[Resolved] Asus Router Protection Being Blocked

Discussions about the Application Boundaries Enforcer (ABE) module
marklang
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 4:50 pm

[Resolved] Asus Router Protection Being Blocked

Post by marklang » Sat Oct 01, 2016 5:05 pm

I have a new Asus RT-AC88U router that has built in protection from Trend Micro for malicious website detection and several other features. This is on many higher end Asus routers. The problem I just ran into is that,when it detects a malicious link, it replaces the fetched IP in Firefox with a local page that displays a warning message. NoScript sees this as bad behavior (as it should normally). The message I get is:

Code: Select all

Request {GET http://192.168.1.1/blocking.asp?cat_id=79 <<< http://mirror2.internetdownloadmanager.com/idman626build7.exe?b=1&filename=idman626build7.exe - 6} filtered by ABE: <LOCAL> Deny


Obviously, normally such a substitution would be a problem, but I want to allow it in this case. I am having trouble understanding the language that is used to set up rules to allow this. Based on some things in the forum, I tried adding these statements at the top of the SYSTEM rules on the ABE page

Site 192.168.1.1
Accept from SELF+

That did not fix the problem. I am not really sure. If someone could suggest the exact language, that would be appreciated. Thanks.

Mark
Last edited by barbaz on Sat Oct 01, 2016 5:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: resolved
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:49.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/49.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9781
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Asus Router Protection Being Blocked

Post by barbaz » Sat Oct 01, 2016 5:08 pm

add at the very top of SYSTEM

Code: Select all

Site ^https?://192\.168\.1\.1/blocking\.asp\?
Accept
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

marklang
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 4:50 pm

Re: Asus Router Protection Being Blocked

Post by marklang » Sat Oct 01, 2016 5:18 pm

Thank you so much, Barbaz. I would have never figured that out. It works fine. I will also post this on the Asus forum for others to find.

Mark
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:49.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/49.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9781
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Asus Router Protection Being Blocked

Post by barbaz » Sat Oct 01, 2016 5:21 pm

You're welcome! Image
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Post Reply