Security Downgrade warning - restore?

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
Oink

Security Downgrade warning - restore?

Post by Oink » Wed Jun 11, 2014 9:26 pm

Hi, looking to restore previous Noscript (2.6.8.28) function after I chose (No, just stop blocking scripts), after trying to find out why photos are heavily jpeg'd on http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsbeat/27794411, from the disable button on the Extension window of the addons window.

The Noscript icon on the toolbar has a red italic exclamation point on it, it didn't before.

Any help appreciated- Firefox 8, Windows 7 Home premium
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:8.0.1) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/8.0.1

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9824
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Security Downgrade warning - restore?

Post by barbaz » Wed Jun 11, 2014 9:33 pm

NoScript menu -> Forbid scripts globally
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0 SeaMonkey/2.30a1

Guest

Re: Security Downgrade warning - restore?

Post by Guest » Wed Jun 11, 2014 9:36 pm

Thanks, I feel humbled.

Any idea why the photos don't show properly?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:8.0.1) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/8.0.1

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9824
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Security Downgrade warning - restore?

Post by barbaz » Wed Jun 11, 2014 9:42 pm

No. Personally I'd just dismiss that as something on their end.

Are you saying that without NoScript, they display in higher resolution?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0 SeaMonkey/2.30a1

Oink

Re: Security Downgrade warning - restore?

Post by Oink » Wed Jun 11, 2014 9:46 pm

Thing is, disabling Noscript didn't help but using IE9 on the same computer, they show OK after a slight pause, they seem to go from low res to normal. I thought that the problem might have something to do with Noscript on Firefox? I don't know, just guessing.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:8.0.1) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/8.0.1

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9824
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Security Downgrade warning - restore?

Post by barbaz » Wed Jun 11, 2014 9:49 pm

Pix display in higher resolution if I temp-allow "bbc.co.uk" and "bbci.co.uk"
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0 SeaMonkey/2.30a1

Oink

Re: Security Downgrade warning - restore?

Post by Oink » Wed Jun 11, 2014 9:57 pm

Interesting, I'd already allowed those, just tried adding 'chartbeat' but again the low res photos remain. It's given me a headache so I'll try again tomorrow, thanks again.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:8.0.1) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/8.0.1

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9824
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Security Downgrade warning - restore?

Post by barbaz » Wed Jun 11, 2014 11:09 pm

It screams "bad site design" that you need JS to load hi-res images which only load *after* low-res versions have also loaded...

Being on Firefox 8.0.1 might have something to do with your issues... don't have a copy of that on hand to test myself, sorry.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0 SeaMonkey/2.30a1

redwolfe_98
Senior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:27 am
Location: South Carolina, USA

Re: Security Downgrade warning - restore?

Post by redwolfe_98 » Wed Jun 18, 2014 2:12 am

barbaz wrote:Pix display in higher resolution if I temp-allow "bbc.co.uk" and "bbci.co.uk"

it's the same for me.. if i allow scripting for "bbc.co.uk" and "bbci.co.uk", the images display fine..

however, it is strange that you have to allow scripting for "bbci.co.uk" in or for the images to display properly.. i have never seen anything like that before..

also..i don't know if it makes a difference, but..i use a lot of custom-rules with "adblock plus" and, in my custom-rules, i have "bbc.co.uk" and "bbci.co.uk" whitelisted.. that is because i have another custom-rule that blocks everything else that ends with ".co.uk"..
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:24.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/24.0

Post Reply