NoScript causing hang on lloydstsb UK Bank?

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
Barry1

NoScript causing hang on lloydstsb UK Bank?

Post by Barry1 » Thu Aug 20, 2015 1:26 pm

Firefox 40.0.2
Noscript 2.6.9.35

The Lloyds bank problem has returned. Firefox locks up with 100% CPU usage with Noscript installed,

Barry
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:40.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/40.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9230
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] NoScript 2.6.6 issue with lloydstsb UK Bank

Post by barbaz » Thu Aug 20, 2015 5:18 pm

@Barry1: Are you sure it's the same issue & not a different problem with the same site?

Is there crash report URL from about:crashes? (if it doesn't start with "bp-", click it to submit it before posting here)
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Barry1

Re: [RESOLVED] NoScript 2.6.6 issue with lloydstsb UK Bank

Post by Barry1 » Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:33 am

...Sorry, it seems to be a different problem. It only happens with the Lloyds website as far as I know (http://www.lloydsbank.com/). Since FF hangs I don't know how to get any more info on it. The hang occurs when visiting the login page by selecting Business in the drop-down.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:40.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/40.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9230
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: NoScript causing hang on lloydstsb UK Bank?

Post by barbaz » Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:19 am

Split off viewtopic.php?f=7&t=13864 to a new thread so you get proper attention.

After you've got it back working (force killed it or whatever, etc) check about:crashes to see if it generated a crash report during the hang?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7431
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: NoScript causing hang on lloydstsb UK Bank?

Post by therube » Fri Aug 21, 2015 5:38 pm

Definitely a prolonged, high CPU event going on there.
It does eventually resolve itself, but does look like NoScript is interfering.

This is the page that loads: https://onlinebusiness.lloydsbank.co.uk/business/logon/login.jsp?WT.ac=BLO0512. (The Personal link does likewise.)

Looks like the only (2nd level) domain is: lloydsbank.co.uk
And looks like the actual problem comes from the domain: marketing.lloydsbank.co.uk

NoScript 2.6.9.36rc2.

Code: Select all

Hang report for C:\SeaMonkey\seamonkey.exe
Generated by using WhatIsHang on 08/21/2015 01:34:44 PM
Web site: http://www.nirsoft.net


Remarks:
* The program probably hangs because there is an infinite loop, very long loop, or recursive calls.


Strings found in the stack:
''""""''\\``銀ʵ킐ࡴ
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ@¹Ò 
ZZZZZZZۧ

L$(RSPu ÍQWVè •éÿë iRWV蓝éÿ‹ðƒ
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ0
8\$0t/‹D$(‹L$$‹T$,ÿI ;Ãu‹‰A;Ãt^H]‰2À[ƒÄ(ÉA‰^]2À[ƒÄ(Ã8\$0tñ‹D$(‹L$$‹T$,ÿI ;ÃuÙ‹‰A;ÃtÕ^P]‰2
read barrier
L$\QUSVD$Lè@¾ÿÿƒÄëCðPVT$dD$DèéæüÿƒÄŠØL$<èûåüÿŠÃ‹Œ$œ
ZYPSQR‹U‹Mƒùˆ„
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZð


Modules found in the stack:
C:\WLIB\Mozilla\SeaMonkey\xul.dll , Mozilla Foundation , SeaMonkey,
C:\WLIB\Mozilla\SeaMonkey\mozglue.dll , Mozilla Foundation , SeaMonkey,
C:\WLIB\Mozilla\SeaMonkey\nss3.dll , Mozilla Foundation , SeaMonkey,

********************************************************************************
Snapshot number 1
********************************************************************************

ThreadID: 1608


Execute Address:
0A89AA7D

Call Stack:


Stack Data:
0012E004  19E1C001
0012E008  00000031
0012E00C  FFFFD1F3
0012E010  0874D010
0012E014  00000002
0012E018  00000008
0012E01C  033C5800
0012E020  FFFFEF5F
0012E024  FFFFD1F3
0012E028  00000031
0012E02C  19E007E4
0012E030  00000018
0012E034  FFFFD273
0012E038  0B5F8A60
0012E03C  087440E0
0012E040  00000000
0012E044  00002E0C
0012E048  021DBA46  xul.dll+0x160ba46
0012E04C  0012E050
0012E050  19E1C001
0012E054  19E1EE0D
0012E058  00000031
0012E05C  0012E0E0
0012E060  00000000
0012E064  023541A1  xul.dll+0x17841a1
0012E068  087440E0
0012E06C  19883740
0012E070  19E1C001
...



