn/immagine.jpg

No "mediasource:" and no DASH.

Exact the same with SeaMonkey 2.39
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:42.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/42.0 Iceweasel/42.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9263
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: SM 2.39 - Why is mediasource: not listed in NS menu?

Post by barbaz » Fri Nov 13, 2015 2:07 pm

Guess I wasn't clear with my STR #1.
I do not use default settings for mediasource related stuff.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Rollo
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:59 am

Re: SM 2.39 - Why is mediasource: not listed in NS menu?

Post by Rollo » Fri Nov 13, 2015 3:40 pm

barbaz wrote:Guess I wasn't clear with my STR #1.

I'm sorry, the "default settings" was more likely a misunderstanding of mine... :oops:
barbaz wrote:I do not use default settings for mediasource related stuff.

Me neither.

In FF 42.0, with all the features listed in https://www.youtube.com/html5 supported, there's no "mediasource:" entry in NoScript's menu.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:42.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/42.0 Iceweasel/42.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9263
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: SM 2.39 - Why is mediasource: not listed in NS menu?

Post by barbaz » Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:10 pm

Thanks for checking that.
Any idea why this changed with Gecko 42?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8732
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: Gecko 42 - Why is mediasource: not listed in NS menu?

Post by Giorgio Maone » Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:38 pm

Investigating.
However that's definitely not a NoScript bug, since Gecko appears not to call nsIContentPolicy.shouldLoad() anymore for mediasource: URIs: either they're not invoked at all in Firefox, or some new code is working around content policies on purpose (unlikely) or because of a Firefox bug.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:42.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/42.0

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8732
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: Gecko 42 - Why is mediasource: not listed in NS menu?

Post by Giorgio Maone » Thu Nov 24, 2016 7:33 pm

Fixed in 2.9.5 in a different way (the codec mediatype actually in use are detected).
Last edited by barbaz on Thu Nov 24, 2016 8:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: fix script-caused error :)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:50.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/50.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9263
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] Gecko 42 - mediasource: not listed in NS menu

Post by barbaz » Thu Nov 24, 2016 9:46 pm

Thanks Image
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Post Reply