[FIXED] (classic) Automatic reload broken?

Bug reports and enhancement requests
ThomasW
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:09 pm

some sites don't reload after changing permission

Post by ThomasW » Sun Dec 11, 2016 7:27 pm

hello,

as the title says. one of the sites i came across this is

https://html5test.com

- allow html5test.com
- allow whichbrowser.net

the site does not reload, i ave to do it manually. i've seen this on other sites, too.
it worked with older noscript versions.

firefox v52 on windows, noscript 2.9.5.2

thanks a lot. :)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9147
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: (2.9.5rc35) Automatic reload broken?

Post by barbaz » Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:03 pm

Threads merged.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9147
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: (2.9.5.3rc6) Automatic reload broken?

Post by barbaz » Sun Jan 22, 2017 10:06 pm

Threads merged. nvm, split again to viewtopic.php?f=10&t=22539
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9147
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: (2.9.5.3rc6) Automatic reload broken?

Post by barbaz » Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:11 am

As of yesterday, Youtube can no longer be used for STR, as they've stopped serving scripts from ytimg.com. I'll have to find another affected site.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

ThomasW
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:09 pm

Re: (2.9.5.3rc6) Automatic reload broken?

Post by ThomasW » Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:32 pm

noscript.autoReload.allTabs = true

hm... that doesn't seem to work on

https://html5test.com/

first i have to allow html5test.com, this does reload

then i also have to allow whichbrowser.net, this does not reload.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9147
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: (5.0rc1) Automatic reload broken?

Post by barbaz » Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:39 pm

Thanks ThomasW! I've replaced the Youtube link with html5test.com in the STR.

ThomasW wrote:noscript.autoReload.allTabs = true

hm... that doesn't seem to work on

https://html5test.com/

first i have to allow html5test.com, this does reload

then i also have to allow whichbrowser.net, this does not reload.

Same results here.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

yes_noscript

Re: (5.0rc1) Automatic reload broken?

Post by yes_noscript » Wed Feb 01, 2017 6:14 pm

As workaround i now allow all JavaScripts in NoScript and use the script allow in uMatrix.
Before that i allow javascripts both in NoScript and uMatrix but its a lot more work.

So with this bug in NoScript i need manualy reload and i need to allow elements in uMatrix too...so i prefer do it in uMatrix
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:3.0) Goanna/20161214 PaleMoon/27.0.3

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9147
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: (5.0rc1) Automatic reload broken?

Post by barbaz » Thu Feb 02, 2017 5:50 am

@cartel: Sorry about the incorrect thread merging. Split your bug report to viewtopic.php?f=10&t=22539.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9147
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: (5.0rc1) Automatic reload broken?

Post by barbaz » Sun May 28, 2017 1:29 pm

*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

ThomasW
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:09 pm

Re: (5.0.5rc12) Automatic reload broken?

Post by ThomasW » Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:49 pm

seems this won't get fixed, sadly.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9147
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: (5.0.5rc12) Automatic reload broken?

Post by barbaz » Fri Aug 18, 2017 7:01 pm

I confirm this is still a problem in 5.0.9rc1.
ThomasW wrote:seems this won't get fixed, sadly.
Seems Giorgio is quite swamped designing WebExtensions APIs and rewriting NoScript for WebExtensions.

It will get fixed, but don't be surprised if it doesn't happen until after NoScript 10 is out.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9147
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: (5.0.9rc1) Automatic reload broken?

Post by barbaz » Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:41 pm

bump

Still an issue in 5.1.8.7rc2.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9147
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: (classic) Automatic reload broken?

Post by barbaz » Tue Aug 28, 2018 3:49 pm

Bump.

This bug still persists in NoScript 5.1.8.7rc3. Giorgio, do you need any more information from me to fix this?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

User avatar
therube
Ambassador
Posts: 7409
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: (classic) Automatic reload broken?

Post by therube » Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:54 pm

(And I have always though this behavior was expected, as I see this fairly regularly & have just become accustomed to it. When I allow a particular domain & I get no refresh, & I expect there should be a refresh, I just do, manually.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball NoScript FlashGot AdblockPlus
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.49.4

barbaz
Senior Member
Posts: 9147
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: (classic) Automatic reload broken?

Post by barbaz » Wed Aug 29, 2018 2:21 am

I did some more investigation.

There maybe two bugs here. One of them occurs when "Reload the current tab only" is checked, the other when "Reload the current tab only" is un-checked.

The former seems caused by MainChild.js isCurrentFrame comparing different window IDs when I would think they're supposed to be the same. It causes NoScript to erroneously conclude that the permission change isn't relevant for the current tab, so NoScript bails early and doesn't reload anything.

The latter bug is confusing me. I'm getting weird results that don't look consistent. In MainChild.js, in the function reload(), for the line "let sites = this.getSites(browser)" it looks like this can get assigned to "sites" when this issue occurs -

Code: Select all

{scriptCount:1, pluginCount:0, pluginExtras:[[]], pluginSites:[], docSites:["moz-extension://<NS embedded webext internal uuid>"], recentlyBlocked:[], all:[], docJSBlocked:false, cspBlocked:false, topSite:"moz-extension://<NS embedded webext internal uuid>"}
But this also can happen when changing permissions of the top-level document, yet that seems to reload fine.

Does any of this help?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!
-

Post Reply