[resolved]Need to request NoScript xpi twice from informacti

General discussion about web technology.
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Need to request NoScript xpi twice from informaction.com

Post by barbaz »

therube wrote:> user_pref("dom.disable_window_open_feature.location", true);
nope :(
(EDIT Apparently that is set in my user.js too)
therube wrote:(And there is a "seer" Pref in there that I'm pretty sure is deprecated.)
That one is set in my user.js, which is definitely not part of the problem.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 Gecko/20100101
User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7929
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Need to request NoScript xpi twice from informaction.com

Post by therube »

FWIW (my last two downloads):

Code: Select all

10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.245 Connecting to secure.informaction.com:443
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.260 Connecting to 69.195.141.179:443
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.338 Connected.
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.338 Establishing SSL session.
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.604 GET /download/betas/noscript-2.6.9.3rc3.xpi HTTP/1.1
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.604 Accept: */*
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.604 Referer: https://secure.informaction.com/download/betas/noscript-2.6.9.3rc3.xpi
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.604 User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.0; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.604 Host: secure.informaction.com
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.604 Connection: Keep-Alive
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.635 Pragma: no-cache
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.635 Cache-Control: no-cache
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.682 HTTP/1.1 200 OK
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.682 Date: Mon, 27 Oct 2014 13:59:31 GMT
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.682 Server: Apache
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.682 Last-Modified: Thu, 23 Oct 2014 22:05:44 GMT
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.682 ETag: "e74074c-848d0-440c5e00"
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.682 Accept-Ranges: bytes
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.682 Content-Length: 542928
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.682 Strict-Transport-Security: max-age=157680001
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.682 Connection: close
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.682 Content-Type: application/x-xpinstall
10/27/2014 09:59:34 AM.698 Start receiving data.
10/27/2014 09:59:35 AM.370 Finished at 542928

Code: Select all

10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.260 Connecting to secure.informaction.com:443
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.276 Connecting to 69.195.141.179:443
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.338 Connected.
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.338 Establishing SSL session.
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.932 GET /download/betas/flashgot-1.5.6.8rc1.xpi HTTP/1.1
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.932 Accept: */*
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.932 Referer: https://secure.informaction.com/download/betas/flashgot-1.5.6.8rc1.xpi
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.932 User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.0; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.932 Host: secure.informaction.com
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.932 Connection: Keep-Alive
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.932 Pragma: no-cache
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.932 Cache-Control: no-cache
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.995 HTTP/1.1 200 OK
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.995 Date: Mon, 27 Oct 2014 13:59:37 GMT
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.995 Server: Apache
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.995 Last-Modified: Wed, 15 Oct 2014 19:54:41 GMT
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.995 ETag: "e74074b-5fed0-80a58240"
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.995 Accept-Ranges: bytes
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.995 Content-Length: 392912
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.995 Strict-Transport-Security: max-age=157680001
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.995 Connection: close
10/27/2014 09:59:40 AM.995 Content-Type: application/x-xpinstall
10/27/2014 09:59:41 AM.010 Start receiving data.
10/27/2014 09:59:47 AM.510 Finished at 392912
For the actual "install" I use a batch file:

Code: Select all

@echo off

cp -p -i noscript*.xpi abc
move abc {73a6fe31-595d-460b-a920-fcc0f8843232}.xpi
echo Copied noscript.xpi to {...3232).xpi
echo.
pause

cp -p -i flashgot*.xpi abc
move abc {19503e42-ca3c-4c27-b1e2-9cdb2170ee34}.xpi
echo Copied flashgot.xpi to {...ee34).xpi
echo.
pause

cp -p -i {73a6fe31-595d-460b-a920-fcc0f8843232}.xpi C:\Mozilla\therube\extensions\
cp -p -i {73a6fe31-595d-460b-a920-fcc0f8843232}.xpi C:\Mozilla\RX\extensions\
move     {73a6fe31-595d-460b-a920-fcc0f8843232}.xpi L:\XFER\NETT\Mozilla
move     noscript*.xpi                              L:\XFER\NETT\Mozilla
echo Updated NoScript /extensions/: therube & RX
echo   Moved NoScript to: /LIB/
echo.
pause

cp -p -i {19503e42-ca3c-4c27-b1e2-9cdb2170ee34}.xpi C:\Mozilla\therube\extensions\
cp -p -i {19503e42-ca3c-4c27-b1e2-9cdb2170ee34}.xpi C:\Mozilla\RX\extensions\
move     {19503e42-ca3c-4c27-b1e2-9cdb2170ee34}.xpi L:\XFER\NETT\Mozilla
move     flashgot*.xpi                              L:\XFER\NETT\Mozilla
echo Updated FlashGot /extensions/: therube & RX
echo   Moved FlashGot to: /LIB/
echo.
pause

exit
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:32.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.29.1
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Need to request NoScript xpi twice from informaction.com

Post by barbaz »

Downloading an xpi isn't an issue (that works as expected), it's trying to install it by clicking on a link inside SeaMonkey.

I've got a couple more ideas of things I can try, just for information..
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 Gecko/20100101
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Need to request NoScript xpi twice from informaction.com

Post by barbaz »

Copying Palemoon's prefs.js to SeaMonkey 2.27a2 (which I *know* worked fine for me before).. broken...
Copying the (bad) SeaMonkey prefs.js to Palemoon.. works :?:

Next chance I get to get on irc/#seamonkey I'm gonna ask about this, that's the place where I've had best luck getting answers for my weirdest SeaMonkey issues - and I'm not happy that stuff in my primary (highly customized) profile has something weirdly wrong with it that I don't understand, and I don't want to start over with a new profile / reconfigure everything from scratch and find it's broken again in exactly the same way.
Thanks to those here who tried to help.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 Gecko/20100101
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Need to request NoScript xpi twice from informaction.com

Post by barbaz »

Well, thanks to RattyAway I've found out that it's (at least partially) related to my choice to force HTTP Cache v2 APIs
browser.cache.use_new_backend
(which doesn't have any effect in PaleMoon thus why it works fine there)
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 Gecko/20100101
User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7929
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Need to request NoScript xpi twice from informaction.com

Post by therube »

> force HTTP Cache v2 APIs

Is that different from "just using" /cache2/ (which is the default now anyhow)?
Or are there specific Prefs that you've changed?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.30
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Need to request NoScript xpi twice from informaction.com

Post by barbaz »

therube wrote:> force HTTP Cache v2 APIs

Is that different from "just using" /cache2/
Yes.. I'm on SeaMonkey "2.28.2-unofficial-1" aka Gecko 31.2 where cache2 is not the default, and I've manually set browser.cache.use_new_backend to 1 (which I don't think is the default in SeaMonkey 2.29.1? haven't used 2.30 as my "everyday" browser, so can't say about that).

Any ideas how to get this working without reverting to the old HTTP cache? I vastly prefer the new cache for use by extensions.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 Gecko/20100101
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Need to request NoScript xpi twice from informaction.com

Post by barbaz »

"Bad" prefs.js created from a clean profile (requested on IRC):

Code: Select all

[deleted]
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 Gecko/20100101
User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7929
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Need to request NoScript xpi twice from informaction.com

Post by therube »

Did I do this correctly?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3rgcO ... sp=sharing
(2 MB or so)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.30
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Need to request NoScript xpi twice from informaction.com

Post by barbaz »

Can't tell - the doorhanger notifications are completely missing in the video...

I'll try to make a video of what I see (in the test profile) and send a link by PM.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:21.0) Gecko/20130401 Firefox/21.0
User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7929
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Need to request NoScript xpi twice from informaction.com

Post by therube »

> Is this what you saw?

No.
I do not need to Cancel, then re-initiate at the Addon Downloading part.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0 SeaMonkey/2.30
User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7929
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Need to request NoScript xpi twice from informaction.com

Post by therube »

With doorhanger:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3rgcO ... sp=sharing
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0 SeaMonkey/2.30
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Need to request NoScript xpi twice from informaction.com

Post by barbaz »

Oh. You need to go into the data manager and always allow flashgot.net to install add-ons, otherwise yeah you might not see the problem.
about:data > * > Permissions > Add
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:18.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/18.0
User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7929
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Need to request NoScript xpi twice from informaction.com

Post by therube »

The .xpi download does not even go into /cache2/ but instead into %TMP%.

> E:\Users\RUBEN\AppData\Local\Temp\tmp-u7e.xpi

Exists only until you dismiss the dialog or complete the install.

The XPI download goes into %TMP%, not /cache2/:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3rgcO ... sp=sharing

And the install:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3rgcO ... sp=sharing
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0 SeaMonkey/2.30
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Need to request NoScript xpi twice from informaction.com

Post by barbaz »

OK wait, so you can't reproduce the issue even with the test prefs.js above and the install add-ons permission set (in an otherwise clean profile)?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Konqueror/4.1; DragonFly) KHTML/4.1.4 (like Gecko)
Post Reply