Page 1 of 1

NoScript on FF mobile permanently whitelist temporary scripts.

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2020 12:00 am
by SuperSapien64
NoScript on Firefox for Android is permanently whitelisting temporary scripts. I noticed this bug for the past week or two.

Re: NoScript on FF mobile permanently whitelist temporary scripts.

Posted: Thu Dec 24, 2020 4:48 pm
by SuperSapien64
Let me better explain whenever I temporally allow a script to go through for NoScript on Firefox for Android it shows it set for temporary but when I close my browser and open it again and go to site where I temporally allowed a script to go through its still being allowed to go through even though when I go to the settings for NS it says temporary for the given script(s).
This very strange behavior, the desktop version doesn't have this bug. So why on FF for Android? :?:

Re: NoScript on FF mobile permanently whitelist temporary scripts.

Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2020 10:48 am
by Mad_Man_Moon
I can test this now ... These tests aren't here to disprove, rather to assist with any troubleshooting done on this issue. Only done it cos I'm bored in bed ;-) and didn't want it to happen to me!

This is all on my setup, so ymmv, here is said setup:
  • Galaxy Tab S4
  • Android 9
  • noscript 11.1.7
  • HTTPS everywhere
  • All privacy at strictest
  • Latest version of new Nightly, obviously not on old.
  • Latest version of standard Firefox.
  • Latest version of tor
OK.

For all of these mozilla.org was either permanently or temporarily allowed, also.

Using the Mozilla discourse I didn't have their node in my whitelist, so...
New Nightly
  1. Temporarily allowed the following in a private tab:

    Code: Select all

    cdn.discourse-prod.itsre-apps.mozit.cloud
  2. Closed all private tabs.
  3. It wasn't in the noscript per site settings at all.
  4. Unloaded Nightly from currently running apps.
  5. Opened fresh.
  6. Still not there.
So working as designed in nuNightly. 👍


Old Nightly
Unable to test, because one can't return sessions in old nightly without it crashing in loops.


Standard Android Firefox
  1. Temporarily allowed the following in a private tab:

    Code: Select all

    cdn.discourse-prod.itsre-apps.mozit.cloud
  2. Closed all private tabs.
  3. It wasn't in the noscript per site settings at all.
  4. Unloaded FF from currently running apps.
  5. Opened fresh.
  6. Still not there.
So working as designed in Standard Firefox. 👍


tor
  1. Temporarily allowed the following in a private tab:

    Code: Select all

    cdn.discourse-prod.itsre-apps.mozit.cloud
  2. Closed all tabs.
  3. Unloaded tor from currently running apps.
  4. Opened fresh.
  5. Not there.
So working as designed in tor. 👍

Re: NoScript on FF mobile permanently whitelist temporary scripts.

Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2020 3:55 am
by SuperSapien64
Well that's very strange Mad_Man_Moon because I tried this also on my old Samsung phone (Galaxy S8 Android version 9) and I ran into a similar bug on Firefox for Android I believe it was saving temporary scripts but also if I ran FF on Android in a private window add-ons would be disabled where as on my Samsung Galaxy S20 add-ons work just fine in a private window but regardless if I'm in a private window or not NS is not resetting temporary scripts.
On both my Samsung Galaxy S8 and S20 I have the following add-ons installed in FF.

Ublock Origin
Privacy Badger
HTTPS Everywhere
and of course NoScript.

And the version of FF I'm using is version 84.1.2

Re: NoScript on FF mobile permanently whitelist temporary scripts.

Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2020 8:00 pm
by SuperSapien64
Oops the reason my add-ons we're disabled on my Samsung Galaxy S8 in FF private window was because I forgot to allow them to under add-ons settings. Anyway everything works just fine on my Galaxy S8 NS isn't freezing temporary scripts. This only happens on my Samsung Galaxy S20 running Android version 11. I'm not sure why NS works fine on my Galaxy S8 but not my Galaxy S20.

Re: NoScript on FF mobile permanently whitelist temporary scripts.

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2020 3:41 pm
by Mad_Man_Moon
Hrm ... Well ... Hope you figure it out. :(

Have you considered trying a different version of FF (beta, nightly, or TOR), and test this functionality (enabled in private, obvs) ...
  1. first of all with only NS installed.
  2. then with another extension
  3. uninstall that, try another, etc
  4. then try bundling them together?
Also, whilst you're at it (and totally no need to answer), but do you get weird interaction with the GBoard, if you use that keyboard in FF Mobile?

Re: NoScript on FF mobile permanently whitelist temporary scripts.

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2020 10:38 pm
by SuperSapien64
Mad_Man_Moon wrote:
Wed Dec 30, 2020 3:41 pm
Hrm ... Well ... Hope you figure it out. :(

Have you considered trying a different version of FF (beta, nightly, or TOR), and test this functionality (enabled in private, obvs) ...
  1. first of all with only NS installed.
  2. then with another extension
  3. uninstall that, try another, etc
  4. then try bundling them together?
Also, whilst you're at it (and totally no need to answer), but do you get weird interaction with the GBoard, if you use that keyboard in FF Mobile?
Is it possible to have both standard Firefox and beta installed at the same time without them interfering with each other? :?:

Re: NoScript on FF mobile permanently whitelist temporary scripts.

Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2021 10:58 pm
by SuperSapien64
I tried FF beta and I'm not having any issues with NoScrpt so far, temp scripts aren't freezing. :D
So hopefully the next stable release of Firefox will fix this issue with NS.
Also I don't use GBoard I use AnySoftKeyboard sorry I can't see any bugs with that keyboard since I don't use it. :geek:

Re: NoScript on FF mobile permanently whitelist temporary scripts.

Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2021 12:00 am
by SuperSapien64
Well I think figured it out on Firefox Beta I managed to reproduce the same by going to NS settings and tap on per-site permissions and export at the time it gets stuck in a buffer loop so I have to close the browser and reopen Firefox then usually this triggers the bug where temp scripts get frozen, and the only to fix it is to uninstall and reinstall Firefox pressing the reset button in NS does nothing. :(