10.1.6.6rc2 UI is poor, wrong, broken

Bug reports and enhancement requests
Post Reply
User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7641
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

10.1.6.6rc2 UI is poor, wrong, broken

Post by therube » Sun Feb 18, 2018 12:58 am

10.1.6.5rc4 UI is poor, wrong, broken

Dropdown

everything on the dropdown looks to be minimized
displays very poorly on my end
is harder to read

'Default' is almost illegible
& extents into the next column
that next column does not show what is is on mouseover
neither does the next column over
untrusted & custom, do

sites names look to be a smaller font too
displaying poorly (on my end)
making difficult to read


Settings

is virtually blank
it looks like there are a set of what might be 4 tabs, left hand side, in the "header" area
below that you have; Globally Allow, Sanitize, Preset customization
a single yellow band with a Default tab, a tab that has no wording, & an Untrusted tab

on the right hand side, below Tempoararily set top-level, there is a box, with no indication as to what it is nor what it does, & whatever it does, it is not doing it correctly

that's it
nothing below that

reset button only shows OK, Cancel
presumably there is to be some textual wording above that, but none shows


OK'ing the Reset did nothing to change the situation

Image

Image


This is wrong. Though sometimes or some pages ? display normally.
Image

---



Update:
Originally, I had the post showing the issue to be in 10.1.6.5rc4, but it was not.
It is with 10.1.6.6rc2.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0 SeaMonkey/2.49.2

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9583
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: 10.1.6.5rc4 UI is poor, wrong, broken

Post by barbaz » Sun Feb 18, 2018 1:23 am

Your screenshots of the Options page are clearly showing messed up NoScript 10.1.6.6rc UI, yet the version number in your screenshot says "10.1.6.5rc4" Image

Do you see this in a new profile with only NoScript latest development build installed?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7641
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: 10.1.6.6rc2 UI is poor, wrong, broken

Post by therube » Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:08 pm

latest development build
And on you saying that, I'm thinking, it is the latest development build.
And then its like damn! The 'ol restartless extension needs a restart (sometimes) for some things to work properly. (I have seen in the past where the version number was displaying incorrectly.)

In any case, this is with 10.1.6.6rc2.


Profile, extensions, are the same as what I'd been running (on the 9th [of February], last time opened, I think it was).
Other then NoScript, uBlock Origin updated to 1.15.6 (it seems).
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0 SeaMonkey/2.49.2

des_nerger
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 4:40 pm

Re: 10.1.6.6rc2 UI is poor, wrong, broken

Post by des_nerger » Mon Feb 19, 2018 4:57 pm

therube wrote: looks to be minimized
is harder to read
a smaller font
making difficult to read
I agree with that. I feel eye strain with the new font size.

Since NoScript's Options now have "Appearance" tab, I think it would be nice to have an option "Font size" there to regulate body{font-size} of ui/ui.css
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Ubuntu; Linux x86_64; rv:58.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/58.0

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8863
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: 10.1.6.6rc2 UI is poor, wrong, broken

Post by Giorgio Maone » Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:14 pm

Fact is, I did not change the font size.
I'm not sure what's going on there, maybe OS-dependant?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:58.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/58.0

User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 8863
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: 10.1.6.6rc2 UI is poor, wrong, broken

Post by Giorgio Maone » Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:19 pm

des_nerger wrote:
therube wrote: looks to be minimized
is harder to read
a smaller font
making difficult to read
I agree with that. I feel eye strain with the new font size.
BTW, now that the Options page is just a glorified web page, you can increase and decrease its default font size by using ctrl+ and ctrl- (ctrl0 resets it).
Maybe that was what actually happened?

Regardin the 3rd screenshot,
Image
That's how the UI looks like when the screen width is less than 64em (this should happen only on mobile devices with high DPI in portrait mode).
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:58.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/58.0

des_nerger
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 4:40 pm

Re: 10.1.6.6rc2 UI is poor, wrong, broken

Post by des_nerger » Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:22 pm

Sorry, I don't mean it to be relevant specifically to 10.1.6.6rc2. I meant this:
v 10.1.6.1
=============================================================
x Reduced UI sizes in desktop version
Just got an update from an older version.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Ubuntu; Linux x86_64; rv:58.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/58.0

des_nerger
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 4:40 pm

Re: 10.1.6.6rc2 UI is poor, wrong, broken

Post by des_nerger » Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:11 pm

Giorgio Maone wrote:BTW, now that the Options page is just a glorified web page, you can increase and decrease its default font size by using ctrl+ and ctrl- (ctrl0 resets it).
Yes, but that's a default size only for the Options page itself. It doesn't affect the font size of the drop down list, which I was concerned about most.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Ubuntu; Linux x86_64; rv:58.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/58.0

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7641
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: 10.1.6.6rc2 UI is poor, wrong, broken

Post by therube » Thu Mar 22, 2018 5:52 pm

(Same situation & associated bug noted here, Hidden domains inside 'More tools' panel.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.49.2

Post Reply