Google Translate webpage translation borking because of weird on-spot generated domains

Ask for help about NoScript, no registration needed to post
Kain Yusanagi

Google Translate webpage translation borking because of weird on-spot generated domains

Post by Kain Yusanagi » Thu Jan 14, 2021 2:44 am

You used to be able to open up a website link through google translate just fine with just allowing the base domain of translate.google.com, but for some time now whenever attempting to load a webpage, it gives a string-of-characters domain name, like the most recent one I've tried to load, "tbshb7dpq5ofwiys2oa44caota--www-nintendo-town-fr.translate.goog", that has to be manually and separately whitelisted every time that page is visited in google translate, as the gibberish code at the start changes every iteration. Unfortunately, it's not linked to any other domains, not even translate.google.com, so it doesn't read my whitelist preferences at all, and ever since the 2017 NoScript 10 update, there's no way to manually add an item to the whitelist only search for a reference in the per-site permissions as far I can see, so I can't just add "*.translate.goog" as an item to allow it. I tried searching for anyone else posting about this but found nothing, so I'm wondering if just no one uses that functionality or something like that.

So, with all that said... how can I fix this so it works properly like it used to? How can I add "*translate.goog" to my whitelist so that I stop having to whitelist it EVERY time I want it to translate a webpage for me?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/87.0.4280.141 Safari/537.36

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9788
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Google Translate webpage translation borking because of weird on-spot generated domains

Post by barbaz » Thu Jan 14, 2021 4:50 am

NoScript Options > Per-site Permissions, manually add

Code: Select all

translate.goog
... and click the green lock.

Not sure why "translate.goog" is considered a TLD. I should research that to try to determine how safe it is to allow it like this.

EDIT Found https://github.com/publicsuffix/list/pull/1107 but it's not clear what are the implications for NoScript users. But I thought Google sanitised the webpage of active content before translating it and serving it? do they still do that? Image
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Kain Yusanagi

Re: Google Translate webpage translation borking because of weird on-spot generated domains

Post by Kain Yusanagi » Thu Jan 14, 2021 4:49 pm

So, my post got eaten about fifteen times when trying to post it because of "antispam" (I assume because I was trying to actually link the goddamn google translate page, tried editing it to make it legible without the link and it eventually just erased my ENTIRE post) and I'll be fucked if I'm going to bother re-writing it all, or with the same politeness. The "add" button is tiny and far to the right, outside the field of view of everything you're actually doing with the page, and that could use some work; same with documentation that you can manually edit it, because I searched for how to manually add stuff in the 2017+ releases for awhile before making this post.

Far as I can see, it either sanitizes or it calls the original scripts from the page. Run any page through google translate and you'll see all the usual scripts listed from the page.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/87.0.4280.141 Safari/537.36

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9788
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Google Translate webpage translation borking because of weird on-spot generated domains

Post by barbaz » Thu Jan 14, 2021 8:47 pm

Kain Yusanagi wrote:
Thu Jan 14, 2021 4:49 pm
So, my post got eaten about fifteen times when trying to post it because of "antispam" (I assume because I was trying to actually link the goddamn google translate page, tried editing it to make it legible without the link and it eventually just erased my ENTIRE post)
(off-topic: This is why I use Form History Control.)
Kain Yusanagi wrote:
Thu Jan 14, 2021 4:49 pm
I'll be fucked if I'm going to bother re-writing it all, or with the same politeness.
The tone of this quote is in violation of Forum Rules (note #4). Your frustration is understandable but please rein it in.
Kain Yusanagi wrote:
Thu Jan 14, 2021 4:49 pm
The "add" button is tiny and far to the right, outside the field of view of everything you're actually doing with the page,
I cannot reproduce this unless my browser window is less than 600px wide.
Kain Yusanagi wrote:
Thu Jan 14, 2021 4:49 pm
The "add" button is tiny and far to the right, outside the field of view of everything you're actually doing with the page, and that could use some work; same with documentation that you can manually edit it, because I searched for how to manually add stuff in the 2017+ releases for awhile before making this post.
These types of problems are supposed to get fixed as part of viewtopic.php?f=10&t=25643 .
Kain Yusanagi wrote:
Thu Jan 14, 2021 4:49 pm
Run any page through google translate and you'll see all the usual scripts listed from the page.
Ugh, can't believe I missed that when I was testing before Image Thanks for the fact check Image