("Event". Heh. That's what the doctors say, "you had an event".)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:36.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.33.1

zcx2015
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 5:23 pm

Re: NoScript causing hang on lloydstsb UK Bank?

Post by zcx2015 » Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:11 pm

This problem still exists.

Using Mint 17.2 x64, Firefox 40.0, NoScript 2.6.9.36.

With NoScript set to allow scripts from lloydsbank(dot)com and lloydsbank(dot)co(dot)uk the browser hangs for up to 45 seconds at the personal banking login page.

After login browser hangs when you try to view a mini-statement. Sometimes you get a message from Firefox saying do you want to save a file. If you say Save you get a zero byte file in ~/Downloads. Tried to post the long file name here but it triggers the spam filter. The file name begins javascript__(function(){...

This unlocks the browser and the page works until you refresh it. Same if you say Cancel.

Tried Allow Scripts Globally; no change. It works with NoScript removed from the browser, which of course I do not want to do!

Same thing happens with the Halifax login page; Halifax is part of Lloyds.

No known problems with any other sites.

I do not know if this is a problem with the site, Firefox or NoScript. But everything worked up until a week or so ago when Lloyds "improved" their site. Around the time that Win10 was released in fact.

Workaround here is to use a separate Firefox profile for Lloyds with AdBlock Plus configured emulate NoSCript i.e. disallow all scripts, but allow scripts from the two Lloyds domains above.

Hope that helps.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:25.6) Gecko/20150723 Firefox/31.9 PaleMoon/25.6.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9230
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: NoScript causing hang on lloydstsb UK Bank?

Post by barbaz » Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:08 pm

therube wrote:And looks like the actual problem comes from the domain: marketing.lloydsbank.co.uk

Hmm I wonder if it's a specific script on that domain causing this & if that script is critical to the functionality of the site?

@zcx2015: since the hang lets up for you, when it happens, is there anything related to NoScript in the Browser Console (Ctrl-Shift-J)?
(if you don't know what's related, turn off CSS warnings & post everything else you see)
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

zcx2015
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 5:23 pm

Re: NoScript causing hang on lloydstsb UK Bank?

Post by zcx2015 » Sat Aug 22, 2015 11:16 am

barbaz wrote:
therube wrote:And looks like the actual problem comes from the domain: marketing.lloydsbank.co.uk

Hmm I wonder if it's a specific script on that domain causing this & if that script is critical to the functionality of the site?

@zcx2015: since the hang lets up for you, when it happens, is there anything related to NoScript in the Browser Console (Ctrl-Shift-J)?
(if you don't know what's related, turn off CSS warnings & post everything else you see)


Scripts from lloydsbank.co.uk are allowed. NoScript does not flag any disallowed scripts from marketing.lloydsbank.co.uk. Does this rule also allow scripts from marketing.lloydsbank.co.uk?

Nothing related to NoScript in the browser console.

I tried a Firefox profile that only loads NoScript i.e. no other add-ons.

top tells me that firefox %CPU > 100% while the page is hung!

I'll stick with the ABP workaround.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:25.6) Gecko/20150723 Firefox/31.9 PaleMoon/25.6.0

thigger
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 9:41 am

Re: NoScript causing hang on lloyds tsb

Post by thigger » Tue Sep 22, 2015 9:42 am

Any news on this?

