[solved] Missing WAN IP in ABE

Discussions about the Application Boundaries Enforcer (ABE) module

[solved] Missing WAN IP in ABE

Postby yes_noscript » Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:09 pm

Dont know why but NoScript 5.0.6 and 5.0.8.1 doesnt any show me my WAN IP.
I only get that as message in error console:
[ABE WAN] WAN IP not detected!


I use Pale Moon. But it works fine in past
Last edited by yes_noscript on Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:45.9) Gecko/20100101 Goanna/3.2 Firefox/45.9 PaleMoon/27.4.1
yes_noscript
Senior Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Missing WAN IP in ABE

Postby barbaz » Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:16 pm

Works fine for me in Pale Moon 27.4.1, NoScript 5.0.9rc1, new profile.

What happens if you browse directly to https://secure.informaction.com/ipecho/?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Board search is currently partially broken: https://forums.informaction.com/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=21752
Workaround: use your favorite search engine, add site:forums.informaction.com to your query
-
barbaz
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6950
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Missing WAN IP in ABE

Postby yes_noscript » Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:02 am

Got it.
Pi-Hole blocked it.

Thanks for the hit!
I also wonder if showing the IP is necessary. ABE seems working without
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:45.9) Gecko/20100101 Goanna/3.2 Firefox/45.9 PaleMoon/27.4.1
yes_noscript
Senior Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: [solved] Missing WAN IP in ABE

Postby barbaz » Fri Aug 11, 2017 3:37 pm

yes_noscript wrote:Thanks for the hit!

You're welcome! Image

yes_noscript wrote:I also wonder if showing the IP is necessary. ABE seems working without

The only difference is that since ABE doesn't know your WAN IP, it can't treat your WAN IP as LOCAL, and so you lose this protection - https://noscript.net/abe/wan/
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Board search is currently partially broken: https://forums.informaction.com/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=21752
Workaround: use your favorite search engine, add site:forums.informaction.com to your query
-
barbaz
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6950
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: [solved] Missing WAN IP in ABE

Postby yes_noscript » Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:06 pm

barbaz wrote:
yes_noscript wrote:I also wonder if showing the IP is necessary. ABE seems working without

The only difference is that since ABE doesn't know your WAN IP, it can't treat your WAN IP as LOCAL, and so you lose this protection - https://noscript.net/abe/wan/

Thanks for the reminder!
Last edited by barbaz on Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: fix malformed quote tag
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:45.9) Gecko/20100101 Goanna/3.2 Firefox/45.9 PaleMoon/27.4.1
yes_noscript
Senior Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 6:52 pm


Return to ABE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest