Page 1 of 1

user agent changer

Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 6:29 pm
by morganism
ii used a generic user agent string , but was looking for a changer.

this looks pretty good , anyone care to look it over ?

https://github.com/dillbyrne/random-agent-spoofer/

Re: user agent changer

Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:07 pm
by barbaz
Nice tip. Looks interesting. Think I'll give it a try. :twisted:

You can test how effective it really is with http://whichbrowser.net/

Re: user agent changer

Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 10:12 pm
by therube
about:config
(create, string) general.useragent.override

Re: user agent changer

Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:25 pm
by barbaz
therube wrote:about:config
(create, string) general.useragent.override

That's OK for working around stupid user-agent sniffing scripts and for impersonating a different Gecko-based browser (but *not* necessarily spoofing even just your OS), but for anything much beyond that it's actually very possible to check if the user-agent is being faked. I was hoping this addon would provide extra functionality to make it basically impossible to detect whether my UA is fake - and while its blanking certain window.navigator properties certainly helps, it does not seem to do quite enough to fool crazy scripts like WhichBrowser that also check HTTP headers in detail. :(

Re: user agent changer

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 1:37 am
by GµårÐïåñ
You can do it manually but I personally use a customized source built version of Random Agent Spoofer with a few extras and it works great. Its just to avoid UA based tracking and sniffing but that's about it. Privacy through obscurity.

Re: user agent changer

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 2:58 am
by barbaz
@GµårÐïåñ: Have you had any luck getting RAS to work in SeaMonkey? I'm not familiar with the addon SDK at all, but it seems that OOB this addon is using at least one part of the addon SDK that requires Firefox, so simply changing compatibility in install.rdf won't do the job. Is there a "not-too-hard" fix to get SeaMonkey compatibility, or would I be better off using dbyrne's database with some custom addon I make from scratch?

Re: user agent changer

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 3:33 am
by GµårÐïåñ
I am sorry, I don't use SeaMonkey, I have never seen the point given how I have set myself up.
I know @therube uses it, maybe can advise you on that?
However that being said, I don't see anything in the code that would make it not work on SM.

Re: user agent changer

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:37 am
by therube
Give the extension a spin through Firefox & Thunderbird Add-on Converter for SeaMonkey & see what it comes up with.

Re: user agent changer

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 2:57 pm
by barbaz
Thanks for the suggestion, but unfortunately, that did not modify the addon to not use Firefox-specific addon SDK modules.

ETA Looks like I really will have to make my own addon to get this functionality in SeaMonkey:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?p=13566887#p13566887 wrote:Yeah, however there's a growing number of FF extensions made with an addon SDK and I can't port them to SeaMonkey and I've read they cannot be - still, I haven't investigated this any deeper. I'm not happy of FF using some proprietary technologies since I would like those extensions to be SM-portable as well!