It looks like allowing all of translate.goog has the caveat that you are also allowing all the inline scripts from any page being translated. Unfortunately filtering inline scripts with another tool (uBlock Origin in my case) also breaks the translation, so I'm not sure a good solution for this.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Kain Yusanagi

Re: Google Translate webpage translation borking because of weird on-spot generated domains

Post by Kain Yusanagi » Fri Jan 15, 2021 2:04 am

I actually used to use Lazarus Form Recovery, but that was discontinued in 2017 and none after that ever worked right for me. I'll give that one a try, thanks.

Considering it wasn't directed AT you (the wording makes it seem like it only matters when directed at other users), I figured that just saying it as an idiom, directed at myself, wasn't a violation. That's rather draconian. Not a fan. :/ But, that doesn't mean I won't follow the rules since you've clarified that.

When I said "outside of field of view" I don't mean that it's hidden and I need to scroll, I mean that there's a giant white text bar that never ever gets filled even a fifth of the length when I use it, and there's no information on the right of the bar in the list, either; it's just a giant empty space. https://imgur.com/a/n7EqHBX Here's what I mean. Turns out, by the way, that the antispam filter thing doesn't care if you just post a link directly like this, and it ONLY cares if you try to use the forum-specific url formatting as detailed in the format button when writing the post, for some weird reason?

Looking over that design document... I *really* dislike that intended change to a non-threatening sad worm. *shudder* At least the "saved rules" tab does look like it would resolve that, but considering that was back in 2019 it was last looked at, it's probably going to be awhile, at least. Thanks for letting me know!

I use UBlock Origin as well, using both as a double layered defense, and after manually allowing translate.goog in NoScript, I haven't had any problems even with inline scripts blocked there. https://imgur.com/IxaZvpP Maybe you just don't have translate.googleapis.com and translate.google.com allowed as well? Have to give those permission to run for the translation to work. I also have google.translateusercontent.com and translate.googleapis.com allowed in NoScript as well, just in case that's not something you do.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/87.0.4280.141 Safari/537.36

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9788
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Google Translate webpage translation borking because of weird on-spot generated domains

Post by barbaz » Fri Jan 15, 2021 8:20 pm

Kain Yusanagi wrote:
Fri Jan 15, 2021 2:04 am
When I said "outside of field of view" I don't mean that it's hidden and I need to scroll, I mean that there's a giant white text bar that never ever gets filled even a fifth of the length when I use it, and there's no information on the right of the bar in the list, either; it's just a giant empty space. https://imgur.com/a/n7EqHBX Here's what I mean.
Oh wow, that is hard to see in Chromium. It's not like that in Firefox (on Linux here), it's much more visible in Firefox.
Kain Yusanagi wrote:
Fri Jan 15, 2021 2:04 am
I use UBlock Origin as well, using both as a double layered defense, and after manually allowing translate.goog in NoScript, I haven't had any problems even with inline scripts blocked there. https://imgur.com/IxaZvpP Maybe you just don't have translate.googleapis.com and translate.google.com allowed as well? Have to give those permission to run for the translation to work. I also have google.translateusercontent.com and translate.googleapis.com allowed in NoScript as well, just in case that's not something you do.
I have all of those domains allowed in NoScript. What I did in uBlock Origin was, Dashboard > My filters, add

Code: Select all

||translate.goog^$inline-script
I'm not sure why that would produce different results from using dynamic filtering?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Post Reply