Page 1 of 2

[RESOLVED] Tab bug...

Posted: Sun May 24, 2015 5:00 am
by eliser
After v 2.6.9.23rc1 update, I have a strange tab behavior when opening links from history?

Image

Re: Tab bug...

Posted: Sun May 24, 2015 10:44 am
by therube
(Note that the .gif is animated, which may or may not display in the forum post? You may have to open it separately.)

Just what are we supposed to be seeing?
New Tab, Connecting, Zine?

And what are we supposed to be seeing, or I suppose not seeing?

Re: Tab bug...

Posted: Sun May 24, 2015 1:32 pm
by eliser
therube wrote:(Note that the .gif is animated, which may or may not display in the forum post? You may have to open it separately.)

Just what are we supposed to be seeing?
New Tab, Connecting, Zine?

And what are we supposed to be seeing, or I suppose not seeing?


Every tab opening twice!
First open "New tab", then reload her self, then open provided link.

This is not Firefox behavior before NoScript update.

Re: Tab bug...

Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 2:33 am
by Guest
I'm experiencing the same "bug", but much worse. Opening a link in a new tab will create a blank "New Tab" which then will repeatedly:
1. Load the web page
2. Turns the tab back into a blank New Tab
3. Loads the URL again and tries to load the web page
4. Turns back into a blank New Tab

More than once per second. Sometimes it loads the page eventually, sometimes it remains a blank New Tab and sometimes it crashes Firefox.

Re: Tab bug...

Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 3:12 am
by therube
> I'm experiencing the same "bug"

That's different, & it is a bug.
(Offhand don't recall which?)
You have some obscure FF Pref set that is causing that.
Try a new, clean Profile & see if the bug persists.

Open about:config
Sort by Status
One of the bolded items is the culprit

Re: Tab bug...

Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 6:02 am
by Gill33
Same bug after last update: New blank tab > Loading > New blank tab > Loading... Repeatedly!
With NoScript disabled, bug gone!

Re: Tab bug...

Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 6:11 am
by barbaz
Please try creating a new, clean profile, and installing NoScript (leaving all defaults), and see if this issue persists there.

Also, can you please post what is the earliest NoScript rc version to exhibit this bug?
Old NoScript @
https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/noscript/versions
*or*
https://noscript.net/feed?t=a

Re: Tab bug...

Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 7:20 am
by eliser
@barbaz I wrote in the first post, after 2.6.9.23rc1 bug appear! In 2.6.9.22.1-signed and lower, everything works like a charm.

Re: Tab bug...

Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 3:08 pm
by barbaz
eliser wrote:@barbaz I wrote in the first post, after 2.6.9.23rc1 bug appear!

Sorry I didn't realize that by "2.6.9.23" you meant "2.6.9.23rc1". I'll edit the OP to indicate that more clearly because "2.6.9.23" implies 2.6.9.23 release and that you haven't tried dev builds.

What are the results of the above suggested clean profile test?

Re: Tab bug...

Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 4:18 pm
by Giorgio Maone
Could you check latest development build 2.6.9.26rc1?
Thank you.

Re: Tab bug...

Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 5:32 pm
by therube
(This is what I was thinking of, Bug 318598 - Support xul directory browsing.)

Re: Tab bug...

Posted: Wed May 27, 2015 7:34 pm
by eliser
2.6.9.26rc1 fix the bug :)

Thank you barbaz & Giorgio Maone.

Re: Tab bug...

Posted: Sat May 30, 2015 4:14 am
by Sall
I had another problem but might be the same, for some pages when I click the allow page temporarily, or just click the noscript icon with the middle mouse wheel button to allow the page, it now turns up with a blank page instead of showing the actual site, then I will have to click the back arrow button in firefox to go back and then use forward button to go back to the page again, it even removes the url from the address bar when showing this blank page so I can't just reload the address, have to go back and forth, very annoying.

Do you think the 2.6.9.26rc1 will fix this for me ? If so I might try it :)

Re: Tab bug...

Posted: Sat May 30, 2015 4:17 am
by barbaz
Sall wrote:Do you think the 2.6.9.26rc1 will fix this for me ? If so I might try it :)

I think there is a "stable release" NoScript 2.6.9.26 available on https://noscript.net/getit so it's definitely worth a try ;)

Re: Tab bug...

Posted: Sat May 30, 2015 4:21 am
by Sall
barbaz wrote:
Sall wrote:Do you think the 2.6.9.26rc1 will fix this for me ? If so I might try it :)

I think there is a "stable release" NoScript 2.6.9.26 available on https://noscript.net/getit so it's definitely worth a try ;)


Thx I will try that right away, I have the 2.6.9.25 version installed now so will try 26 and see if it becomes any better, I will let you know, thx again.

Cheers
Sall