[Resolved] FlashGot media button can't be moved?

Bug reports and enhancement requests
FrillyBits
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 10:03 am

Re: FlashGot media button can't be moved?

Post by FrillyBits » Tue Dec 04, 2012 7:05 am

The situation described above of the icon not 'sticking' to the Add-On Bar (returns to Navigation Bar) was fixed but has returned in version 1.5

Thanks in advance :)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:16.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/16.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7516
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: FlashGot media button can't be moved?

Post by therube » Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:09 pm

Barış Manço - Gülpembe

WFM in FF 16.0.2 & 17.0.1 with FlashGot 1.5rc2.
(I moved the FlashGot Media icon up to the Menu bar, by Help.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:19.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/19.0 SeaMonkey/2.16a2

FrillyBits
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 10:03 am

Re: FlashGot media button can't be moved?

Post by FrillyBits » Wed Dec 05, 2012 2:13 am

Thanks for the reply :)
I have the Menu Bar, Bookmarks Bar and Add-On Bar hidden because....
FrillyBits wrote:I use a NetBook and space is important, my Navigation Toolbar is already filled up with Bookmarks (so I don't need to use the Bookmarks Toolbar) and using the Add-On Bar hide/unhide gives me some extra screen space as well.

This is the situation that has returned....
FrillyBits wrote:If the Add-On Bar is not hidden and I close FireFox then the Media icon will stick to the Add-On Bar
If the Add-On Bar is hidden (this is normal for me) and I close FireFox then the Media icon will go back to the Navigation Toolbar. This happens even if I raise the Add-On Bar (not hidden) before the Media icon is exposed


Thanks in advance :)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:17.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/17.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7516
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: FlashGot media button can't be moved?

Post by therube » Wed Dec 05, 2012 3:28 am

Ah, I see now.

1.4 leaves it on the Addon Bar, displaying when you redisplay the Addon Bar.
1.5 can put it on the Addon Bar, but if you hide the bar & restart, it then jumps to the Navigation Bar.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:19.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/19.0 SeaMonkey/2.16a2

User avatar
Thrawn
Senior Member
Posts: 3106
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:46 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: FlashGot media button can't be moved?

Post by Thrawn » Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:57 am

This was probably deliberate, because with Mozilla hiding the addon bar by default, people couldn't find the NoScript icon, so Giorgio changed it to add itself more opportunistically.

I don't know whether about:config can control this?
======
Thrawn
------------
Religion is not the opium of the masses. Daily life is the opium of the masses.

True religion, which dares to acknowledge death and challenge the way we live, is an attempt to wake up.
Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.3.6; en-au; GT-S5830 Build/GINGERBREAD) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8769
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: FlashGot media button can't be moved?

Post by Giorgio Maone » Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:07 am

Please check latest development build 1.5.1rc1
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:17.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/17.0

FrillyBits
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 10:03 am

Re: FlashGot media button can't be moved?

Post by FrillyBits » Fri Dec 07, 2012 7:59 am

Giorgio Maone wrote:Please check latest development build 1.5.1rc1

When I click on the Development Build link I keep getting the message
Not Found

The requested URL /download/betas/flashgot-1.5.1rc1.xpi was not found on this server
__________________________________________________________________________

Apache/2.2.15 (CentOS) Server at unsecure.informaction.com Port 80

I will try again later
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:17.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/17.0

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8769
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: FlashGot media button can't be moved?

Post by Giorgio Maone » Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:03 am

Sorry, there was a problem with one mirror. Please retry.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:17.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/17.0

FrillyBits
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 10:03 am

Re: FlashGot media button can't be moved?

Post by FrillyBits » Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:59 am

Got it
Version 1.5.1rc1 fixes the situation, the Media icon now stays on the Add-On Bar

I also saw this update
x [Media] Toolbar icon placement can be customized even if no media is playing

That's a very thoughtful feature

Thanks for everything :)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:17.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/17.0

Squeej23
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:35 pm

Re: FlashGot media button can't be moved?

Post by Squeej23 » Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:50 pm

Hello Forum,

I just signed up here to share a similar issue I had that was resolve by referencing this thread.

I always hide the add-on bar, but I NEVER use the FlashGot Toolbar button (always disabled, as opposed to placed on a hidden toolbar). The problem was that whenever I restarted Firefox with the add-on bar DISABLED (not shown) before restart, the add-on bar would be forcibly enabled (shown) after restart.

I verified that FlashGot was the cause of the problem by restarting with the add-on bar disabled AND FlashGot disabled. Result: add-on bar was not forcibly enabled after restart.

I heard about the release candidate (1.5.1rc1) from this thread (again, similar issue), so I tried installing it... problem SOLVED! Now, if I restart Firefox with FlashGot enabled and the add-on bar disabled, the add-on bar remains disabled after restart.

I'm sure 1.5.1 will be released soon, but hopefully this will help anyone experiencing this irritating bug resolve it in the short term.

Thanks for the help!!!
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.8; rv:17.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/17.0

Post Reply