I'm getting it on Windows 8.1 x64 with Firefox 40.0.3, NoScript 2.6.9.36 and it's a pain

(edit: took me about 10 minutes to get this past the antispam filter - it doesn't like 'bank' in the subject!)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.3; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/45.0.2454.99 Safari/537.36

User avatar
Thrawn
Senior Member
Posts: 3106
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:46 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: NoScript causing hang on lloydstsb UK Bank?

Post by Thrawn » Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:07 am

I can't reproduce it; the only blocked domain is webtrendslive.com, but I'm not seeing a hang. I'm using Firefox 41 on Ubuntu.
======
Thrawn
------------
Religion is not the opium of the masses. Daily life is the opium of the masses.

True religion, which dares to acknowledge death and challenge the way we live, is an attempt to wake up.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Ubuntu; Linux x86_64; rv:41.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/41.0

emteec
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 5:41 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: NoScript causing hang on lloydstsb UK Bank?

Post by emteec » Thu Sep 24, 2015 5:59 am

Also experiencing this problem within Lloyds Bank UK Internet Banking.

Firefox hangs for 10-20 seconds, then returns for about a second, then hangs for a further 10-20 seconds, then download box appears twice asking to download 2 Javascript files.

Download files are empty & filenames are truncated as:

Code: Select all

javascript__(function(){function i(){if(typeof XMLHttpRequest!='undefined'){return new XMLHttpRequest()}try{return new ActiveXObject(_Msxml2.XMLHTTP_)}catch(e){try{return new ActiveXObject(_Microsoft.join(_&_)}function k(a){var b={},d=(a


Code: Select all

javascript__(function(){function i(){if(typeof XMLHttpRequest!='undefined'){return new XMLHttpRequest()}try{return new ActiveXObject(_Msxml2.XMLHTTP_)}catch(e){try{return new ActiveXObject(_Microsoft-1.join(_&_)}function k(a){var b={},d=(a


I am using Windows 10 Pro (64-bit) with Firefox 41.0.0 & NoScript 2.6.9.37rc1 (problem also occurs with latest Stable version). No other Add-ons installed.

It has been happening for about the last 2 weeks.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:41.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/41.0

Martyn

Re: NoScript causing hang on lloydstsb UK Bank?

Post by Martyn » Thu Sep 24, 2015 9:35 am

Hi All,

Just wanted to register that I'm also getting this same problem, have been for a few weeks now.

I normally see it on the account overview page (https://secure.lloydsbank.co.uk/persona ... _personal/), the page loads and display fine, then it locks for around 25 seconds, starts running again for a split second and then locks for another 25 seconds.

Then I receive two "save file" dialogs with the filename and file type corrupted with JavaScript code.

Filename:

Code: Select all

javascript__(function(){function i(){if(typeof XMLHttpRequest!='undefined'){return new XMLHttpRequest()}try{return new ActiveXObject(_Msxml2.XMLHTTP_)}catch(e){try{return new ActiveXObject(_Microsoft.XMLHTTP_)}catch(e){}}}function j(a){if(typeof(a)==_string_)


Here's the network calls from the page load:
Image

After that the page is fine until I reload it.

I'm happy to run any tests if need be.

Regards,
Martyn.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:40.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/40.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9230
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: NoScript causing hang on lloydstsb UK Bank?

Post by barbaz » Thu Sep 24, 2015 3:12 pm

*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

AmA

Re: NoScript causing hang on lloydstsb UK Bank?

Post by AmA » Thu Sep 24, 2015 6:04 pm

As a temporary workaround redirect marketing.lloydsbank.co.uk to 0.0.0.0 (e.g. in "hosts" using Windows: add new line and enter "0.0.0.0 marketing.lloydsbank.co.uk").
The lags are gone and the site functions as normal as far as I can tell.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:41.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/41.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7431
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: NoScript causing hang on lloydstsb UK Bank?

Post by therube » Thu Sep 24, 2015 6:15 pm

I did similar by marking particular full domains as Untrusted, viewtopic.php?p=78952#p78952.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:38.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.35

Post Reply