[Resolved] 11.0.4rc2 keeps thinking it needs to reload tabs

Bug reports and enhancement requests
Post Reply
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9282
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

[Resolved] 11.0.4rc2 keeps thinking it needs to reload tabs

Post by barbaz » Mon Sep 30, 2019 3:42 am

With NoScript 11.0.4rc2 I'm getting a lot of "In order to operate on this tab, NoScript needs to reload it. Proceed?" as I navigate from one page to another on the same site. But NoScript *is* operating on the tab and blocking scripts.

An example site which can be used to reproduce this is noscript.net.

It's not completely consistent, but it happens so much that I had to downgrade back to 11.0.4rc1.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8742
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: 11.0.4rc2 keeps thinking it needs to reload tabs

Post by Giorgio Maone » Mon Sep 30, 2019 8:38 am

Please check rc3, thank you.

v 11.0.4rc3
============================================================
x Make policy fetching resilient to missing tab information
x More verbose error logging while processing syncMessage
listeners
x Fix CSP violation reporting management of "fake"
blocked-uri like "eval"
x Leaner and faster SyncMessage shim tab id tracking hack
for Firefox
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Ubuntu; Linux x86_64; rv:70.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/70.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9282
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: 11.0.4rc2 keeps thinking it needs to reload tabs

Post by barbaz » Mon Sep 30, 2019 4:21 pm

Better, but not fully fixed. I'm still seeing this with my local server.

EDIT And it just now happened on this forum. I'm going back to 11.0.4rc1 again.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8742
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: 11.0.4rc2 keeps thinking it needs to reload tabs

Post by Giorgio Maone » Mon Sep 30, 2019 4:28 pm

Could you please share your configuration (privately)?
Any NoScript related message in your browser console when this happens?
Does uBlock or whatever adblocker you're using report to be blocking any request to an .invalid domain?
Thanks.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Ubuntu; Linux x86_64; rv:70.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/70.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9282
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: 11.0.4rc2 keeps thinking it needs to reload tabs

Post by barbaz » Mon Sep 30, 2019 4:46 pm

Giorgio Maone wrote:
Mon Sep 30, 2019 4:28 pm
Does uBlock or whatever adblocker you're using report to be blocking any request to an .invalid domain?
Yep, it does. Thanks for the suggestion. Going to try 11.0.4rc3 again with this dynamic rule added to uBlock Origin -

Code: Select all

behind-the-scene https://sync-messages.invalid/moz-extension:// xmlhttprequest allow
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9282
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: 11.0.4rc2 keeps thinking it needs to reload tabs

Post by barbaz » Mon Sep 30, 2019 5:01 pm

That looks to have fixed it. Thanks Giorgio! Image
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8742
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: [Resolved] 11.0.4rc2 keeps thinking it needs to reload tabs

Post by Giorgio Maone » Mon Sep 30, 2019 5:40 pm

Now, just to be sure uBlock Origin doesn't interfere with NoScript in any common configuration, what's the rule blocking sync-messages.invalid and where does it come from?
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Ubuntu; Linux x86_64; rv:70.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/70.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9282
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: [Resolved] 11.0.4rc2 keeps thinking it needs to reload tabs

Post by barbaz » Mon Sep 30, 2019 7:27 pm

Giorgio Maone wrote:
Mon Sep 30, 2019 5:40 pm
Now, just to be sure uBlock Origin doesn't interfere with NoScript in any common configuration, what's the rule blocking sync-messages.invalid and where does it come from?
Well, I found ||invalid^$important in my custom filters, which would explain why this hit me so hard. I'm not sure why that was there, so I removed it now.

I don't see any other filters blocking those requests, but I'm leaving the dynamic rule exception in, I'm not taking any chances with having NoScript broken like this again.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Post Reply