[FIXED] NoScript 5.1.8.2rc4 errors in terminal window

Bug reports and enhancement requests
Post Reply
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

[FIXED] NoScript 5.1.8.2rc4 errors in terminal window

Post by barbaz »

I run browsers from terminal windows, and I notice NoScript 5.1.8.2rc4 gives these errors in the terminal -

Code: Select all

Illegal AddressMatcher: [xpconnect wrapped nsIPrefBranch] -- TypeError: s.split is not a function
Illegal AddressMatcher: [xpconnect wrapped nsIPrefBranch] -- TypeError: s.split is not a function
Is it significant?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: NoScript 5.1.8.2rc4 errors in terminal window

Post by barbaz »

bump
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-
User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 9454
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: NoScript 5.1.8.2rc4 errors in terminal window

Post by Giorgio Maone »

Is there any line number attached?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: NoScript 5.1.8.2rc4 errors in terminal window

Post by barbaz »

Nope, that's all there is. But I can try to modify the code to give more info.

Ok, added a Cu.reportError(e) and got this -

Code: Select all

s.split is not a function AddressMatcher.js:73
	AddressMatcher.prototype.parse chrome://noscript/content/AddressMatcher.js:73:22
	AddressMatcher chrome://noscript/content/AddressMatcher.js:3:13
	AddressMatcher.create chrome://noscript/content/AddressMatcher.js:6:15
	DoNotTrack.observe chrome://noscript/content/DoNotTrack.js:21:22
	DoNotTrack.init chrome://noscript/content/DoNotTrack.js:9:7
	ABE.init chrome://noscript/content/ABE.js:30:5
	<anonymous> chrome://noscript/content/Main.js:105:3
	ns.onBeforeLoad chrome://noscript/content/Main.js:3540:11
	ns._onWindowCreatedReal chrome://noscript/content/Main.js:3831:5
	ns.observe chrome://noscript/content/Main.js:132:9
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: NoScript 5.1.8.2rc4 errors in terminal window

Post by barbaz »

barbaz wrote:Is it significant?
bump
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: NoScript 5.1.8.2rc4 errors in terminal window

Post by barbaz »

Giorgio, do you need any further information from me to assess this?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-
User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 9454
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: NoScript 5.1.8.2rc4 errors in terminal window

Post by Giorgio Maone »

barbaz wrote:Giorgio, do you need any further information from me to assess this?
Sorry for the late answer.
It's significant, but not worrysome: DoNotTrack initialization breaking while parsing either the noscript.doNotTrack.exceptions preference, the noscript.doNotTrack.forced preference or both.
Are they initialized and, if they do, what do they look like in your profile? What browser version are we talking about?

Anyway, there should be no other side effect aside the preference itself not being applied and an ABE preferences observer not being removed on extension shutdown (which may cause some minor leak on extension upgrade / disablement / removal until the end of the session).
DoNotTrack support is going away with 5.x EOL, anyway.
I'm putting a work-around in place for next version, but I believe is not worth issuing a coordinated update until there's some beefier change (i.e. security-related) affecting 5.x.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: NoScript 5.1.8.2rc4 errors in terminal window

Post by barbaz »

Giorgio Maone wrote:Are they initialized and, if they do, what do they look like in your profile?
They are set to default.
Giorgio Maone wrote:What browser version are we talking about?
Originally reported on SeaMonkey '2.49.2pre', but I now use Waterfox 56.0.1 and still see these messages. I can confirm this still happens in SeaMonkey with NoScript 5.1.8.3rc1.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: NoScript 5.1.8.2rc4 errors in terminal window

Post by barbaz »

Giorgio Maone wrote:I'm putting a work-around in place for next version, but I believe is not worth issuing a coordinated update until there's some beefier change (i.e. security-related) affecting 5.x.
Next version is now out, and this is still happening.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-
User avatar
Giorgio Maone
Site Admin
Posts: 9454
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Palermo - Italy
Contact:

Re: NoScript 5.1.8.2rc4 errors in terminal window

Post by Giorgio Maone »

Should be fixed in latest development build:
v 5.1.6.4rc2
=============================================================
x Fixed DNT support initialization regression (thanks barbaz
for reporting)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: NoScript 5.1.8.2rc4 errors in terminal window

Post by barbaz »

It is fixed, thank you Giorgio! Image

(And again, I needed to restart the browser with -purgecaches to get the fix to apply. I will have to investigate this more.)
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-
barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 10847
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: NoScript 5.1.8.2rc4 errors in terminal window

Post by barbaz »

barbaz wrote:(And again, I needed to restart the browser with -purgecaches to get the fix to apply. I will have to investigate this more.)
off-topic: I think the culprit might have been a non-default value of about:config > browser.cache.use_new_backend . Reset it to default, started with -purgecaches again, and the problem seems to have subsided. Hopefully. ;)
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-
Post Reply