Mozilla Firefox to force its own DNS?

General discussion about web technology.

Re: Mozilla Firefox to force its own DNS?

Postby GµårÐïåñ » Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:35 pm

My takeaway is that he prefers people use the other projects that now he is also relying on as anything he does to "update" his end will just be a bandaid, as in why not just use what the underlying system directly instead. That's all. He seems to prefer the more actively maintained projects as a source point. Whether or not they meet your needs, a la router implementations, are beyond the scope of my inquiry or involvement to find out. You can refer to the repositories listed, I believe the main one being SimpleDNSCrypt and go from there.
~.:[ Lï£ê ï§ å Lêmðñ åñÐ Ì Wåñ† M¥ Mðñê¥ ßå¢k ]:.~
________________ .: [ Major Mike's ] :. ________________
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:56.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/56.0
User avatar
GµårÐïåñ
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 3302
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:19 am
Location: PST - USA

Re: Mozilla Firefox to force its own DNS?

Postby kukla » Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:56 pm

Looks like I should probably contact him directly to ask about the current state of his DNSCrypt. Doesn't look like I can use the "simple" version (writing it this way because the real name kicks off the overly sensitive anti-spam filter.)

Shouldn't need to reference this thread, but if I do is that OK with you? And/or can I just chime in directly at the thread you linked?

Btw, he seems to be a genuine advocate of privacy.
Mozilla/5.0 (iPad; CPU OS 9_3_5 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/601.1.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/9.0 Mobile/13G36 Safari/601.1
kukla
Senior Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 12:08 am

Re: Mozilla Firefox to force its own DNS?

Postby GµårÐïåñ » Wed Apr 11, 2018 10:25 pm

It is always fine with me. What I say publicly is always fair game.
You can pickup on that existing conversation, that would help me stay informed but that's entirely up to you.
I have no reason to doubt his intentions are sincere and his efforts are genuine.
~.:[ Lï£ê ï§ å Lêmðñ åñÐ Ì Wåñ† M¥ Mðñê¥ ßå¢k ]:.~
________________ .: [ Major Mike's ] :. ________________
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:56.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/56.0
User avatar
GµårÐïåñ
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 3302
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:19 am
Location: PST - USA

Re: Mozilla Firefox to force its own DNS?

Postby kukla » Sun Apr 22, 2018 3:15 pm

Sorry, a little late getting back to this, but for the benefit of anyone who was concerned about whether to use, or continue to use, DNSCrypt.eu for DNS resolution. The site may have been left to languish, but the service itself is still supported:

Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.12; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0
kukla
Senior Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 12:08 am

Re: Mozilla Firefox to force its own DNS?

Postby barbaz » Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:02 pm

Back to Firefox using its own DNS, I happened on instructions for how to disable it -
https://blog.nightly.mozilla.org/2018/06/01/improving-dns-privacy-in-firefox/ wrote:1] Type about:config in the location bar

2] Search for network.trr (TRR stands for Trusted Recursive Resolver – it is the DoH Endpoint used by Firefox.)

3] Change network.trr.mode to [...] 5 to disable DoH under all circumstances.)


Some more information on the possible values of that pref -
https://dxr.mozilla.org/mozilla-central/rev/c291143e24019097d087f9307e59b49facaf90cb/modules/libpref/init/all.js#5414 wrote:// 0 - default off, 1 - race, 2 TRR first, 3 TRR only, 4 shadow, 5 off by choice
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
Board search is currently partially broken: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=21752
Workaround: use your favorite search engine, add site:forums.informaction.com to your query
-
barbaz
Senior Member
 
Posts: 8676
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Mozilla Firefox to force its own DNS?

Postby GµårÐïåñ » Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:06 pm

Has anyone noticed how much and how aggressively Mozilla has been going the was of Google tracking everything and Microsoft getting tons of telemetry and doing all kind of Facebook like experiments on their users and often without notice. Most of them you can disable, but they shouldn't be on by default, it should always be opt-in not opt-out and some of it you outright can't do squat about. They are trying too hard to be like everyone else while always using "security of our users" as a justification to do exactly what others do with no proof that they are doing any less with it than they are. This just further feeds into that scheme.
~.:[ Lï£ê ï§ å Lêmðñ åñÐ Ì Wåñ† M¥ Mðñê¥ ßå¢k ]:.~
________________ .: [ Major Mike's ] :. ________________
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; rv:62.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/66.0
User avatar
GµårÐïåñ
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 3302
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:19 am
Location: PST - USA

Re: Mozilla Firefox to force its own DNS?

Postby therube » Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:28 pm

Yes.
IMO they're following MS's playbook to a T.

Look around these parts.
I've posted some rants of late about Mozilla ;-).


Palemoon: Is Mozilla's new DNS feature really dangerous?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.49.5
User avatar
therube
Ambassador
 
Posts: 7159
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Previous

Return to Web Tech

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest