spam accounts

Discussion about the board itself, forums organization and site bugs.
MiG

spam accounts

Post by MiG »

http://forums.informaction.com/memberli ... le&u=60968

Received a spam PM from this user earlier this year, but apparently the account still exists, and part of his payload is still in his signature (presumably to boost his pagerank). Ditto for the latest registered user below, cfr his 'occupation' and ditto website:

http://forums.informaction.com/memberli ... le&u=79137

You may want to either downright ban/delete them, or strip their payloads and block those user fields.

PS. I've been using the StopForumSpam plugin for vBulletin for about four years and it's cut down bogus registrations to a minimum. As apparently a version for PHP bb exists, perhaps this would help reduce them here as well.

PPS. "PHP bb" without the space in the middle very strangely triggers a *posting* spam filter?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:17.0) Gecko/17.0 Firefox/17.0
therube
Ambassador

Re: spam accounts

Post by therube »

The user was banned, as early as March 25, 2012.
Banned accounts do remain, though should be ineffectual.
His signature & whatnot should also be ineffective as bots are not able to view member profile data at all, so he (no one) gets anything out of links posted there.
As far as "others" posting similarly, yes that is an ongoing & growing situation.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:19.0) Gecko/19.0 Firefox/19.0 SeaMonkey/2.16a2
richbuff

Post by richbuff »

Firefox current version, and only two extensions, and one of them is NoScript :)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.2; WOW64; rv:18.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/18.0
Tom T.
Field Marshal

Post by Tom T. »

No public spam posts, so could you please forward the spam PM to therube, Thrawn, Giorgio, and me, and whoever gets it first will ban them? Thanks.