Something Happened, Not Working, Not Sure

Bug reports and enhancement requests
Post Reply
User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7680
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Something Happened, Not Working, Not Sure

Post by therube » Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:19 am

At the least, page refresh on domain set is not happening, noscript-10.1.6.3rc4.xpi.
Confirmed -> Reloading not working automatically (10.1.6.3rc4).
Resolved with noscript-10.1.6.3rc5.xpi


https://www.yahoo.com & noscript-10.1.6.3rc4.xpi & ublock_origin-1.14.22-an+fx.xpi, uBlocks icon "counter" continually increments so long as yahoo.com is allowed.

---

Something Happened, Not Working correctly, Not Sure?

FF 57.0.4

I had NoScript noscript-10.1.6.3rc2.xpi & it seemed to be OK.

Manually downloaded noscript-10.1.6.3rc4.xpi, renamed it to ...3232 & manually copied that into FF /extensions/ directory - while FF was closed. (That's typically how I do it.)

Started up FF (from Session Restores - that's typically how I do it).

And I heard audio, so some media player was playing - & that should not be.

No site should be allowed (on my end) for any media to play, automatically, much less on startup (from session restore) which also means that that particular tab, in whatever particular window, would have had to had focus. Routed around, found the window, & sure enough a video was playing.

Went to check NoScript icon settings, but I got no dropdown.

Opened Addons Manager, & opened NoScript Options.
No sites displayed at all.
All there was was everything above the (now) yellow "Default" band.
Import, Export, Reset, Clear XSS seemed ineffectual (no dialog boxes or anything like that - if that's what is supposed to happen).
I could checkmark Scripts Globally & Sanitize XSS, that was the extent of it.

And FF was eating CPU 80%+.

So I dropped back down to noscript-10.1.6.3rc2.xpi & restarted (from Session Restore).
Once again I hear audio.
Once again I find the particular window.
Once again FF is eating CPU.

This time the NoScript icon does work (as does Options).
And even though the site in question was not allowed, nothing on the particular page was allowed, the video was playing.

I did a NoScript Reset.

Disabled (set to not allowed, I guess it is), yahoo.com.

Opened a new tab.
Loaded, www.yahoo.com.
It was blocked, as wanted.
Temporarily Allowed it.
Page did not refresh, yahoo was not (as if it were allowed) - even though I allowed it.
Opened a new window.
Loaded yahoo.com.
Yahoo was not allowed - even though it was still "allowed".
Refreshed the page & yahoo was then allowed.
Revoked temporary permissions.
Yahoo was still allowed. Had to again refresh the page to get yahoo to be blocked.
Opened another new site, with the same results.

Extensions:
Copy On Select
Grab Any Media
NoScript
uBlock Origin
Video DownloadHelper
Tab Stats (disabled)

Versions? Oh how on earth could that be relevant, Some dumbass, in all their wisdom decided it was to important to hide that information.

1.0
6.1.7.9
1.14.22
7.1.1
0.1.6

Tab Stat is newly installed, but disabled.

When I allow a site in NoScript (& manually refresh the page - as is now necessary), on yahoo.com, the uBlock icon displays a number, & that number increases, seemingly non-stop, so long as yahoo.com is allowed.

Is this a fallout from FF 57.0.4 & meltdown/spectre?
If so, it seems that its causing a meltdown in NoScript - at least on my end.

57.0.4 was installed since 01/04/2018.
All was fine through early Saturday morning.
First time starting FF since then.


CPU has mostly subsided, variable, perhaps ~20% (at least its no longer in the 80's).
FF is using 7 processes, oh, ~3 GB RAM.
I have a LOT of windows/tabs ~(70, 1200).

---

Appropriate, https://s.yimg.com/uu/api/res/1.2/TEBqT ... bfdc18043b
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0 SeaMonkey/2.49.2

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7680
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Something Happened, Not Working, Not Sure

Post by therube » Tue Jan 09, 2018 12:47 am

Interaction persists with noscript-10.1.6.3rc5.xpi

Image

Other then the increasing count in uBlock, don't know if there are negative consequences to whatever is going on?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0 SeaMonkey/2.49.2

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7680
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Something Happened, Not Working, Not Sure

Post by therube » Tue Jan 09, 2018 1:53 pm

Might be a similar interaction going on with Youtube, NoScript & uBlock?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QByXiqkECKQ
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0 SeaMonkey/2.49.2

Post Reply