Loading Failed message in Browser Console for Surrogate

Proposals for new surrogate scripts, updates/bug fixes to existing ones, tips and tricks to work around the lazy web.

Loading Failed message in Browser Console for Surrogate

Postby skkukuk » Sat Nov 10, 2018 5:43 pm

I have a surrogate setup for googleapis.com's jquery.min.js - and in the Browser Console, I see this error message:

Loading failed for the <script> with source “https://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.7.1/jquery.min.js”

I am not sure if that messages means my surrogate is not loading properly - or if that message is issued because I have googleapis.com blocked, which is what triggers the surrogate to be loaded. Put another way, is there any way to tell in firefox consoles or logs when a noscript surrogate is being loaded and used?

Background info:

Using Firefox 56.0.2 on Windows 8 with NoScript 5.1.8.4
I have a Deny rule in ABE for: Site .googleapis.com
Surrogate Info:
noscript.surrogate.googleapis171.sources: ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.7.1/jquery.min.js
noscript.surrogate.googleapis171.replacement: file:///C:/DataFiles/FireFoxNoScriptSurrogateFiles/ajax.googleapis.com_ajax_libs_jquery_1.7.1_jquery.min.js

If I put the js itself into the replacement, rather than using a file - the same message is issued.

Thanks for any help!
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0
skkukuk
Junior Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 5:17 pm

Re: Loading Failed message in Browser Console for Surrogate

Postby barbaz » Sat Nov 10, 2018 5:56 pm

The error message means exactly what it says, i.e. the URL "https://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.7.1/jquery.min.js" failed to load. If you are using a local surrogate for this script, that's exactly what you want to happen, isn't it? Your surrogate script is set up to run in place of the real script when the real script is blocked, so you want the script to fail to load, so that your surrogate kicks in and is used instead, see? :)

BTW, your NoScript is outdated. Please upgrade to latest NoScript Classic from https://noscript.net/getit (5.1.9 at time of writing).
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Board search is currently partially broken: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=21752
Workaround: use your favorite search engine, add site:forums.informaction.com to your query
-
barbaz
Senior Member
 
Posts: 8724
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Loading Failed message in Browser Console for Surrogate

Postby skkukuk » Sat Nov 10, 2018 6:38 pm

Thanks for fast reply! That is what I was hoping the message meant, so now I will move on to the next level of debugging. Also, thank you for letting me know my NS is not up to date. I will update later this weekend.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0
skkukuk
Junior Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 5:17 pm


Return to NoScript Surrogates